Enola Holmes Books in Order: How to read Nancy Springer’s series?

Disclaimer: As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. Thanks!

Also known as The Enola Holmes Mysteries, this creation of American author Nancy Springer is about Sherlock Holmes‘s sister, Enola.

Everything began with her mother’s disappearance and her brothers, Sherlock and Mycroft, doing nothing. Enola makes a discovery that puts her on the road to becoming herself a detective, even if Mycroft insists that she attend boarding school. Enola prefers working on missing-person cases.

How to read the Enola Holmes Series in Order?

Every book in The Enola Holmes Mysteries works as a standalone story, but the lives of the different characters evolve from one novel to the other.

  1. The Case of the Missing Marquess – When Enola Holmes, sister to the detective Sherlock Holmes, discovers her mother has disappeared, she quickly embarks on a journey to London in search of her. But nothing can prepare her for what awaits.
  2. The Case of the Left-Handed Lady – Enola Holmes is being hunted by her own brother, Sherlock Holmes. But while she is on the run, she discovers a hidden cache of charcoal drawings and feels as if she is a soul mate to the girl who drew them. But that girl, Lady Cecily, has disappeared. Braving the midnight streets, Enola must unravel the clues to find this left-handed lady.
  3. The Case of the Bizarre Bouquets – When Dr. Watson goes missing, it’s a shock. Even Sherlock hasn’t the slightest clue as to where he could be. Enola can’t help but investigate, especially when she learns that a bizarre bouquet with flowers all symbolizing death has been delivered to the Watson residence.
  1. The Case of the Peculiar Pink Fan – Enola receives a desperate message from her old friend, Lady Cecily. Enola knows she must help her friend before it’s too late – but she doesn’t know how! This complicated case has Enola hunting down clues all over London until she finally discovers the awful truth: Lady Cecily is being held prisoner!
  2. The Case of the Cryptic Crinoline – Enola’s landlady, Mrs. Tupper, is the closest thing Enola has to family these days. So imagine her horror when Enola comes home to find Mrs. Tupper kidnapped! Who would take her, and why? And what does Florence Nightingale have to do with it?
  3. The Case of the Gypsy Goodbye – As Enola searches for the missing Lady Blanchefleur del Campo, she discovers that her brother Sherlock is just as diligently searching for Enola herself! Sherlock and Enola must solve a triple mystery: What has happened to their mother? And to Lady Blanchefleur? And what does either have to do with their brother, Mycroft?
  1. Enola Holmes and the Boy in Buttons (short-story) – Enola Holmes owns a building in the heart of 19th century London, a place she uses under pseudonyms to front for her investigative work. Employed there is a porter – Joddy, a young boy in a uniform festooned with buttons – whose even younger brother substitutes for him when he’s sick. But Paddy disappears after one day at the job and Enola Holmes is alerted to this by the still ill Joddy.
  2. Enola Holmes and the Black Barouche – When a young professional woman, Miss Letitia Glover, shows up on Sherlock’s doorstep, desperate to learn more about the fate of her twin sister, it is Enola Holmes who steps up. It seems her sister, the former Felicity Glover, married the Earl of Dunhench and per a curt note from the Earl, has died. But Letitia Glover is convinced this isn’t the truth, that she’d know–she’d feel–if her twin had died.
  3. Enola Holmes and the Elegant Escapade – Enola Holmes is now living independently in London and working as a scientific perditorian (a finder of persons and things). But that is not the normal lot of young women in Victorian England. They are under the near absolute control of their nearest male relative until adulthood. Such is the case of Enola’s friend, Lady Cecily Alastair. Twice before Enola has rescued Lady Cecily from unpleasant designs of her caddish father, Sir Eustace Alastair, Baronet. And when Enola is brusquely turned away at the door of the Alastair home it soon becomes apparent that Lady Cecily once again needs her help.

  1. Enola Holmes and the Mark of the Mongoose – In May of 1890, Wolcott Balestier, the representative of an American book publisher, arrived in London on a singular mission – to contract with English authors for their latest works. When Balestier disappears on the streets of London one day, his great friend – Rudyard Kipling – bursts into Enola’s office looking for help in finding him. Brash and unwilling to hire a young woman, instead he turns to Sherlock Holmes. Convinced that evil has befallen Balestier, at the hands of rival American publishers who pirate the works of English authors, he sets the elder Holmes on the trail. But Enola is not one to accept defeat, especially not to her brother, and sets off on her own – determined to learn the truth behind the disappearance of the young American. Can book publishing truly be so ruthless and deadly or can the missing man be rescued from his apparent fate and returned to his friends and loved ones?

Beyond the Enola Holmes novels, other writers put their own spin on Sherlock Holmes like Martin Davies with the Holmes and Hudson series, Sherry Thomas with The Lady Sherlock series, M.J. Trow with the Sholto Lestrade series, David Lagercrantz with the Rekke/Vargas series, Laurie R. King with the Mary Russell series, and more!

Similar Posts

One Comment

  1. I binge read all six volumes in the New Year and nothing made me happier than seeing a seventh volume being published this year. I have watched the Enola Holmes movie on Netflix and absolutely loved it.

    May there be many more to come!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *