Delia Owens Books in Order (Where the Crawdads Sing)

Disclaimer: As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. Thanks!

All of Delia Owens’s Books in Order!

Who is Delia Owens?

Delia Owens is a zoologist and author who grew up in Thomasville, in south Georgia in the 1950s. She studied biology at the University of Georgia and earned a Bachelor of Science degree in zoology from the University of Georgia and a Ph.D. in Animal Behavior from the University of California, Davis.

With her then-husband Mark Owens, she moved to Africa in 1974 and they wrote together three non-fiction books. Delia Owens has won the John Burroughs Award for Nature Writing and has been published in Nature, The African Journal of Ecology, and many others.

In 2018, she published Where the Crawdads Sing, her first novel that topped The New York Times Fiction Best Sellers of 2019 and The New York Times Fiction Best Sellers of 2020. It is now adapted as a movie with Daisy Edgar-Jones in the title role.

How To Read Delia Owens’ Books in Order?

Where the Crawdads Sing (2018) – For years, rumors of the “Marsh Girl” have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark, the so-called Marsh Girl. But Kya is not what they say. Sensitive and intelligent, she has survived for years alone in the marsh that she calls home, finding friends in the gulls and lessons in the sand. Then the time comes when she yearns to be touched and loved. When two young men from town become intrigued by her wild beauty, Kya opens herself to a new life-until the unthinkable happens.

Delia Owens’ Memoirs (co-written with Mark Owens)

Cry of the Kalahari (1984) – Carrying little more than a change of clothes and a pair of binoculars, two young Americans, Mark and Delia Owens, caught a plane to Africa, bought a thirdhand Land Rover, and drove deep into the Kalahari Desert. There they lived for seven years, in an unexplored area with no roads, no people, and no source of water for thousands of square miles.

The Eye of the Elephant (1992) – Intelligent, majestic, and loyal, with lifespans matching our own, elephants are among the greatest of the wonders gracing the African wilds. Yet, in the 1970s and 1980s, about a thousand of these captivating creatures were slaughtered in Zambia each year, killed for their valuable ivory tusks. When biologists Mark and Delia Owens, residing in Africa to study lions, found themselves in the middle of a poaching fray, they took the only side they morally could: that of the elephants.

Secrets of the Savanna (2006) – Mark and Delia Owens tell the dramatic story of their last years in Africa, fighting to save elephants, villagers, and-in the end-themselves. The zoologists and conservationists describe their work in the remote and ruggedly beautiful Luangwa Valley, in northeastern Zambia. There they studied the mysteries of the elephant population’s recovery after poaching, discovering remarkable similarities between humans and elephants. A young elephant named Gift provided the clue to help them crack the animals’ secret of survival.

What should you read if you like Delia Owens’s novels?

If you like reading Delia Owens’ books, you may be interested in Kristin Hannah’s, Jodi Picoult’s.

Don’t hesitate to follow us on Twitter or Facebook to discover more book series.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *