Diana Gabaldon Books in Order (Outlander, Lord John Grey, Other Works)

Disclaimer: As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. Thanks!

Born on January 11, 1952, in Arizona, United States, Diana Gabaldon is an American writer famous for her Outlander series, which has been adapted for television. Before becoming a full-time writer, she first worked at the University of Pennsylvania. She also wrote comic books for Walt Disney for a year in the late 1970s and then, took a job as a professor at Arizona State for twelve years. Also during that tenure, Diana Gabaldon ran a scholarly journal called Science Software Quarterly for several years. She wrote software reviews and technical articles for computer publications, as well as popular science articles.

Diana Gabaldon decided to write what would become Outlander, the first novel in the series, in 1988, inspired in part by a Doctor Who episode in which one of the Doctor’s companions was a young Scot from around 1745, named Jamie McCrimmon–the inspiration for James Fraser. She chose time travel as a device to explain her female character’s modern behavior and attitudes. The book was published in 1991 and launched the Outlander book series about 20th-century British nurse Claire Randall, who time travels to 18th-century Scotland and finds adventure and romance with the Highland warrior Jamie Fraser.

How to read Diana Gabaldon’s Books in Order?

Outlander Books in Order

Reading The Outlander Series

1946, Claire Randall goes to the Scottish Highlands with her husband Frank. It’s a second honeymoon, a chance to re-establish their loving marriage. But one afternoon, Claire walks through a circle of standing stones and vanishes into 1743, where the first person she meets is a British army officer – her husband’s six-times great-grandfather.

Unfortunately, Black Jack Randall is not the man his descendant is. While trying to escape him, Claire falls into the hands of a gang of Scottish outlaws and finds herself a Sassenach – an outlander – in danger from both Jacobites and Redcoats.

To know more about it, look at our guide to the Outlander books.


  1. Outlander
  2. Dragonfly in Amber
  3. Voyager
  4. Drums of Autumn
  5. The Fiery Cross
  6. A Breath of Snow and Ashes
  7. An Echo in the Bone
  8. Written in My Own Heart’s Blood
  9. Go Tell the Bees That I Am Gone

Short stories and novellas

Most of the short stories and novellas have been published in different anthologies before being collected in Seven Stones to Stand or Fall, a collection of short stories by Diana Gabaldon.

  • A Leaf on the Wind of All Hallows (2010) – a short story collected in Seven Stones to Stand or Fall
  • The Space Between (2013) – a novella collected in Seven Stones to Stand or Fall
  • Virgins (2013) – a novella collected in Seven Stones to Stand or Fall
  • A Fugitive Green (2017) – a novella collected in Seven Stones to Stand or Fall
  • Past Prologue (2017) – a short story written with Steve Berry and published in the anthology MatchUp. This is a crossover between the Outlander franchise and Berry’s Cotton Malone series.

Related Works

  • The Outlandish Companion (Volume One) (2015)
  • The Exile: An Outlander Graphic Novel (2010)
  • The Outlandish Companion (Volume Two) (2015)

Lord John Grey Books in Order

Reading the Lord John Grey series

A spin-off of the Outlander series by Diana Gabaldon. To know more about it, look at our guide to the Lord John Grey books.



  • Lord John and the Hellfire Club (1998) – Novella collected in Lord John and the Hand of Devils
  • Lord John and the Succubus (2003) – Novella collected in Lord John and the Hand of Devils
  • Lord John and the Haunted Soldier (2007) – Novella collected in Lord John and the Hand of Devils
  • The Custom of the Army (2010) – Novella collected in Seven Stones to Stand or Fall
  • A Plague of Zombies (2011) – Novella collected in Seven Stones to Stand or Fall
  • Besieged (2017) – Novella collected in Seven Stones to Stand or Fall

Other works by Diana Gabaldon

  • Naked Came the Phoenix (2001) – a collaboration with twelve other authors.
  • Humane Killer (2009) – short story co-written with Sam Sykes, published in The Dragon Book: Magical Tales from the Masters of Modern Fantasy.
  • Dirty Scottsdale (2009) – short crime story published in Phoenix Noir (2009).
  • Fourteen Days (2023) – Fourteen Days is a novel with an unusual twist: each character in this diverse, eccentric cast of New York neighbors has been secretly written by a different, major literary voice-from Margaret Atwood and Douglas Preston to Tommy Orange, Diana Gabaldon, and Celeste Ng.

If you like our article about the Diana Gabaldon reading Order, don’t forget to bookmark it! To go further, you may also be interested in Deborah Harkness or the Ken Follett’s Kingsbridge series. Don’t hesitate to follow us on Twitter or Facebook to discover more book series.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *