How To Read Me

A reading guide to comics and books

Author: Fabien (Page 1 of 38)

Osten Ard Books in Order

Osten Ard Books in Order: How to read Tad Williams’ fantasy series?

From the author of the Otherland series, and the Shadowmarch series

What is the Osten Ard series about?

From American fantasy and science fiction writer Tad Williams, the Osten Ard Saga started in 1988 with the first trilogy (“Memory, Sorrow, and Thorn”) and, after twenty-four years, with a second trilogy (“The Last King of Osten Ard”).

Taking place on the fictional continent of Osten Ard where humans, Sithi, and Qanuc live in relative peace. But when King John Presbyter, a dragon slayer, dies and his son Elias ascends the throne, a long-dormant evil is ready to enter the realm and threaten the peace.

Read More

Ursula Blanchard Books in Order

Ursula Blanchard Books in Order: How to read Fiona Buckley’s series?

Another Royal Spy series.

who is Ursula Blanchard?

Historical fiction set in the reign of Elizabeth I of England, the Ursula Blanchard series is written by British author Valerie Anand under the pen name Fiona Buckley.

Ursula Faldene Blanchard de la Roche Stannard is the illegitimate half sister to Queen Elizabeth I, a twenty-seven-year-old Lady of the Presence Chamber and sometime spy on the Queen’s behalf.

Read More

Chronicles of the Raven Series in Order

The Chronicles of the Raven Series in Order: How to read James Barclay’s books?

Deadly mercenaries in a deadly land.

What is The Chronicles of the Raven Series about?

Written by British high fantasy author James Barclay, this series takes us in the world of Balaia with a group of mercenaries who call themselves… The Raven.

As the title suggests, The Chronicles of the Raven is about the lives of the members of The Raven who, after years of success together, are confronted by a danger than put their loyalty and code to the test. Between magic and war, the mercenary band travel from one deadly quest to another impossible mission.

Read More

Anderson and Costello Books in Order: How to read Caro Ramsay’s series?

Some Scottish murder mysteries…

What is the Anderson and Costello series about?

From Scottish writer Caro Ramsay, the Anderson and Costello series is a crime procedural taking place in Glasgow.

For more than ten books, the series follow Detective Inspector Colin Anderson and his long-time partner Detective Sergeant Freddie Costello as they investigate murder mysteries in a sea of red herrings filled with a lot of suspense.

Read More


Alex Duggins Books in Order: How to read Stella Cameron’s series?

Murder in the Cotswolds.

Who is Alex Duggins?

Written by Stella Cameron, this mystery series started as an ebook success story before becoming a paperback one.

The series centers on Alex Duggins who, after the end of her marriage, came back to her hometown of Folly-on-Weir in the Cotswolds. She started anew, opened a pub named The Black Dog and stumbled onto murder mysteries, becoming an amateur sleuth in the process.

Read More

DI Tom Harper Books in Order

DI Tom Harper Books in Order: How to read Chris Nickson’s series?

A Victorian police procedural.

Who is DI Tom Harper?

Taking place at the end of the Victorian era, this historical mystery series about the investigations of a Detective Inspector is written by British novelist Chris Nickson.

More precisely, the stories focus on the work of DI Tom Harper—and his team—who mostly lead complex investigations in murder cases around Leeds, England, during the 1890s.

Read More

The Hulk Reading Order: How to read Bruce Banner’s smashing comic book story?


Who is The Hulk?

The Jekyll/Hyde of the Marvel Universe created by Stan Lee and Jack Kirby. Saving the life of Rick Jones during the experimental detonation of a gamma bomb, scientist Bruce Banner was hit by the blast resulting in the absorption of gamma radiation.

Banner didn’t die, but he wasn’t the same. The radiation didn’t kill him, but they changed him. Now, he is two “men” in one body, transforming from the physically weak and emotionally reserved physicist into the powerful green-skinned monster named “the Hulk” when he loses control.

Read More

Inspector Chen Books in Order

Inspector Chen Books in Order: How to read Qiu Xiaolong’s books?

Murder in the People’s Republic of China…

Who is Inspector Chen Cao?

Written by Qiu Xiaolong, the Inspector Chen mysteries take us back in Shanghai in the 1990s to follow the investigation of a detective caught up in the politic of a changing China.

A poet by training, Chief Inspector Chen Cao didn’t become a detective by choice. But when his uncle was discovered to be a counter-revolutionary, he was assigned to the Shanghai Police Department. He became really good at his job and the Party started to choose him for the most sensitive investigations.

Read More

Wilbur Smith Acient Egypt Series in Order

Wilbur Smith’s Ancient Egypt Series in Order: How to read this historical series?

By the author of the The Courtney Saga.

What is the Ancient Egypt series about?

Written by Zambian-born author Wilbur Smith, mostly known for The Courtney Series, The Ancient Egypt series is a historical fiction series based in large part on Pharaoh Memnon’s time.

This Egyptian series takes us in an ancient kingdom in order to discover the incredible destiny of Taita, a humble slave and an expert in multiple disciplines who goes on a tumultuous journey, living through wars, power struggles and more.

Read More

Jake Lassiter Books in Order

Jake Lassiter Books in Order: How to read Paul Levine’s series?

Your pro-football-player-turned-lawyer of choice in Miami.

Who is Jake Lassiter?

Written by ex-reporter and Lawyer Paul Levine, this series is about a lawyer doing his best to serve the interests of his clients in Miami.

More precisely, Jake Lassiter was a second-string linebacker for the Miami Dolphins before going to law school. Now, he is a lawyer, working with retired coroner Dr. Charlie Rigs, using an imaginative interpretation of the law to help his not-so-clean clientele.

Read More

Page 1 of 38

Powered by WordPress & Theme by Anders Norén