A reading guide to comics and books

Tag: Crime Page 1 of 21

John Corey Books in Order

John Corey Books in Order: How to read Nelson DeMille’s series?

From the author of the Joe Ryker series.

Who is John Corey?

Written by prolific American author Nelson DeMille, this action/suspense series is about a retired cop John Corey who starts working for the FBI to track down terrorists.

John Corey is indeed a former homicide detective. He is medically retired from the NYPD with 3 gunshot wounds. He ended up in Long Island where his career took an unexpected turn. He’s now working for the FBI’s Anti-Terrorist Task Force.

Grant County Books in Order

Grant County Books in Order: How to read Karin Slaughter’s series?

By the writer of the Will Trent book series.

What is the Grant County series about?

Written by American crime writer Karin Slaughter, Grant County is a thriller series set in the fictional town of Heartsdale, Georgia, (in the fictional Grant County).

The narrative takes place from the perspective of three main characters: Sara Linton, the town’s pediatrician and part-time coroner; her ex-husband, Jeffrey Tolliver, who is chief of police; and his subordinate, detective Lena Adams.

Sano Ichiro Books in Order

Sano Ichiro Books in Order: How to read Laura Joh Rowland’s series?

Murder in the late days of feudal Japan.

What is the Sano Ichiro series about?

Written by Laura Joh Rowland, the Sano Ichiro series is a historical mystery series that bring us in the late days of feudal Japan, mostly in Edo during the late 17th century.

The story resolves around Sano Ichiro, a samurai and private investigator for the shogun—aka the Most Honorable Investigator of Events, Situations, and People. Sometimes with the help of Reiko, Sano must often risk everything to bring to justice to the murdered in complex political situations.

Parker Books in Order

Parker Books in Order: How to read Richard Stark’s series?

Did you know Lee Marvin, Robert Duvall and Mel Gibson played Parker.

What is Richard Stark’s Parker series about?

Written by American novelist Donald E. Westlake (1933-2008) under the pseudonym Richard Stark, the Parker series is a classic crime series.

This is about Parker, a ruthless career criminal, a heister, a pro, the best of them. He is the one you want if you plan a robbery, but you don’t want to cross him. Parker is relentlessly focused, cold, methodical, smart and really tough.

Hannibal Lecter Books in Order

Hannibal Lecter Books in Order: How to read Thomas Harris’ series?

Eat the Rich!

Who is Hannibal Lecter?

Created by American writer Thomas Harris, Hannibal Lecter is the most famous cannibal in literature. A respected Baltimore forensic psychiatrist, Hannibal consults with the FBI to assist them in finding other serial killers before being exposed as a cannibalistic serial killer.

If Hannibal is one of the most iconic pop culture characters, it is thanks to multiple adaptations of Thomas Harris’s works. The character has been portrayed by Brian Cox (Manhunter), Anthony Hopkins (The Silence of the Lambs, Hannibal, Red Dragon), Gaspard Ulliel and Aaran Thomas (Hannibal Rising) and Mads Mikkelsen (Hannibal, the TV series).

Guido Brunetti Books in Order

Guido Brunetti Books in Order: How to read Donna Leon’s series?

Murder in Venice, Italy!

Who is Guido Brunetti?

From American author Donna Leon, this crime series takes us in Italy, in or around Venice, for some murder mysteries.

The series resolves around Guido Brunetti, a happily married father of two vice-commissario of police. Intelligent, pragmatic and compassionate, Brunetti works with his colleague Lorenzo Vianello to solve crimes for a long time now.

Joseph O'Loughlin Books in Order

Joseph O’Loughlin Books in Order: How to read Michael Robotham’s series?

The psychologist who catches murderers.

Who is Joseph O’Loughlin?

From Australian crime fiction writer Michael Robotham, this series is about a psychiatrist solving crimes.

The psychologist is forty-two-year-old Joseph O’Loughlin, a man who had every reason to be happy, until his life took an unexpected turn when he’s diagnosed with Parkinson’s. Then the police asked for his help. That’s when he starts working with Vincent Ruiz, a hard-drinking tough talking homicide detective.

Sister Fidelma Books in Order

Sister Fidelma Books in Order: How to read Peter Tremayne’s series?

For those who like Medieval Murder Mysteries, but not with Brother Cadfael.

What is the Sister Fidelma series about?

Written by Peter Tremayne (pseudonym of Peter Berresford Ellis), The Sister Fidelma series is a historical mystery series taking us back to the 7th century.

Sister Fidelma is an Eognacht princess and sister to the king of Cashel, a religieuse of the Celtic Church and an advocate of the Brehornn court. With the help of her partner Brother Eadulf, a Saxon monk, she solves crime, mainly in Ireland.

Liss MacCrimmon Books in Order

Liss MacCrimmon Books in Order: How to read Kaitlyn Dunnett’s series?

Cozy murders in Moosetookalook, Maine.

Who is Liss MacCrimmon?

Written by Kaitlyn Dunnett, the cozy mystery series takes us in the town of Moosetookalook, Maine for some amateur sleuthing.

At the center of the series, there’s Liss MacCrimmon who, after a knee injury, is forced to end her professional career as a Scottish dancer. So, she gives up her life of performing strathspeys, reels, jigs and Highland flings and returns to her hometown of Moosetookalook, Maine, where she runs a Scottish Emporium. There, murder find her pretty quickly and she starts investigating.

Dr. Siri Paiboun Books in Order: How to read Colin Cotterill’s series?

The Lao People’s Democratic Republic has a coroner now…

Who is Dr. Siri Paiboun?

Written by English/Australian author Colin Cotterill, this mystery series takes us back in the 1970s in the Lao People’s Democratic Republic.

The story resolves around seventy-two-year-old Dr. Siri Paiboun, one of the last doctors left in Laos after the Communist takeover. He is untrained for the job, but has been drafted to be national coroner anyway. Worse, his lab is underfunded, his boss is incompetent, and his support staff is quirky. But that will not stop him from doing his work and catch killers.

Page 1 of 21

Powered by WordPress & Theme by Anders Norén