Night of the Monster Men Reading Order: A Guide to the Batman mini-event

Disclaimer: As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. Thanks!

After The Lazarus Contract, I’d like to go back to another mini-event from DC. I quite like the way they’re cross-promote their series. It gives a cohesive vision to the DC Universe. In that case, to the batfamily world.

What is the Night of the Monster Men?

Night of the Monster Men is the first crossover of the ‘Rebirth’ – an interesting fact I think, for some reason. It’s a six-issue storyline from the pages of Batman, Detective Comics and Nightwing.

Written by Steve Orlando with Tom King (on Batman), James Tynion IV (on Detective Comics) and Tim Seeley (on Nightwing), the story began with a huge storm approaching Gotham City. Batman, Batwoman and Nightwing try and prepare for the worst, but they didn’t see coming enormous monsters rampaging through the streets! Batman will need all of his allies to unite in order to stop these mad science monsters from tearing their city apart!

For more Batman from that period, go visit our friendly neighborhood comic book site.

Night of the Monster Men Reading Order:

As I said, it’s a short one, with only 6 issues to collect. You can jump right in even if you haven’t read the prior comics in the series. Well, almost.

It’s not really a necessity, but I recommend reading Batman Vol. 1: I Am Gotham in order to understand who is Gotham Girl and what the deal with her. If you want to know a bit more about the place of Batwoman, Spoiler, Orphan and Clayface, you can read Detective Comics Vol. 1: Rise of the Batmen.

And now, The Night of the Monster Men:

  1. Batman (vol. 3) #7
  2. Nightwing (vol. 4) #5
  3. Detective Comics #941
  4. Batman (vol. 3) #8
  5. Nightwing (vol. 4) #6
  6. Detective Comics #942

Naturally, all those issues are collected in one TPB simply called Batman: Night of the Monster Men.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *