A reading guide to comics and books

Author: Carole Page 1 of 7

The Wicked + The Divine Reading Order

The Wicked + The Divine Reading Order: How to read Kieron Gillen and Jamie McKelvi’s series?

Every ninety years, twelve gods incarnate as humans. They are loved. They are hated. In two years, they are dead.

What is The Wicked + The Divine about?

Created by Kieron Gillen and Jamie McKelvie, and published by Image Comics, The Wicked + The Divine is a contemporary fantasy comic book series that follows a young teenage girl, Laura, as she interacts with the Pantheon, a group of twelve people who discover that they are reincarnated deities.

It is said that each cycle of The Pantheon will not live past two years from the start of the series, and that every 90 years the Pantheon is reincarnated. This cycle is known as the Recurrence.

The Merchant Princes Books in Order

The Merchant Princes Books in Order: How to read Charles Stross’s science fantasy series?

A thrill-a-minute saga of multiple worlds, by the author of The Laundry Files.

What is The Merchant Princes about?

Written by British writer of science fiction and fantasy Charles Stross, The Merchant Princes follows Miriam, a hip tech journalist from Boston who discovered her alternate world relatives and with them an elite identity she didn’t know was hers.

Now, in order to avoid a slippery slope down to an unmarked grave, Miriam, known as Lady Helge to the Family, starts applying modern business practices and scientific knowledge to a trade dominated by mercantilists – with unexpected consequences for three different timelines, including the quasi-Victorian one exploited by the hidden family.


Faye Longchamp Books in Order: How to read Mary Anna Evans’s series?

Archeology and murder.

Who is Faye Longchamp?

Written by Mary Anna Evans, the book series follows Faye Longchamp, a woman who uncovers more than artifacts from the past.

Faye Longchamp is the owner of Joyeuse, a moldering plantation hidden along the Florida coast. No one knows how Faye’s great-great-grandmother Cally, a newly freed slave barely out of her teens, came to own Joyeuse in the aftermath of the Civil War or how her descendants hung onto it through Reconstruction, world wars, the Depression, and Jim Crow. But Faye has inherited the family tenacity, and it pushes her towards archeology and murder…

Cedar Cove Books in Order

Cedar Cove Books in Order: How to read Debbie Macomber’s series?

This is small-town life at its best—and its most interesting…

What is Cedar Cove about?

From American author of romance novels Debbie Macomber, Cedar Cove is a book series that take place in the quaint, picturesque town on an island in Puget Sound in Washington state. Residents of Cedar Cove are old-fashioned in their values, neighbors on the most part trying to help neighbors, and people not locking their doors in their trust of their neighbors.

Discover this community, from Olivia Lockhart, a family court judge to Jo Marie, seeking a fresh start. There’s also Jack Griffith, editor of the local newspaper, Grace Sherman, Olivia’s librarian best friend, private detective Roy McAfee and his wife, Corrie and more…

Shadow Children Books in Order

Shadow Children Books in Order: How to read Margaret Peterson Haddix’s dystopian series?

When being the third child in the family makes you illegal.

What is Shadow Children about?

Written by American author Margaret Peterson Haddix, Shadow Children is a book series set in a dystopian country where the government has enforced strict population control laws in order to control overpopulation after environmental conditions have severely limited resources, particularly food. It is against the law for families to have more than two children; the law is strictly enforced by the Population Police, killing or imprisoning “shadow children,” any child born after his or her first two siblings.

The story begins with Luke Garner, the third child of a farmer who has lived most of his life hidden in his house. He has two older brothers, Matthew and Mark. After meeting Jen Talbot, the third child and only daughter of his affluent new neighbors, the Talbots, Luke begins to question his status as a third child and the world he lives in.

Tales of Rowan Hood Books in Order

Tales of Rowan Hood Books in Order: How to read Nancy Springer’s series?

By the writer of The Enola Holmes Mysteries.

What is Tales of Rowan Hood about?

Written by American author Nancy Springer, Tales of Rowan Hood is a combination of the traditional Robin Hood legends with fantastical, pseudo-Arthurian elements.

The story centers on Rosemary, a young girl of 13 year-old age who lost her half-elf mother, burnt as a witch. She sets off to find her unknown father Robin Hood. She disguises herself as a boy named Rowan, and in her quest, befriends half-wolf Tykell, overgrown enchanting minstrel Lionel, and runaway princess Ettarde.

Gone Books in Order Michael Grant

Gone Books in Order: How to read Michael Grant’s dystopia series?

These are exciting, high-tension stories told in a driving, torrential narrative that never lets up. This is great fiction. — Stephen King.

What is Gone about?

The Gone series is a young-adult dystopian science fiction book series written by Michael Grant. The series is centered on the fictional Southern Californian town of Perdido Beach, in which every human aged 15 and older vanishes. The town and surrounding areas become encased within an impenetrable barrier that burns to the touch, with many of its inhabitants developing supernatural powers.

The books follow the exploits of Sam Temple, as he battles antagonists Caine Soren, Drake Merwin, and Diana Ladris as well as a mysterious, malevolent creature, known as the Darkness or the Gaiaphage.

Grant County Books in Order

Grant County Books in Order: How to read Karin Slaughter’s series?

By the writer of the Will Trent book series.

What is the Grant County series about?

Written by American crime writer Karin Slaughter, Grant County is a thriller series set in the fictional town of Heartsdale, Georgia, (in the fictional Grant County).

The narrative takes place from the perspective of three main characters: Sara Linton, the town’s pediatrician and part-time coroner; her ex-husband, Jeffrey Tolliver, who is chief of police; and his subordinate, detective Lena Adams.

Saga Reading Order: How to read Brian K Vaughan and Fiona Staples’ epic space opera comic book series?

The sweeping tale of one young family fighting to find their place in the worlds.

What is Saga about?

Created by writer Brian K. Vaughan and artist Fiona Staples, published by Image Comics, Saga is an epic space opera/fantasy comic book series heavily influenced by Star Wars.

It depicts two lovers from long-warring extraterrestrial races, Alana and Marko, fleeing authorities from both sides of a galactic war as they struggle to care for their newborn daughter, Hazel, who occasionally narrates the series.

The Seventh Tower Books in Order

The Seventh Tower Books in Order: How to read Garth Nix’s series?

By the writer of The Old Kingdom series.

What is The Seventh Tower about?

Written by Garth Nix, The Seventh Tower series is the result of a joint partnership between Scholastic and LucasFilm. The series follows two children from distinctly different societies in a world blocked from the sun by a magical Veil which leaves the world in complete darkness.

Tal is a Chosen from the Castle, and Milla is an Icecarl from the Ice. Together they discover that an evil, long thought to have vanished, once more threatens their world, slowly and secretly letting its presence be felt. A pact was broken, and a war dormant for two thousand years is rekindling. Danger looms, and it is up to these two children and a small band of unlikely heroes to save their Dark World.

Page 1 of 7

Powered by WordPress & Theme by Anders Norén