How To Read Me

A reading guide to comics and books

Tag: Horror (Page 2 of 2)

Hack/Slash Reading Order: how to read Tim Seeley comic book series?

There’s no need for a Revival Reading Order, but before this comic book series, Tim Seeley wrote Hack/Slash and that one really needs one. So, let’s go.

What’s Hack/Slash?

First things first, an introduction. Hack/Slash is a horror/action comic book created by writer and sometime penciller Tim Seeley and published by Image Comics.

Hack/Slash is about Cassie Hack who is the lone survivor of an attack by a monster or, if you prefer, a slasher. Hunted, she became the hunter and the world with Vlad, her enigmatic partner and friend, Vlad. Together, they hunt down slashers.

Read More

The Vampire Chronicles Books in Order: How to read the Lestat series by Anne Rice?

I’ve read that there will be a TV Show based on Anne Rice’s novels, The Vampire Chronicles series. Since the first Interview with the Vampire adaptation, there are talks about doing more movies and some novels did get bad big-screen versions. Now, we are talking about television, there’s a long way to go before the project become something real. Nevertheless, I thought that it may be the right time to read more than the first book of the series (I never got the courage to do so sooner). So I did some research to build a reading order and this is what I found, if you have some modification to suggest, you are welcome to do so in the commentary section of course. But first…

What are The Vampire Chronicles?

The story of The Vampire Chronicles is about Lestat de Lioncourt, a French nobleman turned into a vampire in the 18th century. Also known as The Brat Prince, Lestast is an antihero at the beginning, but he doesn’t see himself as monstrous as people might have described him.

The series chronicles the adventures of Lestat and other characters he influenced or just met. Some books are mainly about other vampires, but Lestat is the heart of the series.

Read More


How to read Hellboy, B.P.R.D. and the other series from the Mignolaverse?

As I was saying in the first blog entry post, one of my objectives is to write some huge reading orders and update them regularly because, when I start reading Hellboy, I didn’t find this kind of guide up-to-date. It was a bit disappointing for a number of reasons. The first one is that there are always new comics in this wonderful universe that are coming out every month. Even now that the regular Hellboy series has ended.

The big challenge, as every reader knows, is that there’s more than one way to go with the Mignolaverse. I’ll try to do my best to be clear, but there will always be some difficult choices to make here and there. But first…

What are Hellboy, B.P.R.D. and that Mignolaverse?

Hellboy is a character created by Mike Mignola who made his first appearance during the ’90s. He is basically a big red Demon with the Right Hand of Doom summoned from Hell to Earth by Nazi occultists. Instead of falling into the wrong hands, he was discovered by Professor Trevor Bruttenholm and the Allied forces. The good professor adopted Hellboy and formed the United States Bureau for Paranormal Research and Defense (BPRD). Even after the end of the war, the bureau fought against dark forces.

Hellboy grew up, became a BPRD agent and worked with others, not like him, but with special talents and more like the ‘fishman’ Abe Sapien and the firestarter Liz Sherman.

The Last update : july 11th, 2019.

Read More

Locke and Key Reading Order: How to read Joe Hill and Gabriel Rodriguez’s series?

Some series doesn’t require a reading order. It’s mostly the case with Locke and Key. I should say that it was mostly the case, because Joe Hill and Gabriel Rodríguez recently produced a prequel story with the promise that there will be more soon.

I decided to start now, because why wait? I’ll update this reading order with each new addition to the series.

What is Locke and Key about?

Locke and Key is a comic book series written by Joe Hill and illustrated by Gabriel Rodríguez. The main story is about the Locke family, present day. After the murder of their father, Tyler, Kinsey, and Bode Locke move with their mother Nina to the family estate of Keyhouse, located in Lovecraft, Massachusetts. The young Bode soon uncovers The Ghost Door which separates his spirit from his body. With his brother and sister they begin discovering more secrets and the keys that open more than doors. Each key brings a lot of possibilities and problems, but the real danger is outside with those who want the keys for themselves.

Read More

Page 2 of 2

Powered by WordPress & Theme by Anders Norén