Stuart MacBride Books in Order

Stuart MacBride Books in Order (Logan McRae, Ash Henderson)

  • Fabien 

All of Stuart MacBride’s Books!

Who is Stuart MacBride?

Stuart MacBride is a Scottish writer raised in the “Granite City” of Aberdeen where the Logan McRae series is set, a “Tartan Noir” series in the vein of Ian Rankin and Val McDermid’s work.

In addition to the Logan McRae series, Stuart MacBride has also written the Ash Henderson series, a dark crime series set in a fictitious town of Oldcastle, but also standalone novels and short stories.

Read More »Stuart MacBride Books in Order (Logan McRae, Ash Henderson)

Joe Abercrombie Books in Order

Joe Abercrombie Books in Order (The Blade Itself, The Trouble With Peace, The Wisdom of Crowds)

  • Carole 

All of the Books!

Who is Joe Abercrombie?

Joseph Edward Abercrombie is a British fantasy writer born in Lancaster. He studied psychology and worked at a television company making tea before taking up a career as a freelance film editor. It’s during that time that Joe Abercrombie thought again about writing — he tried while at University but it didn’t go well. This time, he found his voice, a less serious but bloody violent voice, and finish writing his first novel, The Blade Itself, published in 2006 by Gollancz. Most of his books are set in the same universe, known as The First Law world.

Joe Abercrombie has been nominated for a number of times for a Locus Award, Gemmell Award, and British Fantasy Ward and won the Locus Award twice, for Half a King and the novelette Tough Time All Over in 2014.

Joe now lives in Bath with his wife, Lou, his daughters Grace and Eve, and his son Teddy and spends most of his time writing.

Read More »Joe Abercrombie Books in Order (The Blade Itself, The Trouble With Peace, The Wisdom of Crowds)

Jackman and Evans Books in Order

Jackman and Evans Books in Order: How to read Joy Ellis’s Series?

  • Fabien 

By the author of the Nikki Galena series.

Who are Jackman and Evans?

The Jackman and Evans series is written by Joy Ellis is an English crime writer who’s also the author of the DI Nikki Galena series, and the Detective Matt Ballard series.

This crime thriller series is taking us to the Lincolnshire Fens to follow DI Rowan Jackman and DS Marie Evans as they investigate—with their team—murder mysteries and track serial killers.

Read More »Jackman and Evans Books in Order: How to read Joy Ellis’s Series?

Dennis Lehane Books in Order

Dennis Lehane Books in Order (Shutter Island, Mystic River, Since We Fell)

  • Carole 

All of the Books!

Who is Dennis Lehane?

Dennis Lehane is an American Novelist and screenwriter. Born in 1965 in Boston, Massachusetts, I lived in the area of Boston most of his life, where he sets the action of most of his books. He published his first book in 1995, A Drink Before the War, the first in the Kenzie and Gennaro series. Since he became a famous writer, Lehane has taught fiction writing at several colleges.

Several of his novels have been adapted into movies: Mystic River (2003), Gone Baby Gone (2007), Shutter Island (2010), and Live by Night (2016). Lehane himself has also a film and TV career, as being part of the writing staff on The Wire. He has also been a writer and creative consultant on Boardwalk Empire, and a writer and consulting producer on Mr. Mercedes. Lehane also wrote the screenplay for the movie The Drop, based on his own short story “Animal Rescue”.

Read More »Dennis Lehane Books in Order (Shutter Island, Mystic River, Since We Fell)

Karen Rose Books in Order

Karen Rose Books in Order

  • Fabien 

All of Karen Rose’s Books!

Who is Karen Rose?

Karen Rose is a bestselling award-winning romantic suspense author from Baltimore, Maryland. She used to work as a chemical engineer for a large consumer goods company and started writing for fun.

Her debut suspense novel was published in July 2003 and wrote since then more than fifteen novels. Even if Rose’s books are set in different US states, they are connected with characters from previous novels who make appearances.

Read More »Karen Rose Books in Order

Frank Nolan Books in Order by Max Allan Collins

Nolan Books in Order: How to read Max Allan Collins’s series?

A Buddy Crime Story by the writer of Quarry.

Who is Nolan?

Nolan (first name unknown) is the protagonist of the hard-boiled mystery series by American author Max Allan Collins. Originally written as a tribute to Richard Stark’s Parker, the series evolved to become a Buddy crime story where semi-retired mobster Nolan is paired with Jon, a twenty-something collector of comic books dreaming of becoming a comic book artist. But life happens, and it didn’t quite work out that way.

Nolan made his debut in 1973, with the novel Bait Money, and Collins continued to publish books featuring the characters during all the 80s. After that, we had to wait until 1999 for another Nolan book, and again, until 2020 with the last to date Nolan crime story.

Read More »Nolan Books in Order: How to read Max Allan Collins’s series?

Johnny Dixon Books in Order

Johnny Dixon Books in Order: How to read John Bellair’s series?

  • Carole 

From the writer of The House with a Clock in Its Walls.

Who is Johnny Dixon?

Johnny Dixon is the young hero of twelve children’s gothic horror novels, written by John Bellairs, then by his successor Brad Strickland.

Set in the early 1950s, the series relates the story of Johnny Dixon, a young boy whose mother died of cancer and whose father is a fighter pilot in the United States Air Force during the Korean War. So Johnny is sent to live with his paternal grandparents in fictional Duston Heights, Massachusetts. There, he becomes best friend with eccentric history professor Roderick Childermass, and both of them, with their group of friends, will fight evil forces.

Read More »Johnny Dixon Books in Order: How to read John Bellair’s series?

Denzil Meyrick Books in Order

Denzil Meyrick Books in Order: How to read the DCI Jim Daley series?

  • Fabien 

Some Scottish Mysteries.

Who is Denzil Meyrick?

A former police officer with Strathclyde Police and a manager with Springbank Distillery in Campbeltown, Argyll, Denzil Meyrick is now a Scottish bestselling novelist. 

Since 2012, he is writing the DCI Daley series. Set in the fictitious town of Kinloch (modeled on Campbeltown), the series is about the criminal investigations led by D.C.I. Jim Daley. Meyrick also wrote other Tales from Kinloch and recently published the standalone thriller “Terms of Restitution”.

Read More »Denzil Meyrick Books in Order: How to read the DCI Jim Daley series?