A reading guide to comics and books

Author: Carole Page 2 of 7

Hannibal Lecter Books in Order

Hannibal Lecter Books in Order: How to read Thomas Harris’ series?

Eat the Rich!

Who is Hannibal Lecter?

Created by American writer Thomas Harris, Hannibal Lecter is the most famous cannibal in literature. A respected Baltimore forensic psychiatrist, Hannibal consults with the FBI to assist them in finding other serial killers before being exposed as a cannibalistic serial killer.

If Hannibal is one of the most iconic pop culture characters, it is thanks to multiple adaptations of Thomas Harris’s works. The character has been portrayed by Brian Cox (Manhunter), Anthony Hopkins (The Silence of the Lambs, Hannibal, Red Dragon), Gaspard Ulliel and Aaran Thomas (Hannibal Rising) and Mads Mikkelsen (Hannibal, the TV series).

Serenity Firefly Reading Order

Serenity/Firefly Reading Order: How to read/watch Joss Whedon’s series?

Meet the most spaced-out crew in the galaxy.

What is Firefly about?

Firefly is an American space Western media franchise created by Joss Whedon. It includes the TV series Firefly, the film Serenity, some novels and multiples comic books.

The series is set in the year 2517, after the arrival of humans in a new star system , and follows the adventures of the renegade crew of Serenity, a “Firefly-class” spaceship. In this future, the only two surviving superpowers, the United States and China, fused to form the central federal government, called the Alliance, resulting in the fusion of the two cultures.

The Keys to the Kingdom Books in Order

The Keys to the Kingdom Books in Order: How to read Garth Nix’s fantasy-adventure series?

Welcome to the Center of the Universe.

What is The Keys to the Kingdom about?

Written by Australian fantasy author Garth Nix, specialized in children’s and young adult fantasy novels, The Keys to the Kingdom chronicles the adventures of Arthur Penhaligon, an asthmatic 12-year-old boy who is chosen to become the Rightful Heir of the House, the center of the universe.

Arthur must now attempt to defeat the Morrow Days, the criminal Trustees of the House. The series takes place over a span of three weeks. Time moves at different speeds at different locations in the series.

Hellmouth Reading Order

Buffy the Vampire Slayer/Angel: Hellmouth Reading Order: How to read the Buffy/Angel Boom Studios’ event?

Last Updated on

As explained in the Buffyverse Comics Reading Order, Dark Horse Comics’s Buffy the Vampire Slayer license expired at the end of 2018, and the license is now in the hands of BOOM! Studios who relaunched the series in 2019 and followed 3 months later with an Angel title. The publisher didn’t lose time and offered the first cross-over event, Hellmouth.

What is the Hellmouth event about?

Written by Jordie Bellaire and Jeremy Lambert and illustrated by Eleonora Carlini and Marco Renna, Hellmouth is a miniseries of the crossover event tying into the Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Angel comic book series.

As Boom Studios explain to us, Buffy and her Scooby Gang will have to muster all their strength as they deal with an open Hellmouth that threatens the lives of everyone they love in Sunnydale. Meanwhile, Angel, the vampire cursed with a soul, arrives in town to find his redemption by doing whatever it takes to close the Hellmouth… and no human, demon, or Slayer will stand in his way.


Lacey Flint Books in Order: How to read Sharon J. Bolton’s mystery series?

A female detective constable with London’s Metropolitan police.

Who is Lacey Flint?

Lacey Flint is the heroine of the police procedural novels written by English author Sharon Bolton. She is a female detective constable with London’s Metropolitan police with a suspicious past.

Lacey Flint is a practical person, who has no difficulty defying orders to achieve the results she is looking for. She’s ready to go undercover to find out the deepest and darkest secrets London has to offer, with a tendency to unintentionally become involved with serial killer cases.

Amulet Books in Order

Amulet Books in Order: How to read Kazu Kibuishi’s graphic novel series?

Two ordinary children are on a life-or-death mission in a world of terrible, man-eating demons, a mechanical rabbit, and a giant robot.

What is Amulet about?

Illustrated and written by Kazu Kibuishi, Amulet is an American graphic novel series. The story follows the adventures of Emily, a young girl who discovers a magical amulet in her great-grandfather’s house.

After their father’s death, Emily and her younger brother Navin move into their great-grandfather’s country house outside a town called Norlen. The children soon find themselves battling for the freedom of a parallel world and face mounting dangers with newfound friends.

Dexter Books in Order

Dexter Books in Order: How to read Jeff Lindsay’s series?

Maybe the most famous fictional serial killer, after Hannibal.

Who is Dexter?

Dexter is the creation of american crime novelist Jeff Lindsay, made famous thanks to Showtime television series of the same name, where he is portrayed by Michael C. Hall.

Dexter Morgan is a forensic blood spatter analyst for the Miami-Dade Police Department by day, and a serial killer by day. Convinced the legal system failed to stop murderers, rapists and other criminals, Dexter takes justice in his own ends, and kill them.

Seven Realms/Shattered Realms Books in Order:

Seven Realms/Shattered Realms Books in Order: How to read Cinda Williams Chima’s high fantasy series?

Enter the Seven Realms…

What is Seven Realms/Shattered Realms about?

Written by the American author Cinda Williams Chima, The Seven Realms is a  four books high fantasy series set in the Queendom of the Fells – a world of medieval technology, swordplay, castles, and keeps. The story follows Han Alister, a thief-turned-wizard who joins forces with Princess Raisa ana’Marianna to defend her right to the Gray Wolf Throne.

The sequel series, titled Shattered Realms, takes place in the same world, but a generation after the events of The Seven Realms and follows the progeny of many of the characters in the original series.

The Old Kingdom Books in Order

The Old Kingdom Books in Order: How to read Garth Nix’s series?

Enter the Old Kingdom, where only the Abhorsen can keep the Abhorson can keep the living safe from the dead…

What is The Old Kingdom about?

Written by Australian author Garth Nix, The Old Kingdom is a young adult fantasy-horror series that takes place in a world where the line between the living and the dead isn’t always clear—and sometimes disappears altogether.

The Old Kingdom is where Free magic and Charter Magic exist, where you can find dangerous entities, ranging from the undead to powerful sorcerers and Free Magic elementals. Close to the Old Kingdom stand Ancelstierre, an unmagical country which has a technology level and society similar to that of early-20th century  Australia.

Temeraire Books in Order

Temeraire Books in Order: How to read Naomi Novik’s series?

Discover the Aerial Corps of Dragons during the Napoleonic Wars.

What is Temeraire about?

Written by American author Naomi Novik, the Temeraire series is a reimagining of the epic events of the Napoleonic Wars with an air force—an air force of dragons, manned by crews of aviators.

The story follows Capt. Will Laurence, who is serving with honor in the British Navy when his ship captures a French frigate harboring most a unusual cargo–an incalculably valuable dragon egg. When the egg hatches, Laurence unexpectedly becomes the master of the young dragon Temeraire and finds himself on an extraordinary journey that will shatter his orderly, respectable life and alter the course of his nation’s history.

Page 2 of 7

Powered by WordPress & Theme by Anders Norén