Skip to content


The Chronicles of Narnia Books in Order

The Chronicles of Narnia Reading Order

Long before the Harry Potter series became the books children read, there was The Chronicles of Narnia. You know, the one with the magic world that inspired Fillory in Lev Grossman’s The Magicians (no reading order needed for this one!). Seriously, these stories are still really influential and there were not even published in chronological order. If fact, finding an order that pleases everybody is near impossible. That said, let’s try at least two propositions:

What is the Chronicles of Narnia series about?

British classic of children’s literature, The Chronicles of Narnia is a series of seven high fantasy novels written by C.S. Lewis.

Set in the fictional realm of Narnia, the series narrates the adventures of various children who play central roles in the unfolding history of that world full of magic, mythical beasts, and talking animals.

The series begins with the introduction of four siblings: Peter, Susan, Edmund, and Lucy. During World War II, they are sent to live with a professor in the countryside. While playing hide-and-seek in the house, Lucy stumbles upon a wardrobe that leads her to the magical land of Narnia. They soon discover that Narnia is in the grip of an evil witch, who has plunged the land into an eternal winter. With the help of the great lion Aslan, the children embark on a quest to overthrow the witch and save Narnia.

Throughout the series, the children return to Narnia on various adventures, each time facing new challenges and encountering different creatures. Along the way, they learn about courage, loyalty, and sacrifice, and discover the true nature of Aslan, who is a powerful symbol of good and justice.

Various books from The Chronicles of Narnia have been adapted for television over the years (in 1967, 1976, between 1988 and 1990), but also for radio, on stage, and as movies (in 2005, 2008, and 2010).

Read More »The Chronicles of Narnia Reading Order