Skip to content

Tommy and Tuppence Beresford Books in Order: How to read Agatha Christie’s series?

Affiliate disclosure: As an Amazon Associate, we may earn commissions from qualifying purchases from Amazon.

Tommy and Tuppence are Agatha Christie’s Partners in Crime.

What is the Tommy and Tuppence Beresford series about?

Hercule Poirot and Miss Marple are the two most famous fictional detectives of Dame Agatha Christie (here is the full Agatha Christie reading order). But she’s also behind Tommy and Tuppence Beresford, a couple of Secret agents/Private detectives in search of adventure and money.

Tuppence stands out because of her irresistible appeal, impulsiveness, and natural insight. She is the most intelligent of the two. Tommy, on the other hand, maybe lacking in creativity, but there is no denying his relentless dedication to addressing reality.

Tommy and Tuppence grew older as time went on, departing from the standard Christie detective stereotype. They first appeared in public as a young couple in the 1920s, and they made their final public appearance after successfully raising three children together in the 1970s.

How to read the Tommy and Tuppence Beresford Books in Order?

You are not required to read the Tommy and Tuppence Beresford books in sequence. In fact, each one stands alone so you can just pick one up and read it.

  1. The Secret Adversary — Tommy and Tuppence, two young people low on cash but craving adventure, start a risky company called Young Adventurers Ltd. They are ‘ready to do anything, travel anywhere,’ according to their advertising. However, their first task, for the evil Mr. Whittington, puts them in greater peril than they could have ever anticipated.
  2. Partners in Crime (short story collection) — The opportunity to take over Blunt’s International Detective Agency was presented to Tommy and Tuppence Beresford, who jumped at the offer since they were itching for adventure. Following their successful recovery of a pink pearl, they were presented with other fascinating cases, including a stabbing on the Sunningdale golf course, mysterious comments in newspaper personal sections, and even a package of poisoned chocolates.
  3. N or M? — In the midst of World War II, as the RAF fights to stave off the Luftwaffe, Nazis acting as regular people present an even graver threat to Britain. The intelligence service recruits Tommy and Tuppence Beresford as two unexpected spies as demand mounts. Their objective was to locate a guy and a lady among the diverse visitors to the coastal hotel Sans Souci. But this task is hardly a leisurely stroll down the beach. After all, N and M just killed the best agent working for Britain.
  1. By the Pricking of My Thumbs — A senior citizen talking about a child buried under the fireplace at a nursing home The elderly aunt Tommy and Tuppence visited at her Gothic nursing home had a distrust of the physicians, but they didn’t think anything of it because Ada was a very difficult older woman. However, when Mrs. Lancaster spoke of “something behind the fireplace” and Mrs. Lockett recalled a poisoned mushroom stew, Tommy and Tuppence found themselves involved in an unanticipated journey that may have involved black magic.
  2. Postern of Fate — A historic home in a hamlet in England has recently been proudly acquired by Tommy and Tuppence Beresford. Along with the land, they also received a collection of old books and other useless trinkets. A copy of The Black Arrow is being thumbed through by Tuppence when she notices a string of underlinings that appear to be completely random. But when she records the letters, they reveal a very unsettling message: M a r y – J o r d a n – d i d – n o t – d i e – n a t u r a l l y… And Mary Jordan’s assailants remain willing to kill sixty years after their first murder.

If you like our article about the Tommy and Tuppence Beresford series in order, don’t forget to bookmark it! You may also be interested in Charlotte and Thomas Pitt, The Peter Decker and Rina Lazarus SeriesThis article was last updated on September 26, 2023.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *