John Gwynne Books in Order (Faithful and the Fallen, Of Blood & Bone…)

  • Fabien 
John Gwynne Books in Order

All of the Books…

Who is John Gwynne?

John Gwynne is an award-winning British (but born in Singapore) author of fantasy series, but also a Viking re-enactor! He studied and lectured at Brighton University, he’s been in a rock ‘n’ roll band, playing the double bass, traveled the USA and lived in Canada for a time. He is married with four children and lives in Eastbourne, running a small family business rejuvenating vintage furniture.

He is mostly known for his The Faithful and the Fallen series, and the Of Blood and Bone series. His last series is The Bloodsworn Saga.

John Gwynne Books in Order:

I. Faithful and the Fallen

This epic fantasy series is set in the Banished Lands, a place with a violent past where armies of men and giants clashed in battle, and where the earth is running dark with their heartsblood.

Malice John Gwynne Books in Order Valour John Gwynne Books in Order Ruin John Gwynne Books in Order Wrath John Gwynne Books in Order

  1. Malice (2012) – Young Corban watches enviously as boys become warriors, learning the art of war. He yearns to wield his sword and spear to protect his king’s realm. But that day will come all too soon. Only when he loses those he loves will he learn the true price of courage.
  2. Valour (2014) – The Banished Lands are torn by war as the army of High King Nathair sweeps the realm challenging all who oppose his holy crusade. Allied with the manipulative Queen Rhin of Cambren, there are few who can stand against him. But Rhin is playing her own games and has her eyes on a far greater prize . . .
  3. Ruin (2015) – The Banished Lands are engulfed in war and chaos. Corban has been swept along by the tide of war. He has suffered, lost loved ones, sought only safety from the darkness. But he will run no more. He has seen the face of evil and he has set his will to fight it. The question is, how?
  4. Wrath (2016) – Events are coming to a climax in the Banished Lands, as the war reaches new heights. Corban has been captured by the warrior giants who ride enormous bears into battle. His warband scattered, Corban must make new allies to survive. But can he bond with competing factions of warlike giants? Somehow he must, to counter the threat Nathair represents.

II. Of Blood & Bone

Set in the same world as the Faithful and the Fallen quartet, this sequel takes place one hundred years after the end of Wrath.

A Time of Dread John Gwynne Books in Order A Time of Blood John Gwynne Books in Order A Time of Courage John Gwynne Books in Order

  1. A Time of Dread (2018) – A race of warrior angels, the Ben-Elim, once vanquished a mighty demon horde. Now they rule the Banished lands, but their peace is brutally enforced. In the south, hotheaded Riv is desperate to join the Ben-Elim’s peacekeeping force, until she unearths a deadly secret. In the west, the giantess Sig investigates demon sightings and discovers signs of an uprising and black magic. And in the snowbound north, Drem, a trapper, finds mutilated corpses in the forests. The work of a predator, or something far darker?
  2. A Time of Blood (2019) – As the demonic forces multiply, they send a mighty host to overthrow the angel’s stronghold. Like heroes of old, Drem, Riv, and the Bright Star’s warriors must battle to save themselves and save their land. But can the light triumph when the dark is rising?
  3. A Time of Courage (2020) – The demon-king Asroth is free of his iron prison, and thewhole of the Banished Lands stands on the brink of domination. With the Ben-Elim broken and routed, half-breed Riv and asmall band of comrades must try to find a way to strike at the demon forces.

 III. Bloodsworn

Set in a Norse-inspired world, and packed with myth, magic and bloody vengeance, Bloodsworn is an epic fantasy saga.

The Shadow of the Gods John Gwynne Books in Order

  1. The Shadow of the Gods (2021) – A century has passed since the gods fought and drove themselves to extinction. Now only their bones remain, promising great power to those brave enough to seek them out. As whispers of war echo across the land of Vigrið, fate follows in the footsteps of three warriors: a huntress on a dangerous quest, a noblewoman pursuing battle fame, and a thrall seeking vengeance among the mercenaries known as the Bloodsworn. All three will shape the fate of the world as it once more falls under the shadow of the gods.

IV. Other works

  1. Legends 2, Stories in Honour of David Gemmell (2015) – anthology dedicated to David Gemmell with a contribution from John Gwynne (“An Oath Given“).
  2. The Scent of Tears (2018) – an anthology collecting works from multiple authors of fantasy, like the short story The Message written by John Gwynne.
  3. Art of War: Anthology for Charity (2018) – war-themed anthology collecting short stories from 40 authors, included John Gwynne, published for Charity.
  4. Unfettered III: New Tales By Masters of Fantasy (2019) – yet another anthology containing a short story by John Gwynne.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *