By The Writer of The Lady Julia Grey series.

Who is Veronica Speedwell?

Written by American author of historical fiction and historical mysteries Deanna Raybourn, the Veronica Speedweel series, like her Lady Julia Grey series, takes us back to the Victorian era in England.

It follows the intrepid adventuress and sleuth Veronica Speedwell. She’s a natural historian with a specialty in lepidoptery which makes her a butterfly hunter and world traveler who is always up for adventure.


Veronica Speedwell Books in Order:

A Curious Beginning Veronica Speedwell Books in Order A Perilous Undertaking Veronica Speedwell Books in Order A Treacherous Curse Veronica Speedwell Books in Order

  1. A Curious Beginning – London, 1887. After burying her spinster aunt, orphaned Veronica Speedwell is free to resume her world travels in pursuit of scientific inquiry. But fate has other plans when Veronica thwarts her own attempted abduction with the help of an enigmatic German baron. But before the baron can reveal what he knows of the plot against her, he is found murdered—leaving Veronica on the run from an elusive assailant as wary partners in search of the villainous truth.
  2. A Perilous Undertaking – At the Curiosity Club, a ladies-only establishment for daring and intrepid women, Victorian adventuress Veronica Speedwell meets the mysterious Lady Sundridge, who begs her to take on an impossible task—saving society art patron Miles Ramsforth, accused of the brutal murder of his mistress, Artemisia.
  3. A Treacherous Curse – London, 1888. Stoker, Victoria’s former expedition partner has vanished from an archaeological dig with a priceless diadem unearthed from the newly discovered tomb of an Egyptian princess. Caught in a tangle of conspiracies and threats—and thrust into the public eye by an enterprising new foe—Veronica must separate facts from fantasy to unravel a web of duplicity that threatens to cost Stoker everything…

A Dangerous Collaboration Veronica Speedwell Books in Order A Murderous Relation Veronica Speedwell Books in Order

  1. A Dangerous Collaboration – Lured by the promise of a rare and elusive butterfly, the intrepid Veronica Speedwell is persuaded by Lord Templeton-Vane, the brother of her colleague Stoker, to pose as his fiancée at a house party on a Cornish isle. But Veronica soon learns that one question hangs over the party: What happened to Rosamund? Determined to discover Rosamund’s fate, Veronica and Stoker match wits with a murderer who has already struck once and will not hesitate to kill again…
  2. A Murderous Relation – Autumn 1888. Veronica Speedwell and Stoker are asked by Lady Wellingtonia Beauclerk to stop a potential scandal so explosive it threatens to rock the monarchy. London is being terrorized by what would become the most notorious and elusive serial killer in history, Jack the Ripper—and Lady Wellie suspects the Prince Albert Victor may be responsible.