A reading guide to comics and books

Tag: Historical novel Page 1 of 8

The Ballantyne Books in Order

The Ballantyne Books in Order: How to read Wilbur Smith books?

By the author of The Courtney Series.

What is the Ballantyne series about?

Published since 1980 by Zambian-born author Wilbur Smith, The Ballantyne Series chronicle the lives of the Ballantyne family – like the Courtney series does. In fact, the two series are connected.

From the 1860s through until 1980s, this historical series follows the lives of the members of the Ballantyne family against the background of the history of Rhodesia (now known as Zimbabwe).

Pink Carnation Books in Order

The Pink Carnation Books in Order: How to read Lauren Willig’s series?

Ready for some Napoleonic-Era spy adventures?

What is The Pink Carnation series about?

Written by bestselling author Lauren Willig, The Pink Carnation series follows a collection of Napoleonic-Era British spies as they fight for Britain and fall in love.

Everything begins with Eloise Kelly, a modern-day student who is determined to finish her dissertation on two spies, the Scarlet Pimpernel and the Purple Gentian. But what she discovers is something historians have missed: the secret history of the Pink Carnation-the most elusive spy of all time.

Brother Cadfael Books in Order

Brother Cadfael Books in Order: How to read Ellis Peters’s Series?

For those who like Medieval Murder Mysteries, like Sister Fidelma.

Who is Brother Cadfael?

Written by Edith Mary Pargeter, using the pseudonym Ellis Peters, this classic series is about Monk who aids the law with solving murders during the Anarchy in England.

Set in the 12th century, the novels focus on a Welsh Benedictine monk living at Shrewsbury Abbey in western England. Even if Brother Cadfael spends much of his time tending the herbs and vegetables in the garden, he is the monk to look for when there’s a murder to investigate.

Tales of Rowan Hood Books in Order

Tales of Rowan Hood Books in Order: How to read Nancy Springer’s series?

By the writer of The Enola Holmes Mysteries.

What is Tales of Rowan Hood about?

Written by American author Nancy Springer, Tales of Rowan Hood is a combination of the traditional Robin Hood legends with fantastical, pseudo-Arthurian elements.

The story centers on Rosemary, a young girl of 13 year-old age who lost her half-elf mother, burnt as a witch. She sets off to find her unknown father Robin Hood. She disguises herself as a boy named Rowan, and in her quest, befriends half-wolf Tykell, overgrown enchanting minstrel Lionel, and runaway princess Ettarde.

Sano Ichiro Books in Order

Sano Ichiro Books in Order: How to read Laura Joh Rowland’s series?

Murder in the late days of feudal Japan.

What is the Sano Ichiro series about?

Written by Laura Joh Rowland, the Sano Ichiro series is a historical mystery series that bring us in the late days of feudal Japan, mostly in Edo during the late 17th century.

The story resolves around Sano Ichiro, a samurai and private investigator for the shogun—aka the Most Honorable Investigator of Events, Situations, and People. Sometimes with the help of Reiko, Sano must often risk everything to bring to justice to the murdered in complex political situations.

The Westcott Series in Order

The Westcott Series in Order: How to read Mary Balogh’s books?

A little bit of romance during the British Regency era.

What is The Westcott Series about?

Written by prolific Welsh-Canadian novelist Mary Balogh, The Westcott Series is a historical romance series.

Set during the British Regency era, the series takes us in the lives of the Westcott family. Everything starts when Humphrey Wescott, Earl of Riverdale, died. He leaves behind a fortune and a scandalous secret that will forever alter the lives of his family.

Sister Fidelma Books in Order

Sister Fidelma Books in Order: How to read Peter Tremayne’s series?

For those who like Medieval Murder Mysteries, but not with Brother Cadfael.

What is the Sister Fidelma series about?

Written by Peter Tremayne (pseudonym of Peter Berresford Ellis), The Sister Fidelma series is a historical mystery series taking us back to the 7th century.

Sister Fidelma is an Eognacht princess and sister to the king of Cashel, a religieuse of the Celtic Church and an advocate of the Brehornn court. With the help of her partner Brother Eadulf, a Saxon monk, she solves crime, mainly in Ireland.

Dr. Siri Paiboun Books in Order: How to read Colin Cotterill’s series?

The Lao People’s Democratic Republic has a coroner now…

Who is Dr. Siri Paiboun?

Written by English/Australian author Colin Cotterill, this mystery series takes us back in the 1970s in the Lao People’s Democratic Republic.

The story resolves around seventy-two-year-old Dr. Siri Paiboun, one of the last doctors left in Laos after the Communist takeover. He is untrained for the job, but has been drafted to be national coroner anyway. Worse, his lab is underfunded, his boss is incompetent, and his support staff is quirky. But that will not stop him from doing his work and catch killers.

Night Soldiers Books in Order

Night Soldiers Books in Order: How to read Alan Furst’s series?

Spying in the Nazi era…

What is the Night Soldiers series about?

Written by American author Alan Furst, the Night Soldiers novels are espionage thrillers tanking place Europe, starting in the 1930s and through World War II.

Those are realistic stories of (mostly) reluctant heroes in wartime, an exploration of the multiple resistance movements all over Europe, from occupied Paris to London, from the front to the well-organized Communist underground.

Kendra Donovan Books in Order:

Kendra Donovan Books in Order: How to read Julie McElwain’s series?

What an FBI agent does in the 19th century? She solves old-timey crimes!

Who is Kendra Donovan?

Written by American writer Julie McElwain, the Kendra Donovan series is a mystery series mixed with time travel and historical adventures.

Rising star at the FBI, Kendra Donovan is on the way to the top when a disastrous raid leads her on a path to vengeance, in England. But while trying to escape into a stairwell, she stumbles into another time. Now she’s stuck in 1815 where she’s using her 21st century knowledge to get out complicated situations. All she needs is a plan to return home.

Page 1 of 8

Powered by WordPress & Theme by Anders Norén