A reading guide to comics and books

Tag: Young Adult Page 1 of 4

The Keys to the Kingdom Books in Order

The Keys to the Kingdom Books in Order: How to read Garth Nix’s fantasy-adventure series?

Welcome to the Center of the Universe.

What is The Keys to the Kingdom about?

Written by Australian fantasy author Garth Nix, specialized in children’s and young adult fantasy novels, The Keys to the Kingdom chronicles the adventures of Arthur Penhaligon, an asthmatic 12-year-old boy who is chosen to become the Rightful Heir of the House, the center of the universe.

Arthur must now attempt to defeat the Morrow Days, the criminal Trustees of the House. The series takes place over a span of three weeks. Time moves at different speeds at different locations in the series.

The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel Books in Order

The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel Books in Order: How to read Michael Scott’s series?

Nicholas Flamel, the man who discovered the philosopher’s stone. You know, like in Harry Potter

What is The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel about?

Written by Irish author Michael Scott, The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel is a young adult fantasy series about a French alchemist … and immortal Nicholas Flamel.

The story centers around Sophie and Josh Newman, two fifteen-year-old Americans whose life is changed forever when Dr. John Dee engages Josh’s boss and bookstore owner, Nick Fleming (who’s really Nicholas Flamel), in a battle of magic in order to steal an ancient book, The Book of Abraham the Mage.

Seven Realms/Shattered Realms Books in Order:

Seven Realms/Shattered Realms Books in Order: How to read Cinda Williams Chima’s high fantasy series?

Enter the Seven Realms…

What is Seven Realms/Shattered Realms about?

Written by the American author Cinda Williams Chima, The Seven Realms is a  four books high fantasy series set in the Queendom of the Fells – a world of medieval technology, swordplay, castles, and keeps. The story follows Han Alister, a thief-turned-wizard who joins forces with Princess Raisa ana’Marianna to defend her right to the Gray Wolf Throne.

The sequel series, titled Shattered Realms, takes place in the same world, but a generation after the events of The Seven Realms and follows the progeny of many of the characters in the original series.

The Old Kingdom Books in Order

The Old Kingdom Books in Order: How to read Garth Nix’s series?

Enter the Old Kingdom, where only the Abhorsen can keep the Abhorson can keep the living safe from the dead…

What is The Old Kingdom about?

Written by Australian author Garth Nix, The Old Kingdom is a young adult fantasy-horror series that takes place in a world where the line between the living and the dead isn’t always clear—and sometimes disappears altogether.

The Old Kingdom is where Free magic and Charter Magic exist, where you can find dangerous entities, ranging from the undead to powerful sorcerers and Free Magic elementals. Close to the Old Kingdom stand Ancelstierre, an unmagical country which has a technology level and society similar to that of early-20th century  Australia.


Dragonriders of Pern Books in Order: How to read Anne McCaffrey’s fantasy classic series?

Let’s ride dragons !

What is Dragonriders of Pern about?

Written by American-Irish author Anne McCaffrey, Dragonriders of Pern is a science fantasy series published since 1968. Beginning in 2003, her middle child Todd McCaffrey has written Pern novels, both solo and jointly with Anne. The series comprises 23 novels and several short stories.

Dragonriders of Pern takes place in an isolated world where life is presented as a pre-industrial society. But their ancient way of life is about to come under attack from a myth that is all too real. And a girl and her dragon will change Pern forever.

Suzanne Collins Books in Order (The Hunger Games, The Underland Chronicles and more)

All of the books!

Who is Suzanne Collins?

Born on August 10, 1962, in Hartford, Connecticut, Suzanne Collins is an is an American television writer and author. She began her career in 1991 as a writer for children’s television shows, before she begun to write children’s books. Her debut book, Gregor the Overlander is published in 2003.

She has been named one of Time magazine’s most influential people of 2010 and In March 2012, Amazon announced that she had become the best-selling Kindle author of all time, thanks to The Hunger Games trilogy, which went on to become a popular motion picture series starring Jennifer Lawrence as Katniss Everdeen.

His Dark Materials Books in Order

His Dark Materials Books in Order: How to read Philip Pullman’s fantasy classic series?

One girl will change worlds

What is His Dark Materials about?

Written by english novelist Sir Philip Pullman, His Dark Materials is a young-adult fantasy series set across a multiverse, moving between many parallel worlds. More specifically, it follows the coming of age of two children, Lyra Belacqua and Will Parry, as they wander through a series of parallel universes.

In Lyra’s world, who resembles that of the UK’s Edwardian era, all humans have a dæmon, the physical manifestation of a person’s soul or spirit taking the form of an animal.

Sarah J. Maas Books in Order

Sarah J. Maas Books in Order (Throne of Glass, A Court of Thorns and Roses, Crescent City…)

All of the books!

Who is Sarah J. Maas?

Born on March 5, 1986 in New York City, New York, Sarah J. Maas is an American fantasy author. Maas began writing what would become her debut novel, Throne of Glass, when she was sixteen years old, and it has now sold in thirty-five languages.

Since then, Sarah J. Maas became a New York Times bestselling author with the Throne of Glass series and A Court of Thorns and Roses series, as well as a USA Today and international bestselling author.

The Maze Runner Books in Order: How to read James Dashner’s series?

With Hunger Games, The Maze Runner was the other successful teen dystopia blockbuster series.

What is The Maze Runner about?

Written by american writer James Dashner, The Maze Runner is a young-adult dystopian science-fiction series, comprised of a main trilogy, two prequels and a companion book, published between 2009 and 2016. It has also been adapted into a film trilogy.

The story begins with Thomas, who is deposited in a community of boys after his memory is erased. Soon, he learned they’re all trapped in a maze that will require him to join forces with fellow “runners” for a shot at escape.

Alex Rider Books in Order

Alex Rider Books in Order: How to read Anthony Horowitz’s series?

Ready for some teen spy adventures?

What is Alex Rider about?

Young adult action-adventure books written by British author Anthony Horowitz, the Alex Rider series is about a teen spy.

Teenage Alex Rider discovered the truth about his uncle’s life and death. That leads him to be recruited by MI6 in order to complete his uncle’s latest mission and stop a terrorist attack. After that, Alex continues to face dangerous challenges and defeat bad guys.

Page 1 of 4

Powered by WordPress & Theme by Anders Norén