The Secret Circle Books in Order: How to read L.J. Smith’s series?

Disclaimer: As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. Thanks!

By the author of The Vampire Diaries series.

What is the Secret Circle series about?

Like The Vampire Diaries series, The Secret Circle was a Young Adult supernatural books series written by L.J. Smith before becoming a TV Show on the American network The CW.

The story revolves around Cassie Blake, a teenage girl who moves to the little town of New Salem and discovers she is a member of a secret coven of witches.

Cassie Blake is a normal teenager who discovers she hails from a long history of strong witches. She is attracted into the world of magic and witchcraft when she joins the Secret Circle, a group of six other young witches. They form a formidable coven and explore their magical skills together.

Cassie and her friends handle the challenges of high school life while also dealing with supernatural forces and the ramifications of their newfound powers throughout the series. They battle frightening opponents, discover long-held family secrets, and deal with internal coven issues.

How to read The Secret Circle Books in Order?

  1. The Initiation (1992)
  2. The Captive (1992)
  3. The Power (1992)
  4. The Divide (2012)
  5. The Hunt (2012)
  6. The Temptation (2013)

the secret circle books in Order

What is the plot of The Secret Circle novels?

For more information about the books in the Secret Circle series by L.J. Smith, you’ll find below the official synopsis for all the books:

Published in 1992, the first three books were later republished in two volumes as follows:

The Initiation & The Captive part I – When Cassie is forced to move from California all the way to the small New England town of New Salem, she’s miserable. And yet, she feels a powerful kinship to the town, and to a terrifyingly beautiful group of students who always seem to get their way. Charmed by the Secret Circle, Cassie is initiated into a coven of witches whose power has controlled New Salem for hundreds of years. But when she falls for the mysterious and intriguing Adam, she is faced with the most pressing danger of her life-and one wrong move could ultimately destroy her…

The Captive part II & The Power – Lured into the most powerful and deadly in-crowd imaginable, Cassie has learned that her power comes with a price-and it’s more dangerous than she knows. Torn between the dueling desires of the two most powerful members of The Secret Circle, she must ultimately choose between saving all of New Salem, and her own love for the bewitching Adam, which threatens to tear the circle apart. In the ultimate battle between good and evil, will Cassie’s supernatural powers be strong enough to lead the coven out of danger? Or will she fall prey to the dark forces within?

The next three books were written with Aubrey Clark, published between 2012 and 2013.

The Divide – The Circle is being hunted by an unknown enemy resistant to their magic-and anyone could be the next victim. No one knows who to trust or who to fear. Will Cassie be able to save the Circle . . . and herself? Or will her choices break it apart forever?

The Hunt – Cassie’s evil half-sister surfaces, determined to take Cassie’s place in the Secret Circle. And a band of powerful witch-hunters begins targeting the group, determined to destroy them. Will the circle remain intact despite the powerfully evil magic that has infiltrated their ring? And will Cassie survive this ultimate battle between good and evil?

The Temptation – As the leader of the Secret Circle, Cassie is faced with impossible choices and new dangers at every turn . . . and one wrong move can break the Circle apart forever. Now, as Cassie battles her evil half-sister, she faces a new and terrible danger. Black John’s curse has been unleashed on the Circle, and it is up to Cassie to set things right.

What should you read if you like The Secret Circle novels?

If you like reading L.J. Smith’s Secret Circle books, you may be interested in The Shadowhunter Chronicles, The Caster Chronicles, and of course Smith’s Vampire Diaries.

Don’t hesitate to follow us on Twitter or Facebook to discover more book series.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *