For a long time, X-Men comics were just a second thought at Marvel Comics. And then, Jonathan Hickman came.

What are the X-Men by Jonathan Hickman about?

A new era begins for the mutants of the Marvel World. With artists Pepe Larraz and R.B. Silva, writer Jonathan Hickman uses past, present and future to build a new kind of X-Story for the Mutantkind.

Charles Xavier has a plan. He makes an offer to the human in order to build a new Mutant nation on Krakoa Island where all the mutants in the world—good or bad—are welcome. Together, they will take their place in the future and nothing will stop them. It’s a new beginning, but humans may not be ready to accept it.


X-Men by Jonathan Hickman Reading Order:

I. House of X/Powers of X

These two miniseries work in concert to build a prologue to the newly revised world of the X-Men by Jonathan Hickman.

X-Men Jonathan Hickman Reading Order

The House of X & Powers of X are collected in one book, but if you want to read issue by issue, this is the reading order:

  1. House of X #1
  2. Powers of X #1
  3. House of X #2
  4. Powers of X #2
  5. Powers of X #3
  6. House of X #3
  7. House of X #4
  8. Powers of X #4
  9. House of X #5
  10. Powers of X #5
  11. House of X #6
  12. Powers of X #6 (of 6)

II. Dawn of X

The new X-Men statu quo is in place. Now, new series are created to tell the multiple stories written by Jonathan Hickman and his Marvel collaborators.

  1. X-Men #1 – Written by Jonathan Hickman.
  2. Marauders #1 – Kate Pryde, Storm, Pyro, Bishop and Iceman sail the seas of the world to protect those hated and feared! Written by Gerry Dugan.
  3. Excalibur #1 – The Otherworld is rocked by war! A new Captain Britain holds the amulet, fighting for the Kingdom of Avalon with her Excalibur at her side – Rogue, Gambit, Rictor, Jubilee…and Apocalypse. Written by Tini Howard.
  4. X-Force #1 – X-Force is the CIA of the mutant world-one half intelligence branch, one half special ops. Beast, Jean Grey and Sage on one side, Wolverine, Kid Omega and Domino on the other. Written by Benjamin Percy
  5. New Mutants #1 – The classic New Mutants (Sunspot, Wolfsbane, Mirage, Karma, Magik, and Cypher) get together with a few new friends (Chamber, Mondo) to seek out their missing member and share the good news… Written by Jonathan Hickman and Ed Brisson.
  6. Fallen Angels #1 – Psylocke finds herself in this new world of Mutantkind unsure of her place in it… but when a face from her past returns only to be killed, she seeks help from others who feel similar to get vengeance.
  7. X-Men #2
  8. Excalibur #2
  9. Marauders #2
  10. New Mutants #2
  11. X-Force #2
  12. Fallen Angels #2
  13. X-Men #3
  14. Marauders #3
  15. Excalibur #3
  16. New Mutants #3
  17. X-Force #3
  18. Fallen Angels #3
  19. Marauders #4
  20. Excalibur #4
  21. New Mutants #4
  22. X-Force #4
  23. Fallen Angels #4
  24. X-Men #4
  25. Marauders #5
  26. Excalibur #5
  27. New Mutants #5
  28. X-Force #5
  29. Fallen Angels #5
  30. X-Men #5
  31. Marauders #6
  32. Excalibur #6
  33. Fallen Angels #6
  34. New Mutants #6

More info coming soon…