Skip to content

Maggie Hope Books in Order: How to read Susan Elia MacNeal’s series?

Maggie Hope Books in Order

Last Updated 5 months ago.This is Maggie Hope, the character, not the author…

Who is Maggie Hope?

Written by American author Susan Elia MacNeal, the Maggie Hope series is about a British spy during World War II.

Maggie Hope graduated at the top of her college class and possesses all the skills of the finest minds in British intelligence, but her gender qualifies her only to be the newest typist at No. 10 Downing Street. Spirited, strong-willed, and possessing one of the sharpest minds in government for mathematics and code-breaking, she eventually become a real spy.

Maggie Hope Books in Order:

Mr. Churchill's Secretary Maggie Hope Books in Order Princess Elizabeth's Spy Maggie Hope Books in Order His Majesty's Hope Maggie Hope Books in Order The Prime Minister's Secret Agent Maggie Hope Books in Order

  1. Mr. Churchill’s Secretary – London, 1940. Winston Churchill has just been sworn in, war rages across the Channel, and the threat of a Blitz looms larger by the day. But none of this deters Maggie Hope. She graduated at the top of her college class and possesses all the skills of the finest minds in British intelligence, but her gender qualifies her only to be the newest typist at No. 10 Downing Street. Ensnared in a web of spies, murder, and intrigue, Maggie must work quickly to balance her duty to King and Country with her chances for survival.
  2. Princess Elizabeth’s Spy – As World War II sweeps the continent and England steels itself against German attack, Maggie Hope, former secretary to Prime Minister Winston Churchill, completes her training to become a spy for MI-5. To her great disappointment, she is dispatched to go undercover at Windsor Castle, where she will tutor the young Princess Elizabeth in math. Yet castle life quickly proves more dangerous—and deadly—than Maggie ever expected.
  3. His Majesty’s Hope – World War II has finally come home to Britain. Maggie Hope is now an elite member of the Special Operations Executive and her first assignment sends her straight into Nazi-controlled Berlin, the very heart of the German war machine. Relying on her quick wit and keen instincts, Maggie infiltrates the highest level of Berlin society, gathering information to pass on to London headquarters.
  4. The Prime Minister’s Secret Agent – World War II rages on across Europe, but Maggie Hope has finally found a moment of rest on the pastoral coast of western Scotland. Yet instead of enjoying the quieter pace of life, Maggie is quickly drawn into another web of danger and intrigue. When three ballerinas fall strangely ill in Glasgow—including one of Maggie’s dearest friends—Maggie partners with MI-5 to uncover the truth behind their unusual symptoms.

Mrs. Roosevelt's Confidante Maggie Hope Books in Order The Queen's Accomplice Maggie Hope Books in Order The Paris Spy Maggie Hope Books in Order The Prisoner in the Castle Maggie Hope Books in Order

  1. Mrs. Roosevelt’s Confidante – December 1941. Soon after the attack on Pearl Harbor, Winston Churchill arrives in Washington, D.C., along with Maggie Hope. Posing as his typist, she is accompanying the prime minister as he meets with President Roosevelt to negotiate the United States’ entry into World War II. When one of the First Lady’s aides is mysteriously murdered, Maggie is quickly drawn into Mrs. Roosevelt’s inner circle—as ER herself is implicated in the crime.
  2. The Queen’s Accomplice – England, 1942. The Blitz may have paused, but London’s nightly blackouts continue. Now, a madman is brutally killing and mutilating young women in eerie and exact re-creations of Jack the Ripper’s crimes. What’s more, he’s targeting women who are reporting for duty to be Winston Churchill’s spies and saboteurs abroad. Maggie Hope must find quickly the killer dubbed “the Blackout Beast.” A trap is set.
  3. The Paris Spy – Maggie Hope is working undercover for the Special Operations Executive in the elegant but eerily silent city of Paris, where SS officers prowl the streets in their Mercedes and the Ritz is draped with swastika banners. Maggie’s half sister, Elise, has disappeared after being saved from a concentration camp, and Maggie is desperate to find her.
  4. The Prisoner in the Castle – Maggie Hope is being held prisoner on a remote Scottish island with other SOE agents who know too much for the enemy’s comfort. All the spies on the island are trained to kill–and when they start dropping off one-by-one, Maggie needs to find the murderer… before she becomes the next victim.

The King's Justice Maggie Hope Books in Order The Hollywood Spy Maggie Hope Books in Order

  1. The King’s Justice – London, December 1943. As the Russian army repels German forces from Stalingrad, Maggie Hope takes a much-needed break from spying to defuse bombs in London. But Maggie herself is an explosion waiting to happen. Traumatized by her past, she finds herself living dangerously—taking huge risks, smoking, drinking, and speeding through the city streets on a motorbike. The last thing she wants is to get entangled in another crime.
  2. The Hollywood Spy – Los Angeles, 1943. As the Allies beat back the Nazis in the Mediterranean and the United States military slowly closes in on Tokyo, Walt Disney cranks out wartime propaganda and the Cocoanut Grove is alive with jazz and swing each night. But behind this sunny façade lies a darker reality. Somewhere in the lush foothills of Hollywood, a woman floats, lifeless, in the pool of one of California’s trendiest hotels. When American-born secret agent and British spy Maggie Hope learns that this woman was engaged to her old flame, John Sterling, and that he suspects her death was no accident, intuition tells her he’s right. Leaving London under siege—not to mention flying thousands of miles—is a lot to ask. But John was once the love of Maggie’s life . . . and she won’t say no.

If you like Maggie Hope, you may also want to see our Maisie Dobbs reading order, or our guide to Her Royal Spyness series. Don’t hesitate to follow us on Twitter or Facebook to discover more book series.

3 thoughts on “Maggie Hope Books in Order: How to read Susan Elia MacNeal’s series?”

  1. Hi, Great site! Very helpful especially when publish date in series does not follow chronological date and I like to read series in order, thank you..

  2. I’m a huge fan of this series. I’ve read them all. Hoping to read about Maggie’s next adventure soon. Thank you for writing a mysteries with a bit of fiction thrown in.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.