Second Chance Cat Mystery Series in Order by Sofie Ryan

Disclaimer: As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. Thanks!

A Cozy Feline Mystery Series!

What is the Second Chance Cat Mystery Series about?

Darlene Ryan loves cats. In fact, she wrote The Second Chance Cat Mystery series under the pen-name Sofie Ryan, but also The Magical Cats Mystery series under the pen-name Sofie Kelly.

The Second Chance Cat Mystery series is about Sarah Grayson who owns Second Chance, a shop that sells lovingly refurbished items, in the charming town of North Harbor, Maine.

But she couldn’t run the store without the help of her right-hand man, Mac–or her dashing rescue cat, Elvis, who possesses the uncanny ability to detect a lie. With the help of a quirky group of senior citizens-who call themselves Charlotte’s Angels and work out of the store-they solve crimes both new and vintage.

How to read The Second Chance Cat Mystery Series in Order?

Every book in the Second Chance Cat Mystery series works as a standalone story, but the lives of the different characters evolve from one novel to the other.

  1. The Whole Cat and Caboodle (2014)
  2. Buy a Whisker (2015)
  3. A Whisker of Trouble (2016)
  4. Telling Tails (2017)
  5. The Fast and the Furriest (2018)
  6. No Escape Claws (2019)
  7. Claw Enforcement (2020)
  8. Undercover Kitty (2021)
  9. Totally Pawstruck (2022)
  10. Scaredy Cat (2023)

What is the plot of the Second Chance Cat Mystery novels?

For more information about the books in the Second Chance Cat Mysteries by Sofie Ryan, you’ll find below the official synopsis for all the books:

The Whole Cat and Caboodle (2014) – When Sarah Grayson’s elderly friend Maddie is found with the body of a dead man in her garden, the kindly old lady becomes the prime suspect in the murder. Even Sarah’s old high school flame, investigator Nick Elliot, seems convinced that Maddie was up to no good. So it’s up to Sarah and Elvis to clear her friend’s name and make sure the real murderer doesn’t get a second chance.

Buy a Whisker (2015) – Sarah gets dragged into a controversy over developing the waterfront. Most of the residents are for it, but there is one holdout-baker Lily Carter. So when Lily is found murdered in her bakery, it looks like somebody wanted to remove the only obstacle to the development. But Sarah soon discovers that nothing is as simple as it seems. Now, Sarah is narrowing down the suspects. But can she collar the culprit before the ruthless killer pounces again?

A Whisker of Trouble (2016) – Sarah is turning her keen eye to the estate of collector Edison Hall, hoping for fabulous finds for Second Chance-but when Elvis discovers a body in the kitchen, everything goes paws up. The body belongs to an appraiser who had been hired to check out Edison’s wine collection. When Edison’s sister shows up at Second Chance, she hires Sarah’s friends to solve the murder, Sarah knows she and Elvis are only going to get deeper into the case.

Telling Tails (2017) – Sarah’s friend and employee Rose is delivering a customer’s purchase when the quick errand becomes a deadly escapade. Rose arrives just in time to see the customer murdered by his wife, but before she can call the police, she is knocked out cold. When she wakes up, no one believes her, especially after the woman claims her husband is very much alive and has left her for someone else-and has a text message and empty bank account to prove it.

The Fast and the Furriest (2018) – Mac’s life before North Harbor has always been a little bit mysterious, but it becomes a lot more intriguing when a woman from his past shows up in town, and then turns up dead. Suspicion falls on Mac, but Sarah–and Elvis–know he can’t be the killer, and they hope they can prove his innocence quick as a whisker.

No Escape Claws (2019) – It’s fall in North Harbor. A cold case heats up when young Mallory Pearson appears at Sarah’s shop. Mallory’s father is in prison for negligence after her stepmother’s mysterious death, but Mallory believes he is innocent and asks the in-house detectives to take on the case. With Sarah and Elvis lending a paw, the detectives decide to try to give Mallory’s father a second chance of his own.

Claw Enforcement (2020) – Local squabbles about property development have the town in quite a state of drama-and it seems like someone may even be upset enough to kill. When a local man involved in the real estate quagmire falls over dead at a reception to celebrate the harbor front’s redevelopment, Sarah gets roped in to investigate by her own IT expert, Mr. P., who has long known the victim’s stepfather. Between Sarah, Elvis and Charlotte’s Angels, the killer is sure to have claws for concern.

Undercover Kitty (2021) – The Angels are hired to look into who is sabotaging cat shows in the state, and they decide the best way to do that is to send Elvis the cat undercover as a contestant. But then one of the cat show volunteers is murdered just before the latest competition, and Sarah and the Angels have to catch a killer in two shakes of a cat’s tail!

Totally Pawstruck (2022) – Sarah Grayson’s evening out comes to an abrupt end when she discovers Stella Hall, a member of the library board, standing over a body in the street. Although Stella admits that she and the victim had fought about several things including library funding, she is adamant that she is innocent and the real killer is on the loose. Sarah is eager to help, but even with the assistance of Charlotte’s Angels, the senior citizen detectives who rent out part of her shop, there is still a vast amount of circumstantial evidence linking Stella to the crime.

Scaredy Cat (2023) – After a long, cold, and snowy winter, it seems as though spring may be arriving early in Maine. Sarah Grayson is busy at her store, Second Chance, and she’s looking forward to an afternoon break from the hustle and bustle, tagging along to the North Harbor Spring House Tour with her friend Detective Michelle Andrews. But it turns out one of the houses has a haunted history, and when a ghost hunter is found dead on the premises, Sarah knows the best way to uncover the killer/to solve the mystery is by investigating the not-so-dearly departed.

What should you read if you like Second Chance Cat Mystery novels?

If you like reading Sofie Ryan’s Second Chance Cat Mystery books, you may be interested in Sofie Kelly’s Magical Cats Mysteries, Miranda James’s Cat in the Stacks series, or the Lighthouse Library Mysteries.

Don’t hesitate to follow us on Twitter or Facebook to discover more book series.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *