A reading guide to comics and books

Millennium Books in Order: How to read Stieg larsson series?

Last Updated on

Some series don’t need an introduction, but a reading order is always welcome.

What is the Millennium series?

As you may have heard, Millennium is a series of best-selling and award-winning Swedish crime novels related by Stieg Larsson.

The story focuses on the troubled genius hacker Lisbeth Salander, a woman in her twenties with a photographic memory and poor social skills, and Mikael Blomkvist, an investigative journalist and publisher of a magazine called Millennium.


Millennium Books in Order:

Sadly, Stieg Larsson died in 2004 when only three books were completed and published. Originally, he planned the series as having ten installments. In 2015, David Lagercrantz wrote a new book in the series, then another.

I. Written by Stieg Larsson

  1. The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo – Harriet Vanger, a scion of one of Sweden’s wealthiest families disappeared over forty years ago. All these years later, her aged uncle continues to seek the truth. He hires Mikael Blomkvist, a crusading journalist recently trapped by a libel conviction, to investigate. He is aided by the pierced and tattooed punk prodigy Lisbeth Salander. Together they tap into a vein of unfathomable iniquity and astonishing corruption.
  2. The Girl Who Played with Fire – Mikael Blomkvist has decided to run a story that will expose an extensive sex trafficking operation. On the eve of its publication, the two reporters responsible for the article are murdered, and the fingerprints found on the murder weapon belong to his friend, Lisbeth Salander. Blomkvist, convinced of Salander’s innocence, plunges into an investigation. Meanwhile, Salander herself is drawn into a murderous game of cat and mouse, which forces her to face her dark past.
  3. The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest – Lisbeth Salander lies in critical condition in a Swedish hospital, a bullet in her head. But she’s fighting for her life in more ways than one: if and when she recovers, she’ll stand trial for three murders. With the help of Mikael Blomkvist, she’ll need to identify those in authority who have allowed the vulnerable, like herself, to suffer abuse and violence. And, on her own, she’ll seek revenge.

II. Written by David Lagercrantz

  1. The Girl in the Spider’s Web – One night, Blomkvist receives a call from a source who claims to have been given information vital to the United States by a young female hacker. Blomkvist, always on the lookout for a story, reaches out to Salander for help. She, as usual, has plans of her own. Together they are drawn into a ruthless underworld of spies, cybercriminals, and government operatives – some willing to kill to protect their secrets.
  2. The Girl Who Takes an Eye for an Eye – Lisbeth Salander is serving time in Flodberga Prison. When a sadistic gang leader nicknamed Benito starts to torture Faria, a young Bangladeshi prisoner, Salander finds it impossible not to intervene. Now a target of Benito and her gang, Salander’s time in prison is further complicated by news from her old guardian, who tells her she may have been a subject in a secret experiment known as the Registry. She enlists her friend Mikael Blomkvist, crusading editor of Millennium magazine, to help her look into it.
  3. The Girl Who Lived Twice – Coming soon…


Chief Inspector Gamache Books in Order: How to read Louise Penny book series?


Diary of a Wimpy Kid Books in Order: How to read Jeff Kinney series?


  1. Cheryl Montgomery

    Reference to Stieg Larsson & David Lagercrantz books starting with The Girl with the Dragon tattoo. What order are these books to be ?

    • Patti

      I’m pretty sure this is correct…1) Dragon Tattoo, 2) Played with Fire, 3) Kicked the Hornet’s Nest, 4- Spider’s Web, and 5) Eye for an Eye. I don’t know if there are any more. aren’t they great?!

  2. Robert Burke

    What’s next in this series??

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Powered by WordPress & Theme by Anders Norén