By the author of the The Courtney Saga.

What is the Ancient Egypt series about?

Written by Zambian-born author Wilbur Smith, mostly known for The Courtney Series, The Ancient Egypt series is a historical fiction series based in large part on Pharaoh Memnon’s time.

This Egyptian series takes us in an ancient kingdom in order to discover the incredible destiny of Taita, a humble slave and an expert in multiple disciplines who goes on a tumultuous journey, living through wars, power struggles and more.


Wilbur Smith’s Ancient Egypt Series in Order:

I. In Publication order

River God Wilbur Smith Acient Egypt Series in Order The Seventh Scroll Wilbur Smith Acient Egypt Series in Order Warlock Wilbur Smith Acient Egypt Series in Order

  1. River God – Taita is a humble slave; an expert in art, poetry, medicine and engineering, as well as keeping important secrets. He is the most treasured possession of Lord Intef. Yet when Intef’s beautiful daughter Lostris is married to the Pharaoh, Taita is commanded to follow her, and swiftly finds himself deeper than he ever could have imagined in a world of deception and treachery.
  2. The Seventh Scroll – When Royan Al Simma is the victim of a vicious attack that leaves her husband dead, her only thought is that she must continue their joint work: to use the secrets of the seventh scroll to find the hidden tomb of Pharaoh Mamose, and its untold trove of lost Egyptian riches. To do so, she must bury her grief and partner with the eccentric aristocrat Nicholas Quenton-Harper, a man who shares her passion for the ancient world.
  3. Warlock – In his long life, Taita has gone from slave to warlock, and now his wisdom and abilities are known throughout the kingdom. But even his immense skills cannot protect those close to him from the evil that lurks at the heart of Egypt: Lord Naja, self-proclaimed Regent until the Prince comes of age. Taita must summon all of his formidable gifts to protect the true ruler, the young prince Nefer – grandson of Queen Lostris.

The Quest Wilbur Smith Acient Egypt Series in Order Desert God Wilbur Smith Acient Egypt Series in Order Pharaoh Wilbur Smith Acient Egypt Series in Order

  1. The Quest – Renowned magus Taita is now over a hundred years old, and has ascended to a new level of wisdom and understanding about his world. But he must prepare himself for the biggest threat Egypt has ever faced: the great plagues and the failure of the Nile, brought about by the fire witch Eos, an ancient force of sheer evil.
  2. Desert God – Southern Egypt has an enemy it cannot shake for too long: they have been fighting the Hyksos people in the north since time began. And to finally crush them the Pharaoh must turn to his most trusted friend. Taita has an ingenious plan that will see Egypt destroy the Hyksos army and form the coveted alliance with Crete. This plan will take him, his expedition commander Zaras, and a team of warriors on an epic journey up the Nile, through Arabia to Sidon and the magical city of Babylon, and across the open seas to Crete.
  3. Pharaoh – Pharaoh Utteric is young, weak and cruel, and threatened by Taita’s influence within the palace – especially his friendship with Utteric’s younger and worthier brother, Ramases. With Taita’s imprisonment, Ramases is forced to make a choice: help Taita escape and forsake his brother, or remain silent and condone Utteric’s tyranny. To a good man like Ramases, there is no choice. Taita must be set free, Utteric must be stopped and Egypt must be reclaimed.

I. In Chronological Order

  1. River God
  2. Desert God
  3. Pharaoh
  4. Warlock
  5. The Quest
  6. The Seventh Scroll