A reading guide to comics and books

Tag: Adventure Page 1 of 5

The Queen's Thief Books in Order

The Queen’s Thief Books in Order: How to read Megan Whalen Turner’s series?

A little theft in a Fantasy World…

What is The Queen’s Thief about?

From American author Megan Whalen Turner, The Queen’s Thief is a fantasy series for young adults in six volumes.

Set in a world rich with political machinations and intrigue, battles, dangerous journeys, divine intervention, power, passion, revenge, and deception, The Queen’s Thief series resolves around the adventures of the incorrigible Eugenides, a thief. He says he can steal everything, and he will have to prove it if he wants to survive.

The Ballantyne Books in Order

The Ballantyne Books in Order: How to read Wilbur Smith books?

By the author of The Courtney Series.

What is the Ballantyne series about?

Published since 1980 by Zambian-born author Wilbur Smith, The Ballantyne Series chronicle the lives of the Ballantyne family – like the Courtney series does. In fact, the two series are connected.

From the 1860s through until 1980s, this historical series follows the lives of the members of the Ballantyne family against the background of the history of Rhodesia (now known as Zimbabwe).

Serenity Firefly Reading Order

Serenity/Firefly Reading Order: How to read/watch Joss Whedon’s series?

Meet the most spaced-out crew in the galaxy.

What is Firefly about?

Firefly is an American space Western media franchise created by Joss Whedon. It includes the TV series Firefly, the film Serenity, some novels and multiples comic books.

The series is set in the year 2517, after the arrival of humans in a new star system , and follows the adventures of the renegade crew of Serenity, a “Firefly-class” spaceship. In this future, the only two surviving superpowers, the United States and China, fused to form the central federal government, called the Alliance, resulting in the fusion of the two cultures.

Suzanne Collins Books in Order (The Hunger Games, The Underland Chronicles and more)

All of the books!

Who is Suzanne Collins?

Born on August 10, 1962, in Hartford, Connecticut, Suzanne Collins is an is an American television writer and author. She began her career in 1991 as a writer for children’s television shows, before she begun to write children’s books. Her debut book, Gregor the Overlander is published in 2003.

She has been named one of Time magazine’s most influential people of 2010 and In March 2012, Amazon announced that she had become the best-selling Kindle author of all time, thanks to The Hunger Games trilogy, which went on to become a popular motion picture series starring Jennifer Lawrence as Katniss Everdeen.

His Dark Materials Books in Order

His Dark Materials Books in Order: How to read Philip Pullman’s fantasy classic series?

One girl will change worlds

What is His Dark Materials about?

Written by english novelist Sir Philip Pullman, His Dark Materials is a young-adult fantasy series set across a multiverse, moving between many parallel worlds. More specifically, it follows the coming of age of two children, Lyra Belacqua and Will Parry, as they wander through a series of parallel universes.

In Lyra’s world, who resembles that of the UK’s Edwardian era, all humans have a dæmon, the physical manifestation of a person’s soul or spirit taking the form of an animal.

The Hulk Reading Order: How to read Bruce Banner’s smashing comic book story?


Who is The Hulk?

The Jekyll/Hyde of the Marvel Universe created by Stan Lee and Jack Kirby. Saving the life of Rick Jones during the experimental detonation of a gamma bomb, scientist Bruce Banner was hit by the blast resulting in the absorption of gamma radiation.

Banner didn’t die, but he wasn’t the same. The radiation didn’t kill him, but they changed him. Now, he is two “men” in one body, transforming from the physically weak and emotionally reserved physicist into the powerful green-skinned monster named “the Hulk” when he loses control.

Lexi Carmichael Books in Order

Lexi Carmichael Books in Order: How to read Julie Moffet’s Series?

Hacking the hackers…

Who is Lexi Carmichael?

Written by American Author Julie Moffet, this mystery series is about hacker extraordinaire Lexi Carmichael as she travels the world stopping hackers and cyber criminals.

She was working at the National Security Agency when her life got derailed by extraordinary adventures. She joined XCorp to continue to do her best work, stopping criminals, hackers of all sorts, with the help of her friends and coworkers.

The Deverry Cycle Books in Order

The Deverry Cycle Books in Order: How to read Katharine Kerr’s fantasy series?

An Epic saga of Celtic fantasy.

What is The Deverry Cycle about?

A series of Celtic fantasy novels written by American author Katharine Kerr, The Deverry Cycle is set in the fictional land of Deverry where perilous battle and pure magic meet.

Even if it was originally conceived as a short story, The Deverry Cycle is now composed of several story arcs—each one comprised of three or four books. Everything began when a selfish young lord caused the death of two innocent lovers. Feeling guilty, he vowed never to rest until he’d righted that wrong. Many lifetimes later, those events shaped the lives of Jill and Lord Rhodry who must now fulfill a quest determined for them centuries ago.

Guardians of the Flame Books in Order

Guardians of the Flame Books in Order: How to read Joel Rosenberg’s series?

It began as just another evening of fantasy gaming…

What is Guardians of the Flame about?

Written by american author Joel Rosenberg, Guardians of the Flame is a fantasy series about  about a group of college students who participate in a fantasy role-playing game, and are magically transported to the world of the game by their gamemaster.

The story follows, at first, Karl Cullinane, theater student and his friends, history student Jason Parker, football hero Walter Slovotsky, engineering student Lou Riccetti, English major Andrea “Andy-Andy” Andropolous, disabled computer science major James Michael Finnegan, and Doria Perlstein; the gamemaster is a philosophy professor at the university.

Covert-One Books in Order

Covert-One Books in Order: How to read Robert Ludlum’s series?

By the creator of Jason Bourne.

What is Covert-One about?

American writer Robert Ludlum created the Covert-One series, overseeing the first three novels with Gayle Lynds and Philip Shelby before his death. Following Ludlum’s death, his estate has continued to publish novels under The Ludlum brand, including a number of Covert-One books.

The Covert-One series follows a team of political and technical experts, belonging to a top-secret U.S. agency called Covert-One. Lead by Lieutenant Colonel Dr. Jonathan ‘Jon’ Jackson Smith, M.D., they fight corruption, conspiracy, and bioweaponry at the highest levels of society.

Page 1 of 5

Powered by WordPress & Theme by Anders Norén