Terry Goodkind Books in Order (Sword of Truth, Nicci Chronicles, Children of D’Hara)

Disclaimer: As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. Thanks!

All of Terry Goodkind’s Books in Order!

Who was Terry Goodkind?

Terry Lee Goodkind (1948 – 2020) was an American fantasy writer known for his epic series The Sword of Truth. He grew up in Omaha, Nebraska, where he also attended art school. Because he suffered from dyslexia, he wasn’t interested in school and writing at the time and stopped his education after high school. He worked as a cabinet maker and violin maker, and as a marine and a wildlife artist, selling paintings.

It was during the construction of his own home in Maine that he began to write was would become the first book in The Sword of Truth series in 1993. Then he found his calling and knew he wanted to dedicate his life to writing. His work has been influenced by Ayn Rand and the Objectivist philosophy.

His books have sold more than 25 million copied and have been translated into more than 20 languages. The Sword of Truth has also been adapted for television in a series called Legend of The Seeker, which lasted two seasons.

How to read Terry Goodkind’s Books in Order?

The Sword of Truth World

For more details, go to The Sword of Truth reading order.

The Sword of Truth, The Main Series

Richard Cypher is a woods guide living in the Westland. For him, as for all the other inhabitants of this region, the world stops at the Border, an impassable and terrifying barrier. But one day a mysterious woman, Kahlan Amnell, appears in Richard Cypher’s forest sanctuary seeking help. By saving her life, he unwittingly becomes involved in a story that is beyond him: the Border is weakening and the Lord of D’Hara wants to take advantage of this opportunity to conquer the Midlands and subdue the world. With the help of Kahlan and the Wizard Zedd Zorander, who had been exiled to the Westlands years before, Richard, appointed Seeker of Truth, will have to embark on a quest on which the fate of mankind will depend, brandishing in his fist the Sword of Truth, a magical and powerful weapon, the symbol of his status.

  1. Wizard’s First Rule (1994)
  2. Stone of Tears (1995)
  3. Blood of the Fold (1996)
  4. Temple of the Winds (1997)
  5. Debt of Bones (1998) – Novella and prequel.
  6. Soul of the Fire (1999)
  7. Faith of the Fallen (2000)
  8. The Pillars of Creation (2002)
  9. Naked Empire (2003)
  10. Chainfire (2005)
  11. Phantom(2006)
  12. Confessor (2007)
  13. The Omen Machine (2011)
  14. The First Confessor: The Legend of Magda Searus (2012) – Set centuries prior to the main Sword of Truth series.
  15. The Third Kingdom (2013)
  16. Severed Souls (2014)
  17. Warheart (2015)

The Nicci Chronicles

Takes place right after the last The Sword of Truth book. Onetime lieutenant of the evil Emperor Jagang, known as “Death’s Mistress” and the “Slave Queen”, the deadly Nicci captured Richard Rahl in order to convince him that the Imperial Order stood for the greater good. But it was Richard who converted Nicci instead, and for years thereafter she served Richard and Kahlan as one of their closest friends–and one of their most lethal defenders. Now, with the reign of Richard and Kahlan finally stabilized, Nicci has set out on her own for new adventures.

  1. Death’s Mistress (2017)
  2. Shroud of Eternity (2018)
  3. Siege of Stone (2018)
  4. Heart of Black Ice (2020)

The Children of D’Hara

The Children of D’Hara also picks up immediately after the conclusion of the Sword of Truth series. First published in five novellas, it is now available as one book, The Children of D’Hara.

  1. The Scribbly Man (2019)
  2. Hateful Things (2019)
  3. Wasteland (2019)
  4. Witch’s Oath (2020)
  5. Into Darkness (2020)

Also published as one novel

Angela Constantine / Jack Raines

Nest - Terry Goodkind Books in Order Trouble's Child - Terry Goodkind Books in Order

  • Nest (2016) – Kate Bishop is in a world of trouble. In the wake of several inexplicable and brutal murders, Kate is thrust into a police inquiry that reveals shocking family secrets. Suddenly exposed to a shadowy network of global evil, her life takes a dramatic turn with the arrival of Jack Raines, an author with a mysterious past who says he has the answers to her questions. What’s more, he suggests that Kate herself might be the solution. But hot on their heels are a force of superpredators, vicious and bloodthirsty killers who will stop at nothing until Kate and Jack are eliminated. Like Jack, they’ve realized just how special Kate is, and now she’s marked for death.
  • Trouble’s Child (2018) – Wandering through the snowy woods in the mountains, Angela Constantine stumbles upon a wolf feeding on the body of a murdered young woman. And that discovery is only the start of her problems.

The Girl in the Moon - Terry Goodkind Books in Order Crazy Wanda - Terry Goodkind Books in Order

  • The Girl in the Moon (2018) – Angela juggles multiple jobs to live a secluded life in a cabin in the mountains. But she also lives a secret life, right under everyone’s noses. Because her family’s bloodline carries the ability to recognize killers, she adopts a solitary, violent existence in service of her own, personal mission in life. When Angela unexpectedly finds herself the prey of a group of international terrorists, she is the only one who knows the truth of what they are about to do. She might look like an unlikely hero. She might also be our only hope.
  • Crazy Wanda (2018) – Trouble always finds Angela Constantine. And Angela’s impulsive, hot-tempered colleague Wanda is about to cause more trouble than anyone could know.Except Angela. She’s not like the rest of us. She sees things we don’t-she can recognize a killer just by looking in their eyes. And Angela knows that sooner or later, one way or another, everyone pays for their sins. She’ll make certain of it.

Contemporary Novels by Terry Goodkind

The Law of Nines - Terry Goodkind Books in Order The Sky People - Terry Goodkind Books in Order

  • The Law of Nines (2009) – Alex, a struggling artist living in the Midwestern United States, inherit a huge expanse of land that should have made him a rich and happy man; but something about this 27th birthday, his name, and the beautiful woman whose life he just saved, has suddenly made him-and everyone he loves-into a target.
    The Sky People – The Sun People are bound by an ancient law, left by the long-vanished Sky People: they must never kill. To other tribes, who have no such law, the Sun People are easy prey who will not defend themselves. Their game is poached, their stores are raided, their women abducted, their men killed for sport.
  • The Sky People (2019) – The Sun People are bound by an ancient law, left by the long-vanished Sky People: they must never kill. To other tribes, who have no such law, the Sun People are easy prey who will not defend themselves. Their game is poached, their stores raided, their women abducted, their men killed for sport. But when Raging River and her sister are attacked by a Wolf People raiding party, River fights back and kills one of the warriors. Worse, she has killed the son of their chief. Now, with the Wolf People vowing revenge and her people facing annihilation, River must do the impossible. She must prove herself as priestess. She must find the mythical Sky People.

If you like Terry Goodkind’s books, you may also want to take a look at our Wheel of Time reading order, or The Riftwar Cycle by Raymond E. Feist. Don’t hesitate to follow us on Twitter or Facebook to discover more book series.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *