Spider-Man by Dan Slott Reading Order: How to read the longest run in Spidey’s History?

Disclaimer: As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. Thanks!

At the beginning of this blog, I was motivated by doing long and comprehensive reading guides, especially for comics. It’s time to get back at it with a big chunk of Spider-Man recent history.

Spider-Man by Dan Slott, The Longest run

Dan Slott took over in 2010. Before that, he was one of the multiple writers who tried to put Peter Parker back on his feet following the disastrous One More Day storyline.

Dan Slott knows Spider-Man’s history and how to use it. He used it to redefine old enemies, to develop new ones and to take the story where it never went before. This is a comprehensive reading order, following mostly TPB editions, not issues on issues.

Information This article will not be updated anymore. Since we have launched a blog dedicated to comic book reading orders, you can find an up-to-date version of this Spider-Man Reading Order here.

Spider-Man by Dan Slott Reading Order:

I. Big Time

As I was saying, Dan Slott started to work on the Amazing Spider-Man prior to the official beginning of his run as the main writer on the series. But Big Time is where to start.

Big Time it’s more than 50 issues in two years.

  1. Big Time – Collects Amazing Spider-Man issues #648–651.
  2. Matters of Life and Death – Collects Amazing Spider-Man issues #652–657 & 654.1. Spider-Man joined The Future Foundation (aka F4) just after #657 in Fantastic Four #388 & FF #1
  3. The Fantastic Spider-Man – Collects Amazing Spider-Man issues #658–662
  4. The Return of Anti-Venom – Collects Amazing Spider-Man issues #663–665
  5. Spider Island – Collects Amazing Spider-Man issues #666–673, Venom #6–9, Spider – Island: Deadly Foes, material from Amazing Spider – Man #659–660, #662–665, Spider-Island Spotlight. This is where Avenging Spider-Man is introduced.
  6. Flying Blind – Collects Amazing Spider-Man issues #674–677, and the crossover to Daredevil #8.
  7. Trouble on the Horizon – Collects Amazing Spider-Man issues #678–681 & 679.1
  8. Ends of the Earth – Collects Amazing Spider-Man issues #682–687, Ends of the Earth #1 and Avenging Spider-Man #8.
  9. Lizard: No Turning Back – Collects Amazing Spider-Man issues #688–691 and Untold Tales of Spider-Man #9.
  10. Danger Zone – Collects Amazing Spider-Man issues #692–697, and Avenging Spider-Man #11.

Omnibus Edition:

You can also go with the Omnibus Edition, also known as Spider-Man: Big Time Ultimate Collection:

  1. Big Time: The Complete Collection Volume 1 – Collects Amazing Spider-Man #648, #649–662, #654.1.
  2. Big Time: The Complete Collection Volume 2 – Collects Amazing Spider-Man #663–677, Amazing Spider-Man Infested #1, Free Comic Book Day 2011, Spider-Island: Deadly Foes #1, Daredevil #8, Spider-Island Spotlight.
  3. Big Time: The Complete Collection Volume 3 – Collects Amazing Spider-Man #677–687, #679.1; Amazing Spider-Man: Ends of the Earth #1; Avenging Spider-Man #8.
  4. Big Time: The Complete Collection Volume 4 – Collects Amazing Spider-Man #688–697, Avenging Spider-Man #11, Alpha: Big Time #1–5.

II. The Superior Spider-Man

Spider-Man isn’t Amazing anymore, he is Superior. Also, Avenging Spider-Man is replaced by Superior Spider-Man Team-Up.

  1. Dying Wish – Collects Amazing Spider-Man issues #698–700
  2. My Own Worst Enemy – Collects Superior Spider-Man issues #1–5, Annual 1 & AvSM #20–22, and Daredevil #22.
  3. A Troubled Mind – Collects Superior Spider-Man issues #6–10,
  4. No Escape – Collects Superior Spider-Man issues #11–16
  5. Necessary Evil – Collects Superior Spider-Man issues #17–21
  6. Superior Venom – Collects Superior Spider-Man issues #22–26 & Annual 1
  7. Goblin Nation – Collects Superior Spider-Man #27–31 & Annual 2

III. Amazing Spider-Man

We are now back to the Amazing Spider-Man, a good entry point. If you want to start somewhere, but not too early. Peter Parker is himself again, in full control and ready to go big.

  1. The Parker Luck – Collects Amazing Spider-Man (2014) #1–6.
  2. Learning to Crawl – Collects Amazing Spider-Man Volume #1.1-1.5: It’s a quite optional flashback story.
  3. Edge of the Spider-Verse – see the Spider-verse reading order.
  4. Spider-Verse – see the Spider-verse reading order.
  5. Graveyard Shift – Collects Amazing Spider-Man (2014) #16–18 & Annual.
  6. Spiral – Collects Amazing Spider-Man (2014) #16.1-20.1.

Oversized Hardcover Edition

You can also go with the Oversized Hardcover Edition:

  1. Amazing Spider-Man, Vol. 1 – Collects #1.1-1.5 (2014), 1–6, Annual 1
  2. Amazing Spider-Man, Vol. 2 – Collects #7–18, Superior Spider-Man #32–33, Free Comic Book Day 2014 (Guardians of the Galaxy) #1 (Spider-Man story)

IV. Amazing Spider-Man: Worldwide

After the Spider-verse Event, it’s a new and quite original beginning for Peter Parker with Parker Industries going global. Also, another entry point.

  1. Worldwide, Vol. 1 – Collects Amazing Spider-Man (2016) #1–5.
  2. Worldwide, Vol. 2 – Collects Amazing Spider-Man (2016) #6–11.
  3. Worldwide, Vol. 3 – Collects Amazing Spider-Man (2016) #12–15.
  4. Worldwide, Vol. 4 – Collects Amazing Spider-Man (2016) #16–18 & Annual 1.
  5. The Clone Conspiracy – see the Clone Conspiracy reading order.
  6. Worldwide, Vol. 5 – Collects Amazing Spider-Man (2016) #19–24. Skip it if you have The Clone Conspiracy book.
  7. Worldwide Vol. 6 – Collects Amazing Spider-Man (2016) #25–28.

Renew Your Vows – This story doesn’t take place in the regular Marvel Universe, but in a parallel one where Peter is still married to MJ and they have a kid. You know, it’s what the ASM could have been if Marvel didn’t push the reset button so often. Dan Slott only wrote the first miniseries (collects Amazing Spider-Man: Renew Your Vows 1–5, Spider-Verse #2)

V. Marvel Legacy

After the event of the Secret Empire crossover, Pete’s life is not the same, it’s kind of a new beginning again. Also, it’s the last arc written by Dan Slott.

  1. Worldwide, Vol. 7 – Collects Amazing Spider-Man (2016) #29-32, #789-791.
  2. Amazing Spider-Man: Venom Inc. – Collects Amazing Spider-Man: Venom Inc. Alpha 1, Amazing Spider-Man (2016) #792-793, Venom #159-160, Amazing Spider-Man: Venom Inc. Omega 1.
  3. Worldwide Vol. 8 – Collects Amazing Spider-Man (2016) #794-796.
  4. Worldwide Vol. 9 – Collects Amazing Spider-Man (2016) #797-801.

Similar Posts


  1. Hello! I’ve only ever read Ultimate Spiderman recently and ever since I finished it, I’ve been looking for more spidey and decided to head into The Amazing Spiderman. Does this list require anything prior to “Big Time”? Will I be able to understand everything if I start from there? And if not, can you give me some advice that wouldn’t require I read from the 1963 version cause I tried and could not get into it.
    I hope you can reply.

    1. “Big Time” is certainly a good entry point. And those comics are written to help newcomers, there’s always a bit of exposition with the old characters anyway. It’s never requiered to read from the start. That’s why they reboot everything all the time 🙂

  2. Is the collection comic of avenging Spider-Man a good starting point for Spider-Man comics? I’m not a hardcore comic fan btw but I love the MCU.

  3. Thank you for the list. I started reading Slott’s run around 700 when Superior kind of kicked off. Then as I was reading they kept referring to past things, so I started collecting all the trades of Slotts run. And then also grabbed the 4 trades that had all of Strazinski’s run. I think that’s a great place to start, especially since Morlun is the reason for Spider-Verse. Then you get to enjoy all of Slotts amazing run. I wasn’t a huge fan of the World Wide arc. But I don’t think anyone will ever do it better than Dan.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *