Liss MacCrimmon Books in Order: How to read Kaitlyn Dunnett’s series?

Disclaimer: As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. Thanks!

Cozy murders in Moosetookalook, Maine.

Who is Liss MacCrimmon?

Written by Kaitlyn Dunnett, the cozy mystery series takes us to the town of Moosetookalook, Maine for some amateur sleuthing.

At the center of the series, there’s Liss MacCrimmon who, after a knee injury, is forced to end her professional career as a Scottish dancer. So, she gives up her life of performing strathspeys, reels, jigs, and Highland flings and returns to her hometown of Moosetookalook, Maine, where she runs a Scottish Emporium.

There, Murder finds her pretty quickly and she starts investigating.

How to read Liss MacCrimmon Books in Order?

Every book in the Liss MacCrimmon series works as a standalone story, but the lives of the different characters evolve from one novel to the other.

  1. Kilt Dead (2007)
  2. Scone Cold Dead (2008)
  3. A Wee Christmas Homicide (2009)
  4. The Corpse Wore Tartan (2010)
  5. Scotched (2011)
  6. Bagpipes, Brides and Homicides (2012)
  7. Vampires, Bones and Treacle Scones (2013)
  8. Ho Ho Homicide (2014)
  9. The Scottie Barked at Midnight (2014)
  10. Kilt at the Highland Games (2016)
  11. X Marks the Scot (2017)
  12. Overkilt (2018)
  13. A View to a Kilt (2020)

What is the plot of the Liss MacCrimmon novels?

For more information about the books in the Liss MacCrimmon series by Kaitlyn Dunnett, you’ll find below the official synopsis for all the books:

  1. Kilt Dead – As a professional Scottish dancer, Liss MacCrimmon has performed until a knee injury cuts her career short. Returning to her hometown of Moosetookalook, Maine, she decides to help her aunt run her Scottish emporium. When she finds the dead body of her aunt’s nosy neighbor, Amanda Norris, under a bolt of Flower of Scotland fabric in the stock room, Liss has to do some fancy footwork to prove she’s innocent while avoiding becoming the killer’s next victim. . .
  2. Scone Cold Dead – Liss still misses the life of a professional dancer. So she arranges a reception for the troupe when they’re on tour. Liss soon realizes that life in the group isn’t all happy jigs and fancy stepping. Victor Owens, the company manager, has been making life miserable for everyone. But she has no idea how miserable until Victor bites into one of Liss’s prized cocktail scones, collapses, and dies.
  3. A Wee Christmas Homicide – When her idea to drum up business in the town of Moosetookalook, Maine, results in the murder of a greedy toy-store owner, Liss MacCrimmon, the owner of the Scottish Emporium, feels personally responsible and, against everyone’s better judgment, sets out solve the crime.
  1. The Corpse Wore Tartan – During the annual celebration of Scotland’s beloved poet Robert Burns, Liss MacCrimmon, proprietor of Moosetookalook, Maine’s only Scottish emporium, is trapped inside The Spruces hotel with the quarrelsome Scottish Heritage Appreciation Society–and a killer.
  2. Scotched – When her hometown of Moosetookalook, Maine, hosts the First Annual Maine-ly Cozy Con, a mystery book conference, Liss MacCrimmon and her fiancé Dan discover that the truth is stranger–and deadlier–than fiction when a muckraking reviewer with a grudge supposedly jumps to her death.
  3. Bagpipes, Brides and Homicides – Lisa MacCrimmon and her fiancé Dan Ruskin, who are going to be married in a Scottish-themed wedding held at the annual Western Maine Highland Games, find their impending nuptials threatened by the death of one of the re-enactors–and the arrest of her father for his murder.
  1. Vampires, Bones and Treacle Scones – Liss MacCrimmon Ruskin is in charge of turning a deserted mansion in Moosetookalok, Maine that once belonged to a notorious gangster into a Halloween haunted house that is not supposed to feature a real corpse–her ex-convict cousin, Ned.
  2. Ho-Ho-Homicide – Liss MacCrimmon is surprised when an old friend from high school asks her to spend a week at the Christmas tree farm she recently inherited from a great-uncle. Upon their arrival, Liss and Dan are greeted by a ramshackle farmhouse and unfriendly townsfolk. It’s hardly the idyllic vacation locale they’d hoped for, especially when neighbors start raising questions about the farm’s dark history.
  3. The Scottie Barked At Midnight – Driving on an icy road on a truly dark and stormy night, Liss MacCrimmon swerves her car when something darts out in front of it. She braves the weather and discovers a Scottish terrier shivering in the snow. Relieved that the dog survived their run-in, Liss sets out in search of her owner, unaware that the Scottie is actually a tiny celebrity–or that she was dognapped.
  1. Kilt at the Highland Games – When a fire ravages the local bookstore late one evening, Liss MacCrimmon immediately fears the worst for owner Angie and her two young children. After the terrible blaze dies down, however, the family is nowhere to be found among the ruins. It’s as if the three just vanished into smoke. Or even stranger: like they never existed at all.
  2. X Marks the Scot – The old Chadwick mansion on the edge of Moosetookalook has been shrouded in mystery for generations. But when Liss MacCrimmon uncovers a treasure map at the mansion’s estate sale, she never expected her curiosity would lead to a dead body.
  3. Overkilt – Liss MacCrimmon’s meddlesome mother is back in Moosetookalook, Maine, to serve a hefty portion of trouble in time for Thanksgiving. But when a scandalous murder case threatens to leave Liss alone at the table, family drama takes on a terrifying new meaning…

A View to a Kilt Liss MacCrimmon Mysteries Books in Order

  1. A View to a Kilt – Liss MacCrimmonhas suddenly found herself in charge of the March Madness Mud Season Sale. With businesses ailing after a rough winter, the pressure is on to make this year’s effort the can’t-miss-event of the season. But before Liss can get her hands dirty, her husband makes a horrifying discovery. There’s a dead man on their property, and he didn’t die of natural causes.

What should you read if you like the Liss MacCrimmon novels?

If you like reading Kaitlyn Dunnett’s Liss MacCrimmon stories, you may be interested in the Fixer-Upper Mysteries, Hat Shop Mysteries, Domestic Diva series

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *