How To Read Me

A reading guide to comics and books

Tag: Historical novel (Page 1 of 4)

Easy Rawlins Books in Order: How to read Walter Mosley’s series?

Did you know Denzel Washington played Easy Rawlins in the Devil in a Blue Dress movie in 1995?

Who Easy Rawlins is?

Created by mystery author Walter Mosley, Ezekiel “Easy” Porterhouse Rawlins is an African-American private investigator.

More precisely, Rawlins is a hard-boiled detective and World War II veteran from, Louisiana living in the Watts neighborhood of Los Angeles, from the 1940s to the 1960s. Most of the time, he is reluctant to take on cases, but even when he doesn’t have a choice, he does his best.

Read More

Kopp Sisters Books in Order: How to read Amy Stewart’s series?

Based on a true story…

What are the Kopp sisters series about?

Based on the true story of Constance Kopp from New Jersey, with, one of America’s first female deputy sheriffs, and her sisters, the Kopp Sisters Series is written by Amy Stewart.

This is not a series of biographies, but the fictionalized lives of three real-life sisters. There’s thirty-five-year-old Constance and her two younger sisters. First, there’s Norma, the no-nonsense sister, and then, there’s Fleurette, the youngest who is really Constance’s illegitimate daughter. Courageous, stubborn, independents and resourceful, the sisters hunt criminals and fight for justice.

Read More

Lady Grace Books in Order: How to read Grace Cavendish’s series?

Mysteries in the royal court!

Who is Lady Grace?

Historical Mystery series, The Lady Grace Mysteries is about the adventures and investigations of Lady Grace Cavendish who is a maid of honor to Queen Elizabeth I solving mysteries in the royal court.

Written in the style of a diary by Lady Grace, the series is really written by Patricia Finney in the first place (for three books), then by Sara Volger and Jan Burchett. Of course, all three authors wrote under the pseudonym “Grace Cavendish”.

Read More

The Gaslight Mystery Books in Order: How to read Victoria Thompson’s series?

in the vein of Anne Perry’s Charlotte and Thomas Pitt series

What is The Gaslight Mystery series about?

Written by Victoria Thompson, The Gaslight Mystery series is about Sarah Brandt, a midwife in turn-of-the-20th-century.

More precisely, these stories follow Sarah Brandt, whose family is one of the oldest in New York City, and Detective Sergeant Frank Malloy as they work together, dealing with birth and death in this brutal and evolving society, at a time when Teddy Roosevelt was Police Commissioner.

Read More

Isaac Bell Books in Order: How to read Clive Cussler’s series?

New adventures at the beginning of the last century by Clive Cussler…

Who is Isaac Bell?

Main character in a crime/adventure series written by Clive Cussler/Justin Scott branded books, Isaac Bell is a detective at the beginning of the 20th century.

More precisely, Isaac Bell is an investigator working for the VanDorn Detective Agency (loosely based on the famous Pinkertons). Like in the TV show “The Adventures of Brisco County Jr,” our main character is always looking to the future, getting involve with the technologies that will become prominent in the years to come. Of course, he also seeks the truth and stop criminals.

Read More

Irish Country Books in Order: How to read Patrick Taylor’s series?

Welcome to the colorful Irish village of Ballybucklebo.

What is the Irish Country series about?

Written by retired medical researcher and professor Patrick Taylor, this historial series chronicles the lives of the doctors of Ballybucklebo, a fictional village in rural Northern Ireland.

The Irish Country series follows novice doctor Barry Laverty as he begins his assistantship at the practice of Dr. Fingal Flahertie O’Reilly. The books explore the present and the pasts of the two doctors, from their beginnings, first loves and hardships to their marriages and work challenges.

Read More

Hornblower Books in Order: How to read C.S. Forester’s series?

As seen on TV with Ioan Gruffudd in the title role.

Who is Horatio Hornblower?

Like Patrick O’Brian’s Aubrey and Maturin series, the Hornblower series written by English novelist C.S. Forester is about a British naval officer during the Napoleonic Wars.

The series follow Horatio Hornblower through his career and across the development of the Napoleonic Wars, from a midshipman and lieutenant to an admiral in the British Navy. Hornblower learned to be a leader and to survive during wartime but also peacetime.

Read More

The Bridgertons Books in Order: How to read Julia Quinn’s series?

Coming Soon to Netflix, as a Shonda Rhimes TV production.

What is the Bridgertons’ series about?

Written by American historical romance author Julie Pottinger under the pseudonym Julia Quinn, The Bridgertons’ series is about the love stories of the members of a British family. Each book is about one of them finding his/her true love.

Set against the backdrop of upper society during the period of Regency England, the series is about the Bridgerton family which consists of eight siblings and their widowed mother. The members of this tight-knit clan are well respected among British society. But marriage and society isn’t always an easy mix.

Read More

The Aubrey-Maturin Books in Order: How to read Patrick O’Brian’s series?

Horatio Hornblower was not the only famous literary hero to fight during the Napoleonic Wars.

What is the Aubrey-Maturin series about?

The Aubrey-Maturin series is an internationally acclaimed nautical historical/war series set during the Napoleonic Wars written by English novelist Patrick O’Brian.

The story takes us back to the early 19th century with Captain Jack Aubrey of the Royal Navy and his friend Stephen Maturin, the ship’s surgeon who also is an intelligence agent. From one side of the Earth to the other, Aubrey and Maturin are living dangerous nautical adventures, fighting the French and other enemies.

Read More

Flavia Albia Books in Order: How to read Lindsey Davis’s series?

The follow-up to the Marcus Didius Falco series.

Who is Flavia Albia?

After the end of the Marcus Didius Falco series, Lindsey Davis didn’t stop here, keeping the investigations going with a new investigator.

Adopted daughter of Marcus Didius Falco and Helena Justina, Flavia Albia learned from her mother how to blend in at all levels of society; and from her father, the tricks of their mutual professional trade. Now, she’s working as a private informer in Rome during the reign of Domitian.

Read More

Page 1 of 4

Powered by WordPress & Theme by Anders Norén