A reading guide to comics and books

Author: Fabien Page 2 of 44

Den of Shadows Books in Order

Den of Shadows Books in Order: How to read Amelia Atwater-Rhodes’s fantasy series?

By the author of the Kiesha’ra series.

What is the Den of Shadows series about?

Den of Shadows is a fantasy series written by American author Amelia Atwater-Rhodes set in the word of the Kiesha’ra series (in fact, the series is taking place before the Kiesha’ra).

As the author described it, Den of Shadows is set in a world that is similar to ours, but rich with magic (for good or ill). Complex civilizations of vampires, shapeshifters and witches live alongside humans- sometimes hiding, sometimes peacefully intermingling, and occasionally striving to dominate all those they consider their prey.

October "Toby" Daye Books in Order

October Daye Books in Order: How to read Seanan McGuire’s Series?

Stuck between two worlds…

Who is October Daye?

Written by American author Seanan McGuire, this October Daye series is an urban fantasy series in which the world of Faerie never disappeared, it continues to exist parallel to our own.

To survive, the faeries rely on secrecy, but no secret can be kept forever. When the Fae and mortal worlds collide, changelings are born. That’s how October “Toby” Daye, the daughter of Amandine of the Fae and a mortal man, was born, between two worlds. She hoped to leave the Fae world behind her, but things didn’t turn out like that. She has to work for her liege, Sylvester, the Duke of the Shadowed Hills, and prevents the worst that could happen to the Fae and the Mortal worlds.

Saga of the Skolian Empire Books in Order

Saga of the Skolian Empire Books in Order: How to read Catherine Asaro’s sci-fi series?

The Final Frontier of an Empire.

What is the Saga of the Skolian Empire about?

From American science fiction and fantasy author Catherine Asaro, the Saga of the Skolian Empire is an epic space series mixing elements of romance with hard science fiction.

As the title suggests is, the Saga of the Skolian Empire is about characters from the interstellar Skolian Empire. They are caught in a multigenerational power struggle with the rival Eubian Concord. Political intrigues, science, romance, and military conflict are at the center of their world, affected by supraluminal space travel.

The Queen's Thief Books in Order

The Queen’s Thief Books in Order: How to read Megan Whalen Turner’s series?

A little theft in a Fantasy World…

What is The Queen’s Thief about?

From American author Megan Whalen Turner, The Queen’s Thief is a fantasy series for young adults in six volumes.

Set in a world rich with political machinations and intrigue, battles, dangerous journeys, divine intervention, power, passion, revenge, and deception, The Queen’s Thief series resolves around the adventures of the incorrigible Eugenides, a thief. He says he can steal everything, and he will have to prove it if he wants to survive.

Naomi Blake Books in Order

Naomi Blake Books in Order: How to read Jane A. Adams’s series?

Not the British sculptor, but the blind investigator.

Who is Naomi Blake?

The Noami Blake series is a mystery series from British psychological thrillers writer Jane Adams.

The story resolves around the investigations led by Noami Blake who was blinded in an accident and she now is a reluctant ex-policewoman. That doesn’t stop her from working cases with DI Alec Friedman.

Gourmet Detective Books in Order

Gourmet Detective Books in Order: How to read Peter King’s Series?

Diner with a side of murder.

What is the Gourmet Detective about?

Written by Peter King, the Gourmet Detective book series is also a Hallmark TV show about a Chef who’s also a detective.

As the official description tells it: They call him the gourmet detective; the only thing sharper than his mind is his palate. When chefs need a rare ingredient, an ancient wine, or simply a new idea to gain that extra Michelin-star boost, they come to the detective’s cozy London office and plead for his help. For top-notch cooking, he is always happy to lend his taste buds to the cause.

Sisterhood Books in Order Fern Michaels

The Sisterhood Books in Order: How to read Fern Michaels’s series?

Vengeance is a Sisterhood affair.

What is the Sisterhood series about?

Written by the prolific American author Fern Michaels, the Sisterhood series is about friendship and justice, but not the conventional one.

In fact, the Sisterhood is a group of women from all walks of life bound by a quest for justice. Using their own resources, expertise, and a network of allies around the globe, the members of the Sisterhood work to make every wrong right, especially when the victims are women.

X-Men: X of Swords Reading Order

X of Swords Reading Order: How to read Jonathan Hickman’s X-Men crossover of 2020?

Just the crossover, the full Hickman’s X-Men Reading Order is here.

What is X of Swords about?

The biggest X-Men crossover in recent memory is coming, from September to November 2020. The Mutant nation of Krakoa faces its biggest challenge yet as their champions draw swords to defend the Earth.

X of Swords is taking place in the continuity of Jonathan Hickman’s grand X-Men story which in the series House Of X/Powers Of X. The event is written by Hickman and Tini Howard, but also Gerry Duggan, Benjamin Percy, Ed Brisson, Zeb Wells, Leah Williams, and Vita Ayala. The stories are illustrated by Leinil Francis Yu, Carmen Carnero, Pepe Larraz, Stefano Caselli, Joshua Cassara, Mahmud Asrar, Phil Noto, and more.

Mrs Murphy Books in Order

Mrs. Murphy Books in Order: How to read Rita Mae Brown’s series?

The Feline Detective…

Who is Mrs. Murphy?

A detective series with a twist, The Mrs. Murphy Mysteries are written by American writer Rita Mae Brown with the help of “Sneaky Pie Brown,” her cat.

The story takes us to Crozet, Virginia, where Mary Minor “Harry” Haristeen is the thirty-something post-mistress. She catches killers with the help of her irrepressible crime-solving tiger cat, Mrs. Murphy. Well, it really more Mrs. Murphy who solves murder mysteries, utilizing her feline genius and the help of her favorite human, and her friends, fat-cat Pewter and corgi Tee Tucker. Together, they uncover clues and take down cold-blooded killers.

Bailey Ruth Books in Order

Bailey Ruth Raeburn Books in Order: How to read Carolyn G. Hart’s Series?

By the author of the Death on Demand series.

Who is Bailey Ruth?

Written by American mystery author Carolyn G. Hart, the Bailey Ruth Raeburn is a cozy mystery series with a supernatural twist.

For Bailey Ruth Raeburn, dying was not the end. In fact, she will continue her sleuthing for eternity, joining the ranks of Heaven’s Department of Good Intentions. As a ghost, she uses her unique advantages to help those in need, solving mysteries.

Page 2 of 44

Powered by WordPress & Theme by Anders Norén