Nameless Books in Order: How to read Dean Koontz’s Series?

Disclaimer: As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. Thanks!

From bestselling author Dean Koontz, author of the Odd Thomas series and the Jane Hawk series, Nameless is a series of short thrillers, a collection of short stories about a vigilante nomad.

Here is the official story synopsis: If our memories make us who we are, who is a man without any? Nameless has only a gun, missions from a shadowy agency, and one dead aim: dispense justice when the law fails. As he moves from town to town, driven by splintered visions of the past and future, he’s headed toward the ultimate confrontation.

How to read the Nameless Series in Order?

The Nameless book series is divided into seasons, each one of them comprised of six short stories following the viligante.

Nameless: Season 1

  1. In the Heart of the Fire – Anyone who crosses Sheriff Russell Soakes is dead, missing, or warned. One of them is a single mother trying to protect her children but bracing herself for the worst. Nameless fears the outcome. He’s seen it in his visions. Now it’s time to teach the depraved Soakes a lesson in fear. But in turning predators into prey, will Nameless unearth a few secrets of his own?
  2. Photographing the Dead – Palmer Oxenwald’s hunting ground is the Mojave wasteland. His victims are random tourists and hikers. His trophies are cherished photographs of the damage he’s done. His greatest threat is Nameless. Two men with one thing in common: memories of the dead. For a psychopath like Palmer, they’re a clear rush in black and white. For Nameless, they’re visions of violence buried and erased. But for how long?
  3. The Praying Mantis Bride – Lucia-current last name, Rickenbah-has made a fortune by marrying rich men who tend to drop dead. But the superstitious blonde believes in more than money and murder. Nameless’s job is to scare a confession out of Lucia, and as the psychological warfare escalates, even he may be in for a shock.
  1. Red Rain – After a suspicious house fire, Regina Belmont lost her two children, was left disfigured, and was abandoned by her gutless husband. Brokenhearted and bullied into silence by corrupt officials, Regina’s only recourse for truth and justice is Nameless. There’s something about this case that’s breaking Nameless’s heart as well. But can he bear to remember why?
  2. The Mercy of Snakes – Oakshore Park is Michigan’s most exclusive assisted-living community. Presided over by two killer angels of mercy, it’s also the go-to facility in assisted dying. For a cut, they make impatient heirs happy. Nameless must concoct a scheme just as cunning. But righteous retribution stirs disquiet in the avenger as light starts to shine on the black hole of his past. Should he welcome it or keep running?
  3. Memories of Tomorrow – In Indiana, a murderous psycho has kidnapped his own six-year-old stepson, Jamie, and secreted him away in a subterranean cave. It’s become their bunker. For Nameless, the case is breaking down his defenses, and it may force him to face his memories.

Reading Nameless: Season 2

  1. The Lost Soul of the City – In a forgotten Cold War bunker, a cold-blooded arms dealer counts his cash and watches from a distance as cities collapse into violence. Pledged to stop him is a man without a past, guided by a teenage boy through the tunnels under the corrupted port city. With each stealthy move toward their target, the path ahead grows ever darker.
  2. Gentle Is the Angel of Death – Henry Siphuncle has a selfless mission: releasing his patients forever from their distasteful imperfections. It’s for their own good. And the world’s. Even Henry’s own wife didn’t survive his disgust. Nameless has tracked him across the country to an isolated rural community, where the residents are grateful for their new free clinic. For Henry, it might just be the end of the road.
  3. Kaleidoscope – It seems straightforward enough: Get a foot in the door by posing as a potential investor in a lucrative underground business-then bring the place down from the inside. There’s more here than meets the eye. What it triggers in Nameless is uncontrollable rage and brutal retribution. What it reveals is a clue to his forgotten past. Is it a breach on his handler’s part? Or a test? Either way, something’s not right.
  1. Light Has Weight, but Darkness Does Not – Evie and her daughter, Asteria, are fleeing an abusive cult when they meet a stranger in an abandoned Arizona shopping mall. Fate hasn’t set Nameless on their trail. It’s a premonition, and a chance to make reparations for a failure from his past he can’t even remember. This time, Nameless must do everything in his power not to fail those who trust him with their lives.
  2. Corkscrew – Uncharacteristically forthcoming-and unexpectedly personal-Nameless’s handlers have no choice but to emerge from the shadows. The indoctrinating factions of his visions are growing in number. What’s more, their chilling symbol of totalitarian control is now linked to the highest powers in the country. As his memories begin to break through, is Nameless prepared to face who he really is and defeat the encroaching madness of the future?
  3. Zero In – The target: a fortified redoubt in the golden hills of California, the hub of a new world order that’s unthinkably close at hand. The time has come for Nameless to face its designer: the nihilist mastermind behind the One Solution. It’s also time for Nameless to discover who he is and was, and what brought him to this fateful endgame. But will the truth be a breaking point? Or a turning point?

If you like this Nameless reading order, don’t hesitate to follow us on Twitter or Facebook to discover more book series.

Similar Posts


  1. I love the way Dean Koontz writes. His books are easy to read but packed with descriptive scenery, emotions and intrigue. My brother and I have been reading his books since the beginning. We traded books back and forth.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *