Last Updated on

Marvel is all about legacy characters nowadays. That’s not always handled well, except for Kate Bishop, the second Hawkeye. She’s awesome and she finally got some love with her own series. Sadly, before that, it was not perfect for her.

Who’s Kate Bishop, the Superior Hawkeye?

Kate is heir to the Bishop fortune, being the daughter of publishing magnate Derek Bishop. Sometime after her mother died, Kate was attacked in Central Park. After that, she began to train hard and started to school herself in the arts of archery and other types of combat. She was determined to help others.

When Kate met the Young Avengers during her older sister’s wedding – when gunmen took the entire church hostage – she decided with Cassie Lang to join the team and that’s where her new career started.


Kate Bishop Reading Order:

I. The Young Avengers Years

At the beginning of her Marvel career, Kate Bishop teamed up with the Young Avengers. So, that’s where you need to start. That said, everything is not obligatory reading. I personally quite dislike Marvel’s Events of that era and I kind of think that reading the event for only some of the characters is not really interesting. In those kinds of stories, there are so many pieces moving that only a few get some real meaty material. At that time, Kate was too young in the universe to get something consequential, imho.

  1. Young Avengers: The Complete Collection by Allen Heinberg and Jim Cheung – Collects: Young Avengers Issue #1 To #12. It started here for Kate Bishop after Disassembled.
  2. Civil War: Young Avengers & Runaways – It’s the part dedicated to the Young Avengers as you may have deduced. You can also have Winter Soldier: Winter Kills and Civil War: Fallen Son #03. The last one is particularly notable because that’s when Kate met Clint Barton for the first time.
  3. Secret Invasion – Another Event and, this time, Kate Bishop appeared throughout this event, but also in the Secret Invasion: Runaways/Young Avengers miniseries.

  1. Dark Reign: Young Avengers – Also, for the Dark Reign Event, Kate was in The Mighty Avengers: Dark Reign.
  2. Siege – Yet another Marvel Event. Kate Bishop appeared in the main series, but also in Avengers: The Initiative and more, read Siege: Battlefield for the Young Avengers Part.
  3. Marvel Must Haves: Avengers: The Children’s Crusade – Search for the Scarlet Witch and the Young Avengers played a part in it.

II. The Matt Fraction/David Aja Hawkeye Series

This part began with Young Avengers Presents, a 6-part miniseries. Each part is about one member, the sixth is about Kate and the beginning of her relationship with Clint that will be in the heart of the new Hawkeye Series by Matt Fraction and David Aja.

  1. Hawkeye Volume 1: My Life as a Weapon
  2. Hawkeye Volume 2: Little Hits
  3. Hawkeye Volume 3: L.A. Woman
  4. Hawkeye Volume 4: Rio Bravo

You can find all of this in one big omnibus.

At that point, Fraction and Aja left and it was on Jeff Lemire and Ramon Perez to continue with All-New Hawkeye

  1. Hawkeye Vol. 5: All-New Hawkeye
  2. Hawkeye vs. Deadpool – Yes, this is when Kate Bishop met the infamous Deadpool

III. Back to the Young Avengers

  1. Young Avengers by Kieron Gillen & Jamie McKelvie Omnibus – In the Young Avengers from the Marvel Now era, Kate Bishop is back with the team.

IV. All-New, All-Different Marvel

  1. All-New Hawkeye: Vol. 6: Hawkeyes – It’s another kind of Hawkeye story. Kate and Clint teamed up, but it’s in the future with flashbacks in the present. Well, it’s complicated.

V. The Solo Series

This time, Kate is finally the only hero in charge of her new solo series. She’s in Los Angeles where she is working as a P.I.

  1. Hawkeye: Kate Bishop Vol. 1 – There’s a new Hawkeye Series by Kelly Thompson and Leonardo Romero, and it’s all about Kate Bishop in LA doing some PI work.
  2. Hawkeye: Kate Bishop Vol. 2: Masks
  3. Hawkeye: Kate Bishop Vol. 3: Family Reunion

VI. West Coast Avengers

The solo series ends, but Kate, Clint Barton and their friends are continuing their adventures in Los Angeles. Kelly Thompson writes this series in the same style as the previous Hawkeye series, it’s the same thing, but with another name and with more superheroes.

  1. West Coast Avengers Vol. 1: Best Coast – A bold new era begins for the mightiest heroes to ever live on the Pacific Coast. That means Hawkeye (your favorite one, Kate Bishop)! Hawkeye (the other one, Clint Barton)! America Chavez! Kid Omega! Gwenpool! And a guy named Fuse! These are the new West Coast Avengers. Collects West Coast Avengers #1-6.
  2. West Coast Avengers Vol. 2: City of Evils – Collects West Coast Avengers #7-10.