A reading guide to comics and books

Tag: fantasy Page 2 of 9

Seven Realms/Shattered Realms Books in Order:

Seven Realms/Shattered Realms Books in Order: How to read Cinda Williams Chima’s high fantasy series?

Enter the Seven Realms…

What is Seven Realms/Shattered Realms about?

Written by the American author Cinda Williams Chima, The Seven Realms is a  four books high fantasy series set in the Queendom of the Fells – a world of medieval technology, swordplay, castles, and keeps. The story follows Han Alister, a thief-turned-wizard who joins forces with Princess Raisa ana’Marianna to defend her right to the Gray Wolf Throne.

The sequel series, titled Shattered Realms, takes place in the same world, but a generation after the events of The Seven Realms and follows the progeny of many of the characters in the original series.

The Old Kingdom Books in Order

The Old Kingdom Books in Order: How to read Garth Nix’s series?

Enter the Old Kingdom, where only the Abhorsen can keep the Abhorson can keep the living safe from the dead…

What is The Old Kingdom about?

Written by Australian author Garth Nix, The Old Kingdom is a young adult fantasy-horror series that takes place in a world where the line between the living and the dead isn’t always clear—and sometimes disappears altogether.

The Old Kingdom is where Free magic and Charter Magic exist, where you can find dangerous entities, ranging from the undead to powerful sorcerers and Free Magic elementals. Close to the Old Kingdom stand Ancelstierre, an unmagical country which has a technology level and society similar to that of early-20th century  Australia.

Temeraire Books in Order

Temeraire Books in Order: How to read Naomi Novik’s series?

Discover the Aerial Corps of Dragons during the Napoleonic Wars.

What is Temeraire about?

Written by American author Naomi Novik, the Temeraire series is a reimagining of the epic events of the Napoleonic Wars with an air force—an air force of dragons, manned by crews of aviators.

The story follows Capt. Will Laurence, who is serving with honor in the British Navy when his ship captures a French frigate harboring most a unusual cargo–an incalculably valuable dragon egg. When the egg hatches, Laurence unexpectedly becomes the master of the young dragon Temeraire and finds himself on an extraordinary journey that will shatter his orderly, respectable life and alter the course of his nation’s history.

Osten Ard Books in Order

Osten Ard Books in Order: How to read Tad Williams’ fantasy series?

From the author of the Otherland series, and the Shadowmarch series

What is the Osten Ard series about?

From American fantasy and science fiction writer Tad Williams, the Osten Ard Saga started in 1988 with the first trilogy (“Memory, Sorrow, and Thorn”) and, after twenty-four years, with a second trilogy (“The Last King of Osten Ard”).

Taking place on the fictional continent of Osten Ard where humans, Sithi, and Qanuc live in relative peace. But when King John Presbyter, a dragon slayer, dies and his son Elias ascends the throne, a long-dormant evil is ready to enter the realm and threaten the peace.

Chronicles of the Raven Series in Order

The Chronicles of the Raven Series in Order: How to read James Barclay’s books?

Deadly mercenaries in a deadly land.

What is The Chronicles of the Raven Series about?

Written by British high fantasy author James Barclay, this series takes us in the world of Balaia with a group of mercenaries who call themselves… The Raven.

As the title suggests, The Chronicles of the Raven is about the lives of the members of The Raven who, after years of success together, are confronted by a danger than put their loyalty and code to the test. Between magic and war, the mercenary band travel from one deadly quest to another impossible mission.

The First Law Books in Order

The First Law Books in Order: How to read Joe Abercrombie’s fantasy series?

Discover the grimdark world of Joe Abercrombie.

What is The First Law about?

Written by British author Joe Abercrombie, The First Law is a fantasy series consisting of two trilogy, three stand-alone novels and a number of short stories set in the same world.

The First Law series is set in an epic fantasy world at war, reminiscent of medieval-era Europe and the greater Mediterranean world, called the Circle of the Wold. In the North, The Union (which contains multiple provinces) is at war with The Northmen, a rough alliance of several northern tribes. In the South, the Union and the Gurkish Empire are in a conflict for the control of the Union City of Dagoska. The story follows the fortunes and misfortunes of characters inhabiting this world and navigation through these and other conflicts.

Dragonriders of Pern Books in Order: How to read Anne McCaffrey’s fantasy classic series?

Last Updated on

Let’s ride dragons !

What is Dragonriders of Pern about?

Written by American-Irish author Anne McCaffrey, Dragonriders of Pern is a science fantasy series published since 1968. Beginning in 2003, her middle child Todd McCaffrey has written Pern novels, both solo and jointly with Anne. The series comprises 23 novels and several short stories.

Dragonriders of Pern takes place in an isolated world where life is presented as a pre-industrial society. But their ancient way of life is about to come under attack from a myth that is all too real. And a girl and her dragon will change Pern forever.

Suzanne Collins Books in Order (The Hunger Games, The Underland Chronicles and more)

All of the books!

Who is Suzanne Collins?

Born on August 10, 1962, in Hartford, Connecticut, Suzanne Collins is an is an American television writer and author. She began her career in 1991 as a writer for children’s television shows, before she begun to write children’s books. Her debut book, Gregor the Overlander is published in 2003.

She has been named one of Time magazine’s most influential people of 2010 and In March 2012, Amazon announced that she had become the best-selling Kindle author of all time, thanks to The Hunger Games trilogy, which went on to become a popular motion picture series starring Jennifer Lawrence as Katniss Everdeen.

His Dark Materials Books in Order

His Dark Materials Books in Order: How to read Philip Pullman’s fantasy classic series?

One girl will change worlds

What is His Dark Materials about?

Written by english novelist Sir Philip Pullman, His Dark Materials is a young-adult fantasy series set across a multiverse, moving between many parallel worlds. More specifically, it follows the coming of age of two children, Lyra Belacqua and Will Parry, as they wander through a series of parallel universes.

In Lyra’s world, who resembles that of the UK’s Edwardian era, all humans have a dæmon, the physical manifestation of a person’s soul or spirit taking the form of an animal.

The Chronicles of Amber Books in Order

The Chronicles of Amber Books in Order: How to read Roger Zelazny’s series?

A classic of imaginative literature.

What is The Chronicles of Amber about?

Written by American writer Roger Zelazny, The Chronicles of Amber is a series of fantasy novels consisting of two story arcs, a number of short stories and four additional prequel books, authorized by the Zelazny estate following his death

The story takes place in two contrasting “true” worlds, Amber and Chaos, and in shadow worlds (Shadows) that lie between the two. These shadows, including our Earth, are parallel worlds that exist in, and were created from, the tension between opposing magical forces of Amber and Chaos. The Machiavellian royal family of Amber is headed by Oberon, the former king, now absent. The nine princes are : Benedict, Corwin, Eric, Caine, Bleys, Brand, Julian, Gérard and Random. Oberon had also five daughters : Florimel, Deirdre, Fiona, Llewella, and Coral.

Page 2 of 9

Powered by WordPress & Theme by Anders Norén