Historical novel

Canadian West When Calls The Heart Books in Order

Canadian West/When Calls The Heart Books in Order: How to read Janette Oke’s series?

More than a Hallmark Channel TV Show.

What is Canadian West about?

Written by American author Janette Oke, The Canadian West series, follows a man and a woman as they stumble through foolish mistakes and misunderstandings, yet find a depth of character and courage within themselves as their love deepens.

A Christian historical fiction, the first book in the series, When Calls the Heart, has inspired the TV show of the same name on Hallmark Channel. Janette Oke has continued to expand the series with her daughter, Laurel Oke Ogan, with Return to the Canadian West and When Hope Calls.

Read More »Canadian West/When Calls The Heart Books in Order: How to read Janette Oke’s series?

John Madden Book In Order Rennie Airth

John Madden Book In Order: How to read Rennie Airth’s Series?

  • Fabien 

In the vein of Roderick Alleyn, Adam Dalgliesh & co.

Who is the Detective Inspector John Madden?

Historical crime series written by the South African novelist Rennie Airth, the John Madden series takes us back to the first half of the last century for some murder mysteries.

More precisely, the series is set in England between 1921 and 1949 and resolves around John Madden, a detective formerly of Scotland Yard, as he investigates murders—obviously.

Read More »John Madden Book In Order: How to read Rennie Airth’s Series?

The Ballantyne Books in Order

The Ballantyne Books in Order: How to read Wilbur Smith books?

  • Fabien 

By the author of The Courtney Series.

What is the Ballantyne series about?

Published since 1980 by Zambian-born author Wilbur Smith, The Ballantyne Series chronicle the lives of the Ballantyne family – like the Courtney series does. In fact, the two series are connected.

From the 1860s through until 1980s, this historical series follows the lives of the members of the Ballantyne family against the background of the history of Rhodesia (now known as Zimbabwe).

Read More »The Ballantyne Books in Order: How to read Wilbur Smith books?

Pink Carnation Books in Order

The Pink Carnation Books in Order: How to read Lauren Willig’s series?

  • Fabien 

Ready for some Napoleonic-Era spy adventures?

What is The Pink Carnation series about?

Written by bestselling author Lauren Willig, The Pink Carnation series follows a collection of Napoleonic-Era British spies as they fight for Britain and fall in love.

Everything begins with Eloise Kelly, a modern-day student who is determined to finish her dissertation on two spies, the Scarlet Pimpernel and the Purple Gentian. But what she discovers is something historians have missed: the secret history of the Pink Carnation-the most elusive spy of all time.

Read More »The Pink Carnation Books in Order: How to read Lauren Willig’s series?

Brother Cadfael Books in Order

Brother Cadfael Books in Order: How to read Ellis Peters’s Series?

  • Fabien 

For those who like Medieval Murder Mysteries, like Sister Fidelma.

Who is Brother Cadfael?

Written by Edith Mary Pargeter, using the pseudonym Ellis Peters, this classic series is about Monk who aids the law with solving murders during the Anarchy in England.

Set in the 12th century, the novels focus on a Welsh Benedictine monk living at Shrewsbury Abbey in western England. Even if Brother Cadfael spends much of his time tending the herbs and vegetables in the garden, he is the monk to look for when there’s a murder to investigate.

Read More »Brother Cadfael Books in Order: How to read Ellis Peters’s Series?

Tales of Rowan Hood Books in Order

Tales of Rowan Hood Books in Order: How to read Nancy Springer’s series?

  • Carole 

By the writer of The Enola Holmes Mysteries.

What is Tales of Rowan Hood about?

Written by American author Nancy Springer, Tales of Rowan Hood is a combination of the traditional Robin Hood legends with fantastical, pseudo-Arthurian elements.

The story centers on Rosemary, a young girl of 13 year-old age who lost her half-elf mother, burnt as a witch. She sets off to find her unknown father Robin Hood. She disguises herself as a boy named Rowan, and in her quest, befriends half-wolf Tykell, overgrown enchanting minstrel Lionel, and runaway princess Ettarde.

Read More »Tales of Rowan Hood Books in Order: How to read Nancy Springer’s series?

Sano Ichiro Books in Order

Sano Ichiro Books in Order: How to read Laura Joh Rowland’s series?

  • Fabien 

Murder in the late days of feudal Japan.

What is the Sano Ichiro series about?

Written by Laura Joh Rowland, the Sano Ichiro series is a historical mystery series that bring us in the late days of feudal Japan, mostly in Edo during the late 17th century.

The story resolves around Sano Ichiro, a samurai and private investigator for the shogun—aka the Most Honorable Investigator of Events, Situations, and People. Sometimes with the help of Reiko, Sano must often risk everything to bring to justice to the murdered in complex political situations.

Read More »Sano Ichiro Books in Order: How to read Laura Joh Rowland’s series?

The Westcott Series in Order

The Westcott Series in Order: How to read Mary Balogh’s books?

A little bit of romance during the British Regency era.

What is The Westcott Series about?

Written by prolific Welsh-Canadian novelist Mary Balogh, The Westcott Series is a historical romance series.

Set during the British Regency era, the series takes us in the lives of the Westcott family. Everything starts when Humphrey Wescott, Earl of Riverdale, died. He leaves behind a fortune and a scandalous secret that will forever alter the lives of his family.

Read More »The Westcott Series in Order: How to read Mary Balogh’s books?