The World of Mortal Engines Books in Order: How to read Philip Reeve’s young adult fantasy series?

Disclaimer: As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. Thanks!

A post-apocalyptic world where entire cities have been mounted on wheels and motorised.

What is The World of Mortal Engines series about?

The World of Mortal Engines is a series of epic young adult fantasy novels by the British novelist and illustrator Philip Reeve, consisted of two series, a short story collection and a guide.

Set thousands of years in the future at a time known as the Traction Era, Mortal Engines tells the story of two young adventurers on a desolate planet Earth where moving cities roam for resources, eating each other. The first book has been adapted into a movie in 2009.

How to read The World of Mortal Engines Books in Order?

Reading The World of Mortal Engines Books in Publication Order:

Like it is usually the case, the author thinks it’s best to read the books in the order they were written.

I. Mortal Engines Quartet

Mortal Engines Book 1 - The World of Mortal Engines Books in Order Predator's Gold Mortal Engines Book 2 - The World of Mortal Engines Books in Order Infernal Devices Mortal Engines Book 3 - The World of Mortal Engines Books in Order A Darkling Plain Mortal Engines Book 4 - The World of Mortal Engines Books in Order

  1. Mortal Engines – London is hunting again. Emerging from its hiding place in the hills, the great Traction City is chasing a terrified little town across the wastelands. Soon London will feed. In the attack, Tom Natsworthy is flung from the speeding city with a murderous scar-faced girl. They must run for their lives through the wreckage — and face a terrifying new weapon that threatens the future of the world.
  2. Predator’s Gold – With the great Traction City of London completely destroyed, Tom Natsworthy and Hester Shaw travel across the world, trading with other airships and adventuring on the exciting and exotic routes of the Bird Roads. When their little scrapyard aircraft is pursued by rocket-firing gunships, the ice city of Anchorage offers them sanctuary. But as Tom and Hester soon discover, it is no safe refuge.
  3. Infernal Devices – The mighty engines of Anchorage have been rusted and dead for years. Tom Natsworthy and Hester Shaw are happy in the safety of a static settlement, but their daughter, Wren, is desperate for adventure. When a dangerously charming submarine pirate offers her a chance to escape, Wren doesn’t think twice. But the pirate wants something in return — Wren must steal the mysterious Tin Book. To do so will ignite a conflict that could tear the whole world apart.
  4. A Darkling Plain – London is a radioactive ruin. Tom and Wren discover that the old predator city hides an awesome secret that could bring an end to the war. But as they risk their lives in its dark underbelly, time is running out. Alone and far away, Hester faces a fanatical enemy who possesses the weapons and the will to destroy the entire human race.

II. Fever Crumb Trilogy

Fever Crumb Trilogy Book 1 - The World of Mortal Engines Books in Order A Web of Air Fever Crumb Trilogy Book 2 - The World of Mortal Engines Books in Order Scrivener's Moon Fever Crumb Triology Book 3 The World of Mortal Engines Books in Order

  1. Fever Crumb – Long before the days of Mortal Engines, London is poised on the brink of apocalypse. Huge armoured fortresses are advancing across the wastelands – a new and terrifying kind of enemy. The city is days away from ruin. Buried in London’s past is a secret that may save it. But only one key can unlock it – an odd-looking orphan named Fever Crumb.
  2. A Web of Air – In a faraway corner of a ruined world, a mysterious boy is building a flying machine, aided in his research by birds who can talk. Then, into the extraordinary crater city of Mayda, where buildings ascend the cliffs on funicular rails, comes a refugee: a beautiful, brilliant, half-human engineer called Fever Crumb. Fever is just the engineer that Arlo needs to get his invention off the ground. But ruthless enemies stalk them, who will kill to possess their secrets – either to steal their revolutionary machine, or to destroy the secrets of flight forever.
  3. Scrivener’s Moon – Nomad tribes are preparing to fight a terrifying enemy – the first-ever mobile city. Before London can launch itself, young engineer Fever Crumb must journey to the wastelands of the North. She seeks the ancient birthplace of the Scriven mutants. In the chaotic weeks before battle begins, Fever finds a mysterious black pyramid. The extraordinary secrets it contains will change her world forever.

III. Companion books

Night Flights Mortal Engines 5 - The World of Mortal Engines Books in Order Illustrated World Of Mortal Engines - The World of Mortal Engines Books in Order

Reading The World of Mortal Engines Books in Chronological Order:

Mortal Engines 8 Book Collection The World of Mortal Engines Books in Order

  1. Fever Crumb
  2. A Web of Air
  3. Scrivener’s Moon
  4. Night Flights
  5. Mortal Engines
  6. Predator’s Gold
  7. Infernal Devices
  8. A Darkling Plain

If you like Mortal Engines, you may also want to check out Philip Pullman’s His Dark Materials, or our guide to the Ember series by Jeanne DuPrau. Don’t hesitate to follow us on Twitter or Facebook to discover more book series.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *