How To Read Me

A reading guide to comics and books

Tag: Romance (Page 2 of 2)

House of Night Books in Order: How to read P.C. Cast series?

What if you needed to go to school to become a vampire?

What’s House of Night?

Written by P.C. Cast and her daughter Kristin Cast, House of Night is a series of young adult fantasy novels following the adventures of a teenager who must be trained to become a vampyre.

More precisely, the story is about a sixteen-year-old girl named Zoey Redbird who has just become what is called a ‘fledgling vampyre’. Now, it is required of her to attend the House of Night boarding school in Tulsa, Oklahoma.

Read More

Stephanie Plum Books in Order: How to read Janet Evanovich’s series?

There maybe is only one movie adaptation with Katherine Heigl, but there’s a lot more books with Stephanie Plum.

Who Stephanie Plum is?

Stephanie Plum is the main character in a series of novels written by Janet Evanovich. She is a female bounty hunter from New Jersey.

After being fired from a job as a lingerie buyer, she tried to win money in other small jobs but failed, and then her car is repossessed. That’s when she turned to her cousin Vinnie, owner of Vincent Plum Bail Bonds, and forced him to give her a job.

Now, in each book, Stephanie goes after one or more people who are declared ‘failure to appear’ because they have not appeared for their court date.

Read More

Poldark Books in Order: How to read Winston Graham’s historical novels of Cornwall?

If you want some good period drama, go to the British. It’s their speciality. Of course, a lot of them had been made into TV Series and movies. In fact, there are two adaptations of Poldark. That said, it’s time to talk about books, not TV.

Who is Ross Poldark?

Right now, Ross Poldark looks like Aidan Turner on BBC One’s adaptation! And is quite stubborn! His story takes place in the late 18th century when he returns from the American War of Independence to his Cornish copper mines after spending three years in the army to avoid charges of smuggling.

When he gets home, he finds his father dead, his estate in ruins, and his old sweetheart Elizabeth engaged to his cousin Francis. He rescues a young woman, Demelza, from a beating, and takes her on as a kitchen maid while trying to help the people of the village and attempting to gain control of the mines sought after by his rival, the greedy and arrogant George Warleggan.

Read More

Night Huntress Reading Order: How to read Jeaniene Frost series?

True Blood is not the only big urban fantasy romance series of the last years. In the same genre, you can also find the New York Times bestselling novels by author Jeaniene Frost, the Night Huntress series.

What is the Night Huntress series?

Published since 2007, the Night Huntress series mainly centers around the half-vampire Catherine ‘Cat’ Crawfield and her full vampire/bounty hunter partner and lover Bones. They lived in a world where supernatural creatures exist, but are not in the public eye.

After the Night Huntress series came the Night Prince series, a spin-off following the characters of Vlad Tepesh (don’t call him Dracula please) and the mortal Leila with psychic abilities.

Read More

Outlander Reading Order: How to read Diana Gabaldon series behind the Starz show?

Even before the Starz TV series, the Oulander book series was quite popular. Now, it’s even bigger, and there is a lot to read. So, follow the guide.

What is Outlander?

Written by Diana Gabaldon, Outlander is a mix of historical fiction with a healthy touch of romance, adventures, mysteries and, of course, elements of science fiction (you know, time travel!).

The story follows a 20th-century British nurse named Claire Randall. When she inadvertably time travels to 18th-century Scotland, she meets the Highland warrior Jamie Fraser.

Read More

The Shadowhunter Chronicles Reading Order, how to read Cassandra Clare’s Saga?

I’m trying to cover the reading orders for the series with a TV Show, because there are always people who want to go further into a universe when the season ends. So, if you didn’t know, after a movie, there’s now a Shadowhunter TV show. It’s on Freeform (ABC Family).

What is The Shadowhunter Chronicles ?

It’s big. Yes, big. Possibly, when you were looking somewhere else, Cassandra Clare built a media franchise. There’s more than books (like the TV Show) but we’re going to stick with those.

The Shadowhunter Chronicles encompasses three novel series, two short-story collections and four graphic novels.

Those stories are set in a universe where fairy tales and mythologies are true. Living alongside the mundane (or normal humans), a race of humans who possess angel blood, the Nephilim or Shadowhunters, is organized to patrol the Shadow World and prevent demons as well as Downworlders, including warlocks, faeries, werewolves, and vampires from attacking the mundanes.

Read More

Chesapeake Shores Reading Order : The Sheryl Woods series

It’s probably time to add some variety to the blog. Well, there’s already SF, Fantasy, Pulp and crime/thrillers, so why not a little bit of romance. Let’s start with a series I know some people watch on the Hallmark Channel with Meghan Ory, you know, Ruby in Once Upon a Time (I just watch some good TV, I know).

What is the Chesapeake Shores series?

Chesapeake Shores is a series of contemporary romance novels written by Sherryl Woods.

The story centers on the O’Briens, a large Irish family in a small seaside town along the Chesapeake Bay, Maryland. Everything began with Abby O’Brien Winters who returns from New York to her hometown in order to help saving her sister’s inn from foreclosure. That’s where she finds herself face-to-face with Trace Riley, the man she left behind ten years ago.

Read More

Page 2 of 2

Powered by WordPress & Theme by Anders Norén