Laurell K. Hamilton Books in Order (Anita Blake, Merry Gentry, Zaniel Havelock)

Disclaimer: As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. Thanks!

Laurell K. Hamilton is an American fantasy and romance writer, best known for her Anita Blake series. Born Laurell Kaye Klein, Laurell K. Hamilton grew up in northern Indiana with her grandmother. She attended Marion College (now called Indiana Wesleyan University) where she received degrees in English and biology. She published her first book Nightseer in 1992, and the first book in the Anita Blake: Vampire Hunter series, Guilty Pleasures, the next year. The books have sold more than six million copies; many have made The New York Times Best Seller list.

How to read the Laurell K. Hamilton’s Series in Order?

Read the Anita Blake: Vampire Hunter Series in Order

Anita Blake is a vampire hunter and necromancer who lives in the city of St. Louis. Not our St. Louis, but one in an alternate universe where magic, vampires, werewolves, and other supernatural elements are quite real. Working as a professional zombie animator, legal vampire executioner, and supernatural consultant for the police, Anita solves crimes, helps keep the peace and tries not to get into too much trouble with her really complicated love life.

For more details, go to the Anita Blake: Vampire Hunter reading order.

  1. Strange Candy (anthology)
  2. The First Death (comics)
  3. Guilty Pleasures (1993)
  4. The Laughing Corpse (1994)
  5. Circus of the Damned (1995)
  6. The Lunatic Cafe (1996)
  7. Bloody Bones (1996)
  8. The Killing Dance (1997)
  9. Burnt Offerings (1998)
  10. Blue Moon (1998)
  11. The Girl who was Infatuated with Death (short story)
  12. Obsidian Butterfly (2000)
  13. Narcissus in Chains (2001)
  14. Cerulean Sins (2001)
  15. Incubus Dreams (2004)
  16. Cravings (short story)
  17. Micah (2006)
  18. Danse Macabre (2006)
  19. The Harlequin (2007)
  20. Blood Noir (2008)
  21. Skin Trade (2009)
  22. Flirt (2009)
  23. Bullet (2010)
  24. Hit List (2011)
  25. Beauty (2012) (short story)
  26. Kiss the Dead (2012)
  27. Affliction (2013)
  28. Dancing (2013)(short story)
  29. Shutdown (short story) – Unavailable.
  30. Jason (2014)
  31. Dead Ice (2015)
  32. Wounded (2016) (short story)
  33. Crimson Death (2016)
  34. Serpentine (2018)
  35. Zombie Dearest (short story)
  36. Sucker Punch (2020)
  37. Rafael (2021)
  38. Smolder (2023)
  39. Slay (2023)

Anita Blake Comics

A number of novels have been adapted in comic book forms, written by Laurell K. Hamilton and Stacie M. Ritchie respectively, with illustrations by Brett Booth.

Unlike the others, The comics The First Death is not an adaptation but a supplement to the book series, and a prequel to the first novel, Guilty Pleasures. It is listed in the reading order above.

  1. The First Death (comics)
  2. Guilty Pleasures (comics)
  3. The Laughing Corpse (comics)
  4. Circus of the Damned (comics), in three parts:
    1. Circus of the Damned: The Charmer (2011)
    2. Circus of the Damned: The Ingenue (2011)
    3. Circus of the Damned: The Scoundrel (2012)

Read the Merry Gentry Series in Order

Merry Gentry is a faerie princess forced to flee the court of her aunt Andais, the Queen of Air and Darkness and of the Unseelie fae. She turned private investigator in a world where faeries are known to the general public. For more information about the books, check out our Merry Gentry reading order.

  1. A Kiss of Shadows (2000)
  2. A Caress of Twilight (2002)
  3. Seduced by Moonlight (2004)
  4. A Stroke of Midnight (2005)
  5. Mistral’s Kiss (2006)
  6. A Lick of Frost (2007)
  7. Swallowing Darkness (2008)
  8. Divine Misdemeanors (2009)
  9. A Shiver of Light (2014)

Zaniel Havelock Series in Order

New series by Laurell K. Hamilton about angels walking among us!

  1. A Terrible Fall of Angels (2021) – Meet Detective Zaniel Havelock, a man with the special ability to communicate directly with angels. A former trained Angel speaker, he devoted his life to serving both the celestial beings and his fellow humans with his gift, but a terrible betrayal compelled him to leave that life behind. Now he’s a cop who is still working on the side of angels. But where there are angels, there are also demons. There’s no question that there’s evil at work when he’s called in to examine the murder scene of a college student-but is it just the evil that one human being can do to another, or is it something more? The race is on to stop a killer before he finds his next victim, as Zaniel is forced to confront his own very personal demons, and the past he never truly left behind.

Other novels by Laurell K. Hamilton

  1. Nightseer – Laurell K. Hamilton debut novel. The mark of a demon can open the door to undreamed-of powers and possibilities-or expose a soul to the darkest and most forbidden forces of sorcery. Now Keleios wears the mark-and the time of avenging her mother’s death is at hand.
  2. Nightshade – Star Trek TNG – After two hundred years of civil war the planet Oriana is dying. Most of the surface vegetation is gone, the air is nearly unbreathable, and the people themselves are dying. Now, the two warring factions have finally sat down to talk peace, and Captain Picard and the U.S.S. Enterprise™ are sent to help them negotiate a settlement. Picard, Lt. Worf, and Counsellor Troi soon learn that there are people that would rather finish the devastating conflict than talk peace. Suddenly, Picard is accused of murder and the delicate negotiations have fallen into the hands of Lt. Worf. Now, Worf and Troi must unravel the truth and prevent planet-wide disaster, before time runs out for the people of Oriana and the crew of the Starship Enterprise.

If you like our article about the Laurell K. Hamilton reading order, don’t forget to bookmark it! You may also be interested in the books of Ilona Andrews, Patricia Briggs, or in the Jeaniene Frost’s Night Huntress series. Don’t hesitate to follow us on Twitter or Facebook to discover more book series.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *