A reading guide to comics and books

Tag: Tom Clancy

Tom Clancy’s Op-Center Reading Order

I’m a bit surprise that the most popular reading guide I wrote is the one for Tom Clancy’s Jack Ryan Series. Sure, it’s a pretty series, but it’s not really in the news, except for that new TV show with Jim from the Office. Well, if there are some Clancy’s fans around here, let’s give them some more.

What’s Tom Clancy’s Op-Center?

In truth, this is not really some pure Clancy goodness. Tom Clancy’s Op-Center is a series created by Tom Clancy and Steve Pieczenik. They didn’t even write the novels. The first 12 books were written by Jeff Rovin. Then in 2014, the series got rebooted by Dick Couch and George Galdorisi.

The series talks about the National Crisis Management Center, also called ‘Op-Center’. It’s an organization with its own paramilitary response team that deals with domestic and international crises.

How to read Jack Ryan books ?

Do you know that Jack Ryan will come back in a TV show? After the books, the video games and the movies, he will conquer the streaming world with a new TV show. My favorite movie is The Hunt for Red October, even after all these years it’s still great. My dad was really into it so we watched it a lot in my house. He loves the books too and we are going to talk about that, but first…

Who is Jack Ryan?

Dr. John Patrick “Jack” Ryan, Sr., KCVO (Hon.), Ph.D. is a character created by Tom Clancy. When we met him, he is a high-level CIA analyst and a former Marine. His career won’t stop here. In fact, Ryan will go up the chain.

Clancy made Ryan one of his most famous creation, putting him in a few books before continuing with Jack Ryan Jr. The Ryan family never stop and a full universe was developed all around the father and the son. You can put their stories in the spy/techno-thriller genre. Sadly, Tom Clancy died in 2013, but Mark Greaney pick up where he left off and is still publishing new Jack Ryan, jr. novels on a regular basis.

Powered by WordPress & Theme by Anders Norén