You or your kids need something to read after Percy Jackson? You can give a try to The Seven Wonders series.

What The Seven Wonders series is about?

Written by American author Peter Lerangis, The Seven Wonders series is based on Greek mythology and set around the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World.

The story follows thirteen-year-old Jack McKinley who discovers the existence of a secret organization based on a hidden island. There, he is told he has six months to live. The secret organization can save his and three other kids’ lives, but there’s one condition. Jack has to become the leader of a mission to retrieve seven lost magical orbs.

The Seven Wonders Books in Order:

I. Only the main series


  1. The Colossus Rises — Jack McKinley is an ordinary kid with an extraordinary problem. In a few months, he’s going to die. Jack needs to find seven magic loculi that, when combined, have the power to cure him. The loculi are the relics of a lost civilization and haven’t been seen in thousands of years. Because they’re hidden in the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World.
  2. Lost in Babylon — Jack McKinley and his friends as they carry on their mission to save their lives—and the world—by locating seven magic orbs called Loculi, which are hidden in the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World. After defeating the Colossus of Rhodes and capturing the first of the Loculi, their friend Marco has disappeared. With no leads, no clues, and no one else to turn to, the kids have no choice but to trust Professor Bhegad and the Karai Institute again as they head off to Babylon.
  3. The Tomb of Shadows — Jack McKinley and his friends are in a life-or-death race to the Mausoleum at Halicarnassus. In the rubble of this Wonder of the Ancient World, they have to face down their own demons and engage in an epic battle with foes long gone. But when promises are broken, blood is spilled—and the Select are left with no choice but to destroy the one thing that might have saved them all.


  1. The Curse of the King — Jack McKinley and his friends face their greatest challenge yet—the long-lost Statue of Zeus. In their struggle to undo what’s been done and unlock the secrets of this Wonder of the Ancient World, our heroes must confront gods, relive old battles, and face down their own destiny to save themselves—and the world—from destruction.
  2. The Legend of the Rift — King Uhla’ar has kidnapped Aly and taken her and an orb back through a rift in time. A giant, merciless behemoth guards the opening, and so Jack and his friends realize that their only hope to rescue Aly is to rush to find the rest of the lost Loculi. This mission takes them around the world—to the Temple of Artemis to fend off a mighty army and then to the Lighthouse of Alexandria, where they wind up swallowed in the belly of a beast.

II. With the novellas

You like The Seven Wonders series, you can also read the “Seven Wonders Journals”, novellas that are backstories to know more about the world of Peter Lerangis’ books.


  1. Seven Wonders Journals: The Select — The story of thirteen-year-old Burt Wenders, the first documented carrier of the G7W gene, and his fated voyage to the island that would eventually come to house the Karai Institute.
  2. The Colossus Rises
  3. Lost in Babylon
  4. Seven Wonders Journals: The Orphan — The valiant battle of Daria to rescue her best friend from certain death and to escape the only city she’s ever called home.
  5. The Tomb of Shadows
  6. Seven Wonders Journals: The Key — The tale of Aliyah and Osman, twin treasure hunters pressed into a life of crime. For them, every day is another desperate death-defying adventure until they stumble upon the key that may lead to the greatest treasure ever. But to take home this magical orb, they must first battle their way out of the Tomb of Shadows.
  7. The Curse of the King
  8. Seven Wonders Journals: The Promise — Two Atlantean princes, Karai and Massarym, obsessed with power and terrified of the mysterious Loculi, turned against it each other in a bitter rivalry. With the future of the world at stake and nowhere to turn for guidance, the fourteen-year-old brothers chose fear over trust, deception over truth, and violence over brotherhood, and they change the course of history forever.
  9. The Legend of the Rift