The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy Books in Order

The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy Books in Order: How to read Douglas Adams’s classic Sci-Fi series?

  • Fabien 

You like Douglas Adams, go check the holistic detective Dirk Gently.

What is The Hitchhiker’s guide to the Galaxy about?

Originally created by Douglas Adams as a radio comedy broadcast on BBC Radio 4 in 1978, The Hitchhiker’s guide to the Galaxy – or H2G2 for short – it was also adapted into stage shows, comic books, a TV series (in 1981), a computer game (in 1984) and finally in a feature film (in 2005). But we are here to talk about the novels.

The story resolves around Arthur Dent, the last surviving man following the demolition of the planet Earth by a Vogon constructor fleet to make way for a hyperspace bypass. Rescued by his friend Ford Prefect, a human-like alien writer for the travel guide The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, Dent explores the galaxy with Ford and encounters Trillian, another human formerly known as Tricia McMillan, the two-headed Zaphod Beeblebrox, Ford’s eccentric semi-cousin and the Galactic President, and the depressed robot Marvin the Paranoid Android.

Read More »The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy Books in Order: How to read Douglas Adams’s classic Sci-Fi series?

Dune Reading Order

How to read Dune, Frank Herbert Sci-Fi classic?

Like a lot of people, I read Dune and I thought it was awesome. Then, I didn’t want it to stop, so I keep on reading. Two books later, it was not as good as it was at the beginning, so I took a break. After a long while, I thought I might pick up where I left off, thinking I would be easy. Wrong, things get more complicated the further you go in the series. So, I tried to compile what I found and this is the result.

What is Dune?

Well, it’s a classic and a franchise. Written by Frank Herbert and published in 1965, Dune is a science-fiction epic set in a distant future where the one who controls the “spice” controls the universe — it’s the over simplistic way to introduce the story.

Dune takes us in a feudal interstellar society in which noble houses controlling individual planets had pledged allegiance to the Padishah Emperor. The story began with young Paul Atreides whose family accepts the stewardship of the planet Arrakis where you can find the only source of the “spice” melange. Politics, religion, ecology and technology collide when forces of the empire plot against each other in order to seize control of Arrakis.

Read More »How to read Dune, Frank Herbert Sci-Fi classic?

The Chronicles of Narnia Books in Order: How to read C.S. Lewis’ classic series?

Long before the Harry Potter series became the books children read, there were The Chronicles of Narnia. You know, the one with the magic world that inspired Fillory in Lev Grossman’s The Magicians (no reading order needed for this one!). Seriously, these stories are still really influential and there were not even published in a chronological order. If fact, finding an order that pleases everybody is near impossible. That said, let’s try at least two propositions:

What are the Chronicles of Narnia?

British classics of children’s literature, The Chronicles of Narnia is a series of seven high fantasy novels written by C.S. Lewis.

Set in the fictional realm of Narnia, the series narrates the adventures of various children who play central roles in the unfolding history of that world full of magic, mythical beasts, and talking animals.

Read More »The Chronicles of Narnia Books in Order: How to read C.S. Lewis’ classic series?

Hap and Leonard Books in Order: How to read Joe R. Lansdale’s series?

Like with Quarry, I recently discovered Hap and Leonard via the television series. I watched it because I really like the work of Jim Mickle and Nick Damici, the two men behind the TV show. In fact, their last movie – Cold in July – was also the adaptation of a Joe R. Lansdale book. There’s a season 2 of the show this year, but before that, there still are the books.

What is Hap and Leonard?

So, it’s a creation of Lansdale filled with fun, violence, great dialogues and characters. The story takes place in the ’80s, in the fictional town of LaBorde, East Texas. We follow Hap Collins, a white working class laborer who spent time in federal prison for refusing to fight in the Vietnam War, and his best friend, Leonard Pine, a gay, black Vietnam vet with anger issues. They are as different as they are friends. The two of them regularly end up in a lot of troubles doing some amateur investigating in order to solve various crimes.

The first book was published in 1990 and the series is still alive and kicking after all theses years. We can find Hap and Leonard in novels, novellas, collections of short stories and soon in comic books.

Read More »Hap and Leonard Books in Order: How to read Joe R. Lansdale’s series?

Quarry Books in Order: How to Read Max Allan Collins’s series?

I discovered Quarry quite recently with the Cinemax series. I like the style of the show and the characters, but they were not developed in a satisfactory way, in my opinion. Mainly, we just learn to understand Quarry, from where he was coming to where he is going, but it’s not the same with the other important figures in his life. I suppose that the idea is to keep some stuff for the second season. That said, I’m pretty sure the show will never cover all of the books, mainly because I’m not even sure there will be more episodes. So, the best way to explore the world of Quarry is to jump right into the Max Allan Collins’ books.

What is Quarry about?

Quarry is a pulp fiction about an US Marine sniper returning from the Vietnam War. He finds his wife in bed with another man and, after dropping a car on her lover, he finds himself unemployable. His proficiency at killing interests a middleman known as the Broker, who runs a murder-for-hire operation. After an assignment, Quarry gets back to the place he was using as a lookout where he found out his partner is dead – and the money they were paid was also stolen. Quarry got himself a new mission, he must learn who hired him, and makes him pay.

That’s only the beginning of the first book. Maybe it’s a spoiler, but Quarry survives and lives on to kill more people. Quarry uses the Broker’s list of targets to reimagine the business: Quarry will alert the intended victims of their situation and offer to guard them.

Read More »Quarry Books in Order: How to Read Max Allan Collins’s series?

Dirk Gently books in Order: How to read Douglas Adams’s series?

  • Fabien 

By the author of The Hitchhiker’s guide to the Galaxy.

Who’s Dirk Gently?

Douglas Adams was not the most skilled writer of his generation, by far. Nevertheless, his talent was to build incredible and highly entertaining stories that were smart, really funny and imaginative. The way he structured his stories were brilliant, in particular with the Dirk Gently series. Not as popular as The Hitchhiker’s guide to the Galaxy, the adventures of this insufferable holistic detective are just a delight for those who love a bit of absurdity with a spark of intelligence.

So, this is the story of Svlad Cjelli also known as Dirk Gently, a detective, a holistic detective to be accurate. He uses the fundamental interconnectedness of all things to solve mysteries. Even if he doesn’t want to believe in such things, Gently is a psychic.

Read More »Dirk Gently books in Order: How to read Douglas Adams’s series?