Skip to content

The Belgariad Books in Order: How to read David Eddings’s Fantasy series?

Affiliate disclosure: As an Amazon Associate, we may earn commissions from qualifying purchases from Amazon.

A Fantasy Classic.

What is the Belgariad series about?

Written by American author David Eddings, The Belgariad is a fantasy series about  men, Kings, Sorcerers, and Gods who are caught up in the culmination of the seven-thousand-year war between two opposing destinies to determine the fate of all creation.

It all began with the theft of the Orb that protected the West from the evil God Torak. Before that, Garion had been a simple farm boy. Afterward, he discovered he is a sorcerer, a pawn caught in a prophecy, with the fate of the world  resting on him.

How to read The Belgariad Books in Order?

The series is composed of two main series and two prequel books.

I. The Belgariad

Pawn Of Prophecy The Belgariad Books in Order Queen of Sorcery The Belgariad Books in Order Magician's Gambit The Belgariad Books in Order

  1. Pawn of Prophecy – Long ago, so the Storyteller claimed, the evil God Torak sought dominion and drove men and Gods to war. But Belgarath the Sorcerer led men to reclaim the Orb that protected men of the West. So long as it lay at Riva, the prophecy went, men would be safe. But that was only a story. Brought up on a quiet farm by his Aunt Pol, how could Garion know that the Apostate planned to wake dread Torak, or that he would be led on a quest of unparalleled magic and danger by those he loved—but did not know?
  2. Queen of Sorcery – The master Sorcerer Belgarath and his daughter Polgara the arch-Sorceress were on the trail of the Orb, seeking to regain it before the final disaster. And with them went Garion, a simple farm boy only months before, but now the focus of the struggle. He had never believed in sorcery and wanted no part of it. Yet with every league they traveled, the power grew in him, forcing him to acts of wizardry he could not accept.
  3. Magician’s Gambit – Ce’Nedra, Imperial Princess of Tolnedra, was confused. Everyone knows the tales of the Orb protecting the West from the evil God Torak are just silly legends. But here she is, forced to join a dangerous quest to recover that stolen Orb.

Castle of Wizardry The Belgariad Books in Order Enchanters' End Game The Belgariad Books in Order

  1. Castle of Wizardry – At last, the Orb has been regained, and the quest nears it end. Of course, the questors must still escape from a crumbling enemy fortress, flee across a desert filled with Murgo soldiers, avoid the Grolim Hierarchs seeking to destroy them with dark magic, After that, Garion feels assured, his part would be finished. But the Prophesy still holds several surprises for Garion, and for the Imperial Princess Ce’Nedra.
  2. Enchanters’ End Game – The quest was over. The Orb of Aldur was restored. And yet the the Prophecy was unfulfilled. In the east, the evil God Torak was about to awaken and seek dominion. Somehow, Garion had to face the God, to kill or be killed. On the outcome of that dread duel rested the destiny of the world.

II. The Malloreon

Guardians of the West The Belgariad Books in Order King of the Murgos The Belgariad Books in Order Demon Lord of Karanda The Belgariad Books in Order

  1. Guardians of the West – Eleven years passed. Then suddenly the Voice of Prophecy cried out a warning: “Beware Zandramas!” Not even Belgarath the Sorcerer knew who or what Zandramas was. But Garion discovered hints in a previously obscured part of the Mrin Codex. Worse, he learned that the Dark Prophecy was still waging its ancient struggle against the Prophecy of Light. Again, a great evil was brewing in the East.
  2. King of the Murgos – The infant son of Garion and Ce’Ndra had been foully kidnapped. Now they began the great quest to rescue the child, with the immortal Begarath the Sorcerer, his daughter Polgara the Sorceress, and inevitably the little Drasnian, Silk.
  3. Demon Lord of Karanda – Zandramas stole King Garion’s infant son and fled, planning to use the child in a ritual that would make the Dark Destiny supreme. Garion and his friends followed, but now they were captives of Zakath, Emperor of Mallorea.

Sorceress of Darshiva The Belgariad Books in Order The Seeress of Kell The Belgariad Books in Order

  1. Sorceress of Darshiva – Always one step ahead, taunting and spying on Garion and his party in the form of a great flying dragon, Zandramas races to beat them to the “Place Which is No More.” Desperate to arrive at the ancient ritual site at the same time, or face disaster, Garion and his friends must defend themselves against Zandramas’ armies, lead by the Demon Lord on one side of them, and forces of Emperor Zakath on the other side.
  2. The Seeress of Kell – Time was running out for Garion and his companions in their quest to recover Garion’s infant son and heir. If they could not locate the Place which Is No More, then Zandramas, the Child of Dark, would use Garion’s son in a rite that would raise the Dark Prophecy to eternal domination over the universe.

Prequels to The Belgariad & The Malloreon

Belgarath the Sorcerer The Belgariad Books in Order Polgara the Sorceress The Belgariad Books in Order

  1. Belgarath the Sorcerer – When the world was young and Gods still walked among their mortal children, a headstrong orphan boy set out to explore the world. Thus began the extraordinary adventures that would mold that youthful vagabond into a man, and the man into the finely honed instrument of Prophecy known to all the world as Belgarath the Sorcerer.
  2. Polgara the Sorceress – She soars above a world of warriors, kings, and priests. The daughter of Belgarath and the shape-shifter Poledra, she has fought wars, plotted palace coups, and worked her powerful magic for three thousand years. Now, Polgara looks back at her magnificent life, in this fitting crown jewel to the saga that is the Eddings’ Belgariad and Mallorean cycles.

If you like The Belgariad, you may also want to see our Riftwar Cycle reading order, or our guide to Robert Jordan’s The Wheel of Time series. Don’t hesitate to follow us on Twitter or Facebook to discover more book series.This article was last updated on January 7, 2022.

5 thoughts on “The Belgariad Books in Order: How to read David Eddings’s Fantasy series?”

  1. Greatest series of books I have ever read. Gives J.R R Tolkien a run for its money. Would be a great series to have a movie done over it. I couldn’t put down the first 3 books. Hughly recommend this series for anyone into fantasy reading

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *