11 Victorian Mystery Book Series, From Sherlock Holmes to Lady Emily

Disclaimer: As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. Thanks!

Following our list of mystery book series featuring members of the clergy, we are turning our attention to another mystery subgenre, one that takes us back to the Victorian era.

For those unfamiliar with what the Victorian era encompasses, it refers to the period of Queen Victoria’s reign in the United Kingdom that spans from 1837 to 1901. During that time, few detectives emerged in the literary realm, but a lot of modern writers, fascinated by that era, set their historical mystery series during those decades.

Here is our Selection of Victorian Mystery Book Series

Sherlock Holmes Books in Order

The Sherlock Holmes Series by Arthur Conan Doyle – Published during the last part of the Victorian era (and it went beyond it), the Sherlock Holmes stories are the most essential readings in the genre. The exceptional detective and his partner, friend, and biographer Dr. John H. Watson, solved a lot of now-classic mysteries, to the point that writing an introduction is not necessary.

The William Monk Series by Anne Perry – After a coach accident in 1856, wakes up with amnesia and must reconstruct his life and career. He soon lost his post as a policeman and became a private investigator, working with Hester Latterly, a Crimean War nurse, and Sir Oliver Rathbone to solve crimes.

The Lady Julia Grey Series by Deanna Raybourn – A spirited and unconventional aristocrat, Lady Julia Grey became a widow after the sudden death of her husband. When she realized that his death was not natural, she entered the world of Nicholas Brisbane, a private inquiry agent. As the series progresses, they become embroiled in various murder investigations.

The Thomas and Charlotte Pitt Series by Anne Perry – Thomas Pitt is a police inspector in Victorian London with a working-class background who is quite willing to investigate the upper classes. His wife Charlotte is from an upper-class family and likes to use her connections to the landed gentry and aristocracy to help her husband solve murder investigations.

The Lady Emily Series by Tasha Alexander – An eccentric sleuth, Lady Emily moves in the most exclusive circles of London as even the aristocracy is not immune to burglary, betrayals, and brutal murders. Wherever she goes, there are always mysteries to solve for Lady Emily.

The Barker and Llewelyn Series by Will Thomas – During the 1880s in London, highly skilled and enigmatic Private Enquiry Agent Cyrus Barker and his assistant Llewelyn investigate dark and violent murder mysteries or complex conspiracies, often involving historical and political elements of the time.

Inspector Robert Colbeck Books in Order

The Frey and McGray Series by Oscar de Muriel – Set in late 19th-century Scotland, the series follows disgraced London skeptic Inspector Ian Frey and Detective “Nine-Nails” McGray as they solve crimes in a Gothic and atmospheric Victorian setting. The novels blend elements of traditional detective fiction with a touch of the supernatural.

Charles Lenox Books Series by Charles Finch – Charles Lenox is an amateur detective and gentleman sleuth who investigates a variety of crimes and mysteries in 19th-century London, from murder investigations to thefts and political intrigues.

The Railway Detective Series by Edward Marston – Set in the 1850s, this series follows Detective Inspector Robert Colbeck and his assistant Sergeant Victor Leeming’s investigations for the Metropolitan Railway Police in London. The cases range from thefts and sabotage to murder, as the expansion of the railways facilitated both progress and criminal activity, providing a unique setting for the mysteries.

The Murdoch Mysteries Series by Maureen Jennings – A series inspired by John Wilson Murray who became Ontario’s first government detective in 1875, the series focuses on Detective William Murdoch, a man of strong principles, who uses his unique abilities to solve crimes, sometimes using advanced science for his time. With the help of Constable George Crabtree, Murdoch investigates murder mysteries at the end of the 1890s.

The DI Tom Harper Series by Chris Nickson – Set in late 19th-century Leeds, England, the series follows Detective Inspector Tom Harper as he investigates various crimes in the rapidly industrializing and socially complex city fueled by the textile industry.

With more than a thousand articles published on HowToRead.Me, it is clear that navigating through the different reading orders is becoming a bit arduous. To try to help, why not try to sort the series by genre (or sub-genres)? This will take some time, but if you want to ask for a particular list, leave a comment.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *