Skip to Content

Mark Greaney Books in Order (Gray Man, Court Gentry, Jack Ryan)

Mark Greaney Books in Order (Gray Man, Court Gentry, Jack Ryan)
Affiliate disclosure: As an Amazon Associate, we may earn commissions from qualifying purchases from Amazon.

All of the Books!

Who is Mark Greaney?

American novelist Mark Greaney made a name as a writer by working with Tom Clancy on the Jack Ryan (jr) book series. Greaney was a fan of Clancy and got selected as one of the new co-writer on the series at the beginning of the 2010s.

Of course, Mark Greaney also writes his own book series with the Gray Man series about Court Gentry, a freelance assassin and former CIA operative.

A feature film adaptation of The Gray Man is in production at Netflix, with Ryan Gosling in the title role.

Mark Greaney Books in Order:

I. Court Gentry/Gray Man series

The series focuses on Court Gentry. A few years ago, he was the CIA’s best covert asset. Then, without warning, his masters at the Agency put him at the top of their kill list. Court fled his country and became an enigmatic killer for hire known as the Gray Man. For more information, go to the main article about the Gray Man books.

the Gray man books in order on target Gray man books in order ballistic Gray man books in order dead eye Gray man books in order

  1. The Gray Man – To those who lurk in the shadows, he’s known as the Gray Man. He is a legend in the covert realm, moving silently from job to job, accomplishing the impossible and then fading away. And he always hits his target. Always. But there are forces more lethal than Gentry in the world. And in their eyes, Gentry has just outlived his usefulness…
  2. On Target – When an old comrade Court Gentry (aka the Gray Man) thought dead returns to haunt him, his own life is put in the crosshairs. The man wants Court to complete a mission, with one crucial catch to his orders: Instead of a difficult assassination, the job will entail a near impossible kidnapping – and Court must return his quarry to the very CIA team that turned on him.
  3. Ballistic – Years before, Eddie Gamboa had saved Court Gentry’s life. Now, Eddie has been murdered by the notorious Mexican drug cartel he fought to take down. And Court – aka the Gray Man – soon finds himself drawn into a war he never wanted. But in this war, there are no sides – only survivors…
  4. Dead Eye – Court Gentry has always prided himself on his ability to disappear at will, to fly below the radar and exist in the shadows – to survive as the near-mythical Gray Man. But when he takes revenge upon a former employer who betrayed him, he exposes himself to something he’s never had to face before: a killer who is just like him.

back blast Gray man books in order gunmetal gray Gray man books in order agent in place Gray man books in order mission critical Gray man books in order

  1. Back Blast – Determined to find out what made the Agency turn against him, the Gray Man plans to get his hands on the men who sent him on his last mission, Operation BACK BLAST. What he doesn’t realize is that the questions that arose from his time as an American assassin are still reverberating in the U.S. intelligence community, and he’s stumbled onto a secret that powerful people want kept under wraps.
  2. Gunmetal Gray – After five years on the run Court Gentry – aka the Gray Man – is back on the inside at the CIA. But his first mission makes him wish he had stayed on the outs when a pair of Chinese agents try to take him down in Hong Kong. Normally the Chinese prefer to stay eyes-only on foreign agents. So why are they on such high alert?
  3. Agent In Place – Fresh off his first mission back with the CIA, Court Gentry – aka the Gray Man – secures what seems like a cut-and-dried contract job: A group of expats in Paris hires him to kidnap the mistress of Syrian dictator Ahmed Azzam to get intel that could destabilize Azzam’s regime.
  4. Mission Critical – Court Gentry’s flight on a CIA transport plane is interrupted when a security team brings a hooded man aboard. They want to kick Gentry – aka the Gray Man – off the flight but are overruled by CIA headquarters. The mystery man is being transported to England where a joint CIA/MI6 team will interrogate him about a mole in Langley.


One minute out Gray man books in order Relentless Gray man books in order Sierra Six - Mark Greaney Books in Order

  1. One Minute Out – While on a mission to Croatia, Court Gentry uncovers a human trafficking operation. The trail leads from the Balkans all the way back to Hollywood. Court is determined to shut it down, but his CIA handlers have other plans. The criminal ringleader has actionable intelligence about a potentially devastating terrorist attack on the US. The CIA won’t move until they have that intel.
  2. Relentless – Intelligence operatives around the world are disappearing. When a missing American agent re-appears in Venezuela, Court Gentry, the Gray Man, is dispatched to bring him in, but a team of assassins has other ideas. Court escapes with his life and a vital piece of intelligence.
  3. Sierra Six – Before he was the Gray Man, Court Gentry was Sierra Six, the junior member of a CIA action team. In their first mission they took out a terrorist leader, but at a terrible price—the life of a woman Court cared for. Years have passed and now The Gray Man is on a simple mission when he sees a ghost: the long-dead terrorist, but he’s remarkably energetic for a dead man. A decade may have gone by but the Gray Man hasn’t changed. He isn’t one to leave a job unfinished or a blood debt unpaid.

II. The Jack Ryan series

No one needs an introduction less than Jack Ryan. Created by Tom Clancy, Ryan conquered the bookshelves, the cinemas, and the TV screens. At one point though, Clancy needed help to continue writing books and Mark Greany got the job (after Grant Blackwood and Peter Telep, and before Mike Maden and Marc Cameron).

This list is only about Mark Greaney’s contribution to the Ryanverse. For a complete reading order, go to our Jack Ryan Reading Guide.

III. Standalone novels

Red Metal - Mark Greaney Books in Order

  • Red Metal (with Lieutenant Colonel H. Ripley Rawlings IV) (2019) – A desperate Kremlin takes advantage of a military crisis in Asia to simultaneously strike into Western Europe and invade east Africa in a bid to occupy three rare Earth mineral mines that will give Russia unprecedented control over the world’s hi-tech sector for generations to come. Pitted against the Russians are a Marine lieutenant colonel pulled out of a cushy Pentagon job, a French Special Forces captain and his intelligence operative father, a young Polish partisan fighter, an A-10 Warthog pilot, and the commander of an American tank platoon who, along with his German counterpart, fight from behind enemy lines.

If you like Mark Greany, you may also want to see our Jack Ryan reading order, of course, or our guide to Marc Cameron’s Jericho Quinn series. Don’t hesitate to follow us on Twitter or Facebook to discover more book series.