Patricia Briggs Books in Order (Mercy Thompson, Alpha & Omega)

Disclaimer: As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. Thanks!

Born in Montana in 1965, Patricia Briggs is an urban fantasy writer, known for the New York Times bestselling Mercy Thompson series. Briggs first wrote fantasy books, until her editor asked her to write an urban fantasy book, as the genre was showing growth. This was then that she chose to write Moon Called, the first book in the Mercy Thompson series (which will launch the Mercyverse) She currently resides with her family in Eastern Washington near Tri-Cities, also the home of Mercy Thompson.

How to read Patricia Briggs’ Books in Order?

Before taking a look at the Mercyverse, let’s see other short series written by Patricia Briggs.

The Sianim Series in Order

  1. Masques (1993) – After an upbringing of proper behavior and oppressive expectations, Aralorn fled her noble birthright for a life of adventure as a mercenary spy. Her latest mission involves spying on the increasingly powerful sorcerer Geoffrey ae’Magi. But in a war against an enemy armed with the powers of illusion, how do you know who the true enemy is – or where he will strike next?
  2. Wolfsbane (2010) – Aralorn’s dangerous existence has taken her far from her aristocratic roots and kept her from her homeland for more than a decade. Now, she must return home to mourn the death of her father, the Lyon of Lambshold. But when Aralorn and her companion Wolf arrive, they discover that home is gone forever and they must take on an old enemy more sinister than they ever could have imagined.
  1. Steal the Dragon (1995) – A lord in Darran seeks to outlaw slavery-but there are plots to kill him before he can. Rialla is chosen by the spymaster of Sianim to prevent the murder–and is plunged into a world of deadly magic, where gods walk in human form. Where her most trusted companions are not what they claim. And where Rialla could be enslaved again…
  2. When Demons Walk (1998) – A killer has struck Southwood, claiming the lives of nobles. Lord Kerim, Reeve of Southwood, turns to Sham for help. Posing as his mistress, she delves behind castle walls to find the killer. But this murderer is no mortal-and Sham must use all of her magical wisdom to send the demon away. Because the city of Southwood has nowhere to hide–and no time to run…

The Hurog Series in Order

  1. Dragon Bones (2002) – We all play roles at times. Wardwick of Hurog played the role of a fool till he reached adulthood, just to keep his father from murdering him. Now he must overcome the image he so carefully built and fight not simply for his birthright but to free the five Kingdoms from tyranny and the rising tide of darkest magic that threatens his world.
  2. Dragon Blood (2002) – Wardwick of Hurog wishes to live in peace. Destiny has other plans. He is about to be arrested and imprisoned in the Asylum for Nobel Embarrassments and Inconveniences. Worse still, Ward has learned that the same man bent on his imprisonment, Jakoven Tallven, High King of the Five Kingdoms, is seeking Hurog blood to activate the supernatural equivalent of a weapon of mass destruction. Once again Ward must play the fool to survive. Yet that will not suffice. Ward’s closest companions all must risk their lives and fortunes to keep Jakoven and his malevolent mage Jade Eyes from destroying their world.

The Raven duology

  1. Raven’s Shadow (2004) – Seraph is a Raven mage who left behind her responsibilities for the love of the ex-soldier Tier. But when Tier disappears, Seraph must use her magic – and fulfill her ancestors’ oath to protect humanity from destruction.
  2. Raven’s Strike (2005) – The Traveler Seraph must use all her cunning and ability as a Raven mage to track down an unimaginable force of destruction known as the Shadowed.

The Mercy Thompson Series

The most famous creation of Patricia Briggs, Mercedes “Mercy” Thompson is a “Walker” raised by werewolves–until the pack ran her off for having a forbidden love affair. Now, she uses her talent to fix cars and runs a one-woman auto mechanic’s garage in Kennewick, Washington. She also uses her particular powers to help werewolves, vampires, or faes, voluntarily or not. For more details (and chronological reading order for the Mercyverse), check out our article about Mercy Thompson.

  1. Moon Called (2006)
  2. Blood Bound (2007)
  3. Iron Kissed (2008)
  4. Bone Crossed (2009)
  5. Silver Borne (2010)
  6. River Marked (2011)
  7. Frost Burned (2013)
  8. Night Broken (2014)
  9. Fire Touched (2016)
  10. Silence Fallen (2017)
  11. Storm Cursed (2019)
  12. Smoke Bitten (2020)
  13. Soul Taken (2022)

Short stories collection:

Alpha and Omega Books in Order

The Alpha and Omega Series (Set in the Mercyverse)

This is a stand-alone series taking place in Patricia Briggs’ Mercyverse. It follows Anna, an empathetic werewolf, and Charles Cornick, the enforcer of the North American werewolves. “Alpha and Omega” occurs before the events of Mercy’s story. Then, starting with “Cry Wolf”, which is set right after the events of “Moon Called”, the series runs parallel. To know more about it, you can check out our article about the Mercyverse.

  1. On The Prowl: Alpha & Omega (2008, novella) – Also collected in Shifting Shadows.
  2. Cry Wolf (2008)
  3. Hunting Ground (2009)
  4. Fair Game (2012)
  5. Dead Heat (2015)
  6. Burn Bright (2018)
  7. Wild Sign (2021)

The Mercyverse Graphic Novels

Graphic Novels set in the same world as Patricia Briggs’ Mercy Thompson series.

A stand-alone novel by Patricia Briggs

The Hob's Bargain - Patricia Briggs Books in Order

  • The Hob’s Bargain (2001) – Hated and feared, magic was banished from the land. But now, freed from the spells of the wicked bloodmages, magic-both good and evil-returns. And Aren of Fallbrook feels her own power of sight strengthen and grow. Overcome by visions of mayhem and murder, Aren vows to save her village from the ruthless raiders who have descended upon it–and killed her family. With the return of wildlings to the hills and forests, she strikes a bargain with the Hob, a magical, human-like creature imbued with the power of the mountains. But the Hob is the last of his kind. And he will exact a heavy price to defend the village–a price Aren herself must pay…

Anthologies and Short Fiction by Patricia Briggs

Most of Patricia Briggs’s short stories have been re-released in the anthology Shifting Shadows, listed above.

If you like our article about the Patricia Briggs books in order, don’t forget to bookmark it! You may also be interested in the Kate Daniels series, or in Charlaine Harris’s Sookie Stackhouse series.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *