A reading guide to comics and books

Tag: Horror Page 1 of 3

Dean Koontz Frankenstein Books in Order

Dean Koontz’s Frankenstein Books in Order: How to read Dean Koontz’s thriller series?

By the man behind Odd Thomas, Jane Hawk and Nameless.

What is Dean Koontz’s Frankenstein Books about?

Presented as a sort of modern updating and sequel to Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein (though on a superficial level), the Dean Koontz’s Frankenstein series take places in present-day New Orleans.

Victor Frankenstein is still alive, going by another name, and continuing is works. Now, he creates a series of artificial life forms from the ground up, no longer using actual human body parts. Opposed to his activities are his original monster, known as Deucalion and a pair of homicide detectives.

David Wong Books in Order

David Wong Books in Order (John Dies at the End, Zoey Ashe)

All of the books!

Who is David Wong?

Born January 10, 1975, Jason Pargin is an American writer known by his pen name David Wong. Former Executive Editor of Cracked.com, Pargin started to publish his first book as a web serial beginning in 2001.

The success of the online version of John Dies at the end lead to a book deal then to a film adaptation by Don Coscarelli that was released in 2012. Since his first book he wrote more John and Dave books but also a second series.

The Saga of Larten Crepsley Books in Order

The Saga of Larten Crepsley Books in Order: How to read Darren Shan’s series?

The Prequel to Cirque du Freak: The Saga of Darren Shan

What is The Saga of Larten Crepsley about?

Before Cirque Du Freak…Before the war with the vampaneze… Before he was a vampire. Larten Crepsley was a boy. This is the Saga of Larten Crepsley telling us the first two hundred years of Larten’s life.

The Saga of Larten Crepsley is a prequel to Cirque du Freak : The Saga of Darren Shan and offers more information on vampires’ society and familiar protagonists.

Cirque du Freak Books in Order

Cirque du Freak Books in Order: How to read Darren Shan’s series?

Discover Darren Shan’s story, the Vampire’s Assistant.

What is Cirque du Freak: The Saga of Darren Shan about?

Written by Darren O’Shaughnessy under his pen name Darren Shan, Cirque du Freak : The Saga of Darren Shan narrates the life of Darren Shan, a normal human boy who is coerced by the vampire Larten Crepsley into becoming his assistant and a half-vampire.

The Saga of Darren Shan is comprised of four trilogy of books and some short stories available on the website author. A film based on the first three books in the series was released in theaters in 2009, but failed at the box office.

The Parasol Protectorate Books in Order

The Parasol Protectorate Books in Order: How to read Gail Carriger’s series?

Somes Victorian Steampunk.

What is the Parasol Protectorate series about?

Created by Gail Carriger—the pen name of American archaeologist and author Tofa Borregaard—the Parasol Protectorate series is the heart of a large literary universe composed of multiple series of steampunk paranormal romance stories.

The Parasol Protectorate series is first about a young woman with no soul named Alexia Tarabotti who ended up dealing with the supernatural, a situation that leads her to a series of dangerous investigations of London’s high society. Another series chronicles the exciting life of a student at Mademoiselle Geraldine’s Finishing Academy for Young Ladies of Quality, and the adventures of Prudence, the daughter of Alexia.

Hellmouth Reading Order

Buffy the Vampire Slayer/Angel: Hellmouth Reading Order: How to read the Buffy/Angel Boom Studios’ event?

As explained in the Buffyverse Comics Reading Order, Dark Horse Comics’s Buffy the Vampire Slayer license expired at the end of 2018, and the license is now in the hands of BOOM! Studios who relaunched the series in 2019 and followed 3 months later with an Angel title. The publisher didn’t lose time and offered the first cross-over event, Hellmouth.

What is the Hellmouth event about?

Written by Jordie Bellaire and Jeremy Lambert and illustrated by Eleonora Carlini and Marco Renna, Hellmouth is a miniseries of the crossover event tying into the Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Angel comic book series.

As Boom Studios explain to us, Buffy and her Scooby Gang will have to muster all their strength as they deal with an open Hellmouth that threatens the lives of everyone they love in Sunnydale. Meanwhile, Angel, the vampire cursed with a soul, arrives in town to find his redemption by doing whatever it takes to close the Hellmouth… and no human, demon, or Slayer will stand in his way.

Dexter Books in Order

Dexter Books in Order: How to read Jeff Lindsay’s series?

Maybe the most famous fictional serial killer, after Hannibal.

Who is Dexter?

Dexter is the creation of american crime novelist Jeff Lindsay, made famous thanks to Showtime television series of the same name, where he is portrayed by Michael C. Hall.

Dexter Morgan is a forensic blood spatter analyst for the Miami-Dade Police Department by day, and a serial killer by day. Convinced the legal system failed to stop murderers, rapists and other criminals, Dexter takes justice in his own ends, and kill them.

The Hulk Reading Order: How to read Bruce Banner’s smashing comic book story?


Who is The Hulk?

The Jekyll/Hyde of the Marvel Universe created by Stan Lee and Jack Kirby. Saving the life of Rick Jones during the experimental detonation of a gamma bomb, scientist Bruce Banner was hit by the blast resulting in the absorption of gamma radiation.

Banner didn’t die, but he wasn’t the same. The radiation didn’t kill him, but they changed him. Now, he is two “men” in one body, transforming from the physically weak and emotionally reserved physicist into the powerful green-skinned monster named “the Hulk” when he loses control.

The Walking Dead Comic Book Reading Order

The Walking Dead Comic Book Reading Order: How to read Robert Kirkman’s series?

Living in the Zombie Apocalypse.

What is The Walking Dead about?

Created by writer Robert Kirkman and artist Tony Moore (for the first 6 issues), then drawn by Charlie Adlard for the remaining of the series, The Walking Dead is an American post-apocalyptic comic book series published by Image Comics.

It focuses on Rick Grimes, a Kentucky deputy who is shot in the line of duty and awakens from a coma in a zombie apocalypse that has resulted in a state-wide quarantine. After joining with some other survivors, he gradually takes on the role of leader of a community as it struggles to survive the zombie apocalypse.

Twilight Saga Books in Order

Twilight Saga Books in Order: How to read Stephenie Meyer’s series?

When you can live forever what do you live for?

What is The Twilight Saga about ?

Written by american author Stephenie Meyer, The Twilight Saga is a young adult vampire-romance series about the love story between a seventeen-year-old human girl, Bella Swan, and a 104-year-old vampire, Edward Cullen. Most of the story is told from Bella’s perspective.

One of the biggest phenomenom of the 2000s, with 160 million copies sold worldwide, it’s been adapted in a series of five romance fantasy films from Summit Entertainment, with Kirsten Stewart and Robert Pattinson in the lead roles.

Page 1 of 3

Powered by WordPress & Theme by Anders Norén