Bridgerton Books in Order: How to read Julia Quinn’s series?

Disclaimer: As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. Thanks!

Now on Netflix, as a Shonda Rhimes TV production.

What is the Bridgerton series about?

Written by American historical romance author Julie Pottinger under the pseudonym Julia Quinn, The Bridgerton series is about the love stories of the members of a British family. Each book is about one of them finding his/her true love.

Set against the backdrop of upper society during the period of Regency England, the series is about the Bridgerton family which consists of eight siblings and their widowed mother.

The members of this tight-knit clan are well respected among British society. But marriage and society aren’t always an easy mix.

How to read the Bridgerton Books in Order?

  1. The Duke and I – A young, marriageable lady should be amiable…but not too amiable. Daphne Bridgerton has always failed at the latter. Everyone likes Daphne for her kindness and wit. But no one truly desires her. Amiability is not a characteristic shared by Simon Basset, Duke of Hastings. Recently returned to England from abroad, he intends to shun both marriage and society. If Daphne agrees to a fake courtship, Simon can deter the mamas who parade their daughters before him. Daphne, meanwhile, will see her prospects and her reputation soar.
  2. The Viscount Who Loved Me – This time the gossip columnists have it wrong. Anthony Bridgerton hasn’t just decided to marry–he’s even chosen a wife! The only obstacle is his intended’s older sister, Kate Sheffield. The spirited schemer is driving Anthony mad with her determination to stop the betrothal, but when he closes his eyes at night, Kate’s the woman haunting his increasingly erotic dreams…
  3. An Offer From A Gentleman – Sophie Beckett never dreamed she’d be able to sneak into Lady Bridgerton’s famed masquerade ball. Though the daughter of an earl, Sophie has been relegated to the role of servant by her disdainful stepmother. But now, spinning in the strong arms of Benedict Bridgerton, she feels like royalty. Alas, she knows all enchantments must end when the clock strikes midnight. Who was that extraordinary woman? Ever since that magical night, Benedict has sworn to find and wed his mystery miss.

  1. Romancing Mister Bridgerton – Penelope Featherington has secretly adored her best friend’s brother for… well, it feels like forever. After half a lifetime of watching Colin Bridgerton from afar, she thinks she knows everything about him, until she stumbles across his deepest secret and fears she doesn’t know him at all. When Colin Bridgerton returns to London from a trip abroad, he discovers nothing in his life is quite the same-especially Penelope Featherington!
  2. To Sir Phillip, With Love – Sir Phillip knew that Eloise Bridgerton was a spinster, and so he’d proposed, figuring that she’d be homely and unassuming, and more than a little desperate for an offer of marriage. Except she wasn’t. The beautiful woman on his doorstep was anything but quiet, and when she stopped talking long enough to close her mouth, all he wanted to do was kiss her. Did he think she was mad? Eloise Bridgerton couldn’t marry a man she had never met! But then she started thinking…
  3. When He Was Wicked – In every life there is a turning point… For Michael Stirling, London’s most infamous rake, that moment came the first time he laid eyes on Francesca Bridgerton. After a lifetime of chasing women, he took one look at Francesca Bridgerton and fell so fast and hard into love it was a wonder he managed to remain standing. Unfortunately for Michael, however, Francesca’s surname was to remain Bridgerton for only a mere thirty-six hours longer…

  1. It’s In His Kiss – Gareth St. Clair is in a bind. His father, who detests him, is determined to beggar the St. Clair estates and ruin his inheritance. Gareth’s sole bequest is an old family diary, which may or may not contain the secrets of his past. The problem is-it’s written in Italian, of which Gareth speaks not a word. To Hyacinth Bridgerton, Gareth’s every word seems a dare, and she offers to translate his diary. As they delve into the mysterious text, they discover that the answers they seek lie not in the diary, but in each other…
  2. On the Way to the Wedding – Unlike most men of his acquaintance, Gregory Bridgerton believes in true love. And he is convinced that when he finds the woman of his dreams, he will know in an instant that she is the one. And that is exactly what happened. Except… She wasn’t the one. In fact, the ravishing Miss Hermione Watson is in love with another…
  3. The Bridgertons: Happily Ever After – With this book, Julia Quinn delivers eight sexy, funny, and heartwarming “2nd Epilogues” plus a bonus story about none other than the wise and witty matriarch Violet Bridgerton herself. So get to know the Bridgertons all over again-because Happily Ever After is a whole lot of fun.

What follows are two anthologies of interlinked novellas from witty gossip columnist “Lady Whistledown”:

  1. The Further Observations of Lady Whistledown – Susannah Ballister was the most popular debutante in London… until Clive Mann-Formsby jilted her in a most callous fashion. Now that she’s older and wiser, she wants no contact with any of the Mann-Formsbys… but what can she do when Clive’s brother David, the Earl of Renminster, decides that Susannah will make a perfect wife, after all… for him.
  2. Lady Whistledown Strikes Back – Peter Thompson made a deathbed promise to his best friend that he’d look out for his younger sister. But when this decorated soldier finally met Lady Mathilda Howard, he discovered that his feelings were anything but brotherly.

Based on the Bridgerton TV Show

  • Queen Charlotte (2023, co-written with Shonda Rhimes) – In 1761, on a sunny day in September, a King and Queen met for the very first time. They were married within hours. Born a German Princess, Charlotte of Mecklenburg-Strelitz was beautiful, headstrong, and fiercely intelligent . . . not precisely the attributes the British Court had been seeking in a spouse for the young King George III. But her fire and independence were exactly what she needed, because George had secrets . . . secrets with the potential to shake the very foundations of the monarchy.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *