Skip to Content

Robert Thorogood Books in Order (Death in Paradise, Marlow Murder Club)

Robert Thorogood Books in Order (Death in Paradise, Marlow Murder Club)
Affiliate disclosure: As an Amazon Associate, we may earn commissions from qualifying purchases from Amazon.

All of Robert Thorogood’s books!

Who is Robert Thorogood?

Robert Thorogood is an English screenwriter and novelist who is known for being the creator of the highly popular BBC One murder mystery series “Death in Paradise.”

He launched his novelist career with Death in Paradise Spin-off books revolving around the investigations of DI Richard Poole.

In 2020, he launched The Marlow Murder Club, another murder mystery series, but this time about a group of older women who form a club to investigate a series of killings.

Robert Thorogood Books in Order:

The Death in Paradise Series in Order

DI Richard Poole has been seconded from London to the beautiful Caribbean island of Saint Marie. More comfortable in woolen suits than short-sleeved shirts, he’s struggling to adapt to his new home. But this paradise is about to get deadly.


  1. A Meditation On Murder (2015) – When self-appointed guru Aslan Kennedy gets murdered in his spiritual retreat for wealthy holidaymakers, it’s down to DI Poole to find the killer. The murder took place in a locked room with five other people inside, and when someone confesses, it seems an open and shut case. But DI Poole knows the facts just don’t add up, and there is more to the mystery than meets the eye….
  2. The Killing of Polly Carter (2015) – When Polly Carter is found dead at the foot of a cliff, it looks like suicide, but DI Richard Poole is not convinced. Famous for her looks and wild party-girl lifestyle, her friends are adamant she would never have killed herself. Seconded from London to the Caribbean island of Saint Marie, DI Poole is already at his wit’s end with the blinding heat. Unpicking the conflicting motives of a number of suspects and their stream of alibis is infuriating enough; a visit from his mother is the cherry on the cake.
  3. Death Knocks Twice (2017) – Just as he is feeling as fed up as can be, a mysterious vagrant is found dead in the grounds of the historic Beaumont plantation. Immediately assumed to be suicide, DI Richard Poole is not so convinced and determined to prove otherwise. Never mind that the only fingerprints on the murder weapon belong to the victim. Or that the room was locked from the inside. Before long, death knocks twice and a second body turns up. The hunt is on to solve the case – despite the best efforts of the enigmatic Beaumont family…

  1. Murder in the Caribbean (2018) – When a boat explodes in the harbor, Richard Poole and his team soon realize there’s a new murderer on the loose. But who is it? And why did the killer leave behind a ruby at the scene of the crime? As the police dig deeper, they uncover secrets that go back decades, and a crime from the past that can never be forgiven. Worse still, they soon realize this is only the beginning. They’ve got to catch the killer before there’s another death in paradise…

The Marlow Murder Club Series in Order


  1. The Marlow Murder Club (2021) – Meet Judith: a seventy-seven-year-old whiskey drinking, crossword puzzle author living her best life in a dilapidated mansion on the outskirts of Marlow. Nothing ever happens in Marlow. That is, until Judith hears her neighbor shot while skinny-dipping in the Thames. The local police don’t believe her story. It’s an open and shut case, of course. Ha! Stefan can’t be left for dead like that. Judith investigates and picks up a crew of sidekicks: Suzie the dogwalker and Becks the vicar’s wife. Together, they are the Marlow Murder Club.
  2. Death Comes to Marlow (2022) – It’s been an enjoyable and murder-free time for Judith, Suzie and Becks – AKA the Marlow Murder Club – since the events of last year. The most exciting thing on the horizon is the upcoming wedding of Marlow grandee, Sir Peter Bailey, to his nurse, Jenny Page. Sir Peter is having a party at his grand mansion on the river Thames the day before the wedding, and Judith and Co. are looking forward to a bit of free champagne. But during the soiree, there’s a crash from inside the house, and when the Marlow Murder Club rush to investigate, they are shocked to find the groom-to-be crushed to death in his study.

Don’t forget to bookmark this article to be sure to not miss anything new from Robert Thorogood.