Kazuo Ishiguro Books in Order (Never Let Me Go, The Remains of the Day, A Pale View of the Hill)

Disclaimer: As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. Thanks!

All of Kazuo Ishiguro’s Books in Order!

Who is Kazuo Ishiguro?

British novelist Kazuo Ishiguro was born in Nagasaki, Japan, in 1954 and moved to Britain in 1960 at the age of five. One of the most celebrated contemporary fiction authors in English, he published his first novel, A Pale View of Hills, in 1982.

Since then, he has received four Man Booker Prize nominations and won the award in 1989 for his novel The Remains of the Day. In 2017, the Swedish Academy awarded Ishiguro the Nobel Prize in Literature.

How to read Kazuo Ishiguro’s Books in Order?

Kazuo Ishiguro’s Stand-alone novels

A Pale View of Hills - Kazuo Ishiguro Books in Order An Artist of the Floating World - Kazuo Ishiguro Books in Order The Remains of the Day - Kazuo Ishiguro Books in Order

  • A Pale View of Hills – Here is the story of Etsuko, a Japanese woman now living alone in England, dwelling on the recent suicide of her daughter. In a novel where past and present confuse, she relives scenes of Japan’s devastation in the wake of World War II.
  • An Artist of the Floating World – In the face of the misery in his homeland, the artist Masuji Ono was unwilling to devote his art solely to the celebration of physical beauty. Instead, he put his work in the service of the imperialist movement that led Japan into World War II. Now, as the mature Ono struggles through the aftermath of that war, his memories of his youth and of the “floating world”offer him both escape and redemption, even as they punish him for betraying his early promise. Indicted by society for its defeat and reviled for his past aesthetics, he relives the passage through his personal history that makes him both a hero and a coward but, above all, a human being.
  • The Remains of the Day – The portrait of Stevens, the perfect butler, and of his fading, insular world in post-World War II England. Stevens, at the end of three decades of service at Darlington Hall, spending a day on a country drive, embarks as well on a journey through the past in an effort to reassure himself that he has served humanity by serving the “great gentleman,” Lord Darlington. But lurking in his memory are doubts about the true nature of Lord Darlington’s “greatness,” and much graver doubts about the nature of his own life.

The Unconsoled - Kazuo Ishiguro Books in Order When We Were Orphans - Kazuo Ishiguro Books in Order Never Let Me Go - Kazuo Ishiguro Books in Order

  • The Unconsoled – The setting is a nameless Central European city where Ryder, a renowned pianist, has come to give the most important performance of his life. Instead, he finds himself diverted on a series of cryptic and infuriating errands that nevertheless provide him with vital clues to his own past.
  • When We Were Orphans – Born in early-twentieth-century Shanghai, Banks was orphaned at the age of nine after the separate disappearances of his parents. Now, more than twenty years later, he is a celebrated figure in London society; yet the investigative expertise that has garnered him fame has done little to illuminate the circumstances of his parents’ alleged kidnappings. Banks travels to the seething, labyrinthine city of his memory in hopes of solving the mystery of his own, painful past, only to find that war is ravaging Shanghai beyond recognition-and that his own recollections are proving as difficult to trust as the people around him.
  • Never Let Me Go – As children, Kathy, Ruth, and Tommy were students at Hailsham, an exclusive boarding school secluded in the English countryside. It was a place of mercurial cliques and mysterious rules where teachers were constantly reminding their charges of how special they were. Now, years later, Kathy is a young woman. Ruth and Tommy have reentered her life. And for the first time she is beginning to look back at their shared past and understand just what it is that makes them special-and how that gift will shape the rest of their time together.

The Buried Giant - Kazuo Ishiguro Books in Order Klara and the Sun - Kazuo Ishiguro Books in Order

  • The Buried Giant – In post-Arthurian Britain, the wars that once raged between the Saxons and the Britons have finally ceased. Axl and Beatrice, an elderly British couple, set off to visit their son, whom they haven’t seen in years. And, because a strange mist has caused mass amnesia throughout the land, they can scarcely remember anything about him. As they are joined on their journey by a Saxon warrior, his orphan charge, and an illustrious knight, Axl and Beatrice slowly begin to remember the dark and troubled past they all share.
  • Klara and the Sun – Klara is an Artificial Friend with outstanding observational qualities, who, from her place in the store, watches carefully the behavior of those who come in to browse, and of those who pass on the street outside. She remains hopeful that a customer will soon choose her.

Kazuo Ishiguro’s Short-story collections

Nocturnes Five Stories of Music and Nightfall - Kazuo Ishiguro Books in Order

  • Nocturnes: Five Stories of Music and Nightfall – Here is a fragile, once famous singer, turning his back on the one thing he loves; a music junky with little else to offer his friends but opinion; a songwriter who inadvertently breaks up a marriage; a jazz musician who thinks the answer to his career lies in changing his physical appearance; and a young cellist whose tutor has devised a remarkable way to foster his talent. For each, music is a central part of their lives and, in one way or another, delivers them to an epiphany.

Kazuo Ishiguro’s Non-fiction Work

My Twentieth Century Evening and Other Small Breakthroughs - Kazuo Ishiguro Books in Order

  • My Twentieth Century Evening and Other Small Breakthroughs – Delivered in Stockholm on 7 December 2017, My Twentieth Century Evening and Other Small Breakthroughs is the lecture of the Nobel Laureate in Literature, Kazuo Ishiguro. It explores his relationship with Japan, reflections on his own novels and an insight into some of his inspirations, from the worlds of writing, music, and film.

Don’t hesitate to follow us on Twitter or Facebook to discover more book series.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *