Jessie Burton Books in Order (The Miniaturist, The Muse, Medusa)

Disclaimer: As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. Thanks!

All of the Jessie Burton’s Books in Order!

Who is Jessie Burton?

Born Jessica Kathryn Burton, Jessie Burton is an English author and actress who became famous with her 2014 debut novel, The Miniaturist.

Jessie Burton is Sunday Times and New York Time best-seller author and her novels have been published in almost 40 languages.

She is also a non-fiction writer. Her essays have been published in The Wall Street Journal, The Independent, Vogue, Elle, Red, Grazia, Lonely Planet Traveller, and The Spectator.

How to read Jessie Burton’s Books in Order?

The Miniaturist Series

  1. The Miniaturist (2014)
  2. The House of Fortune (2022)

For more information about the books in The Miniaturist series by Jessie Burton, you’ll find below the official synopsis for all the books:

The Miniaturist – On a brisk autumn day in 1686, 18-year-old Nella Oortman arrives in Amsterdam to begin a new life as the wife of illustrious merchant trader Johannes Brandt. But her new home, while splendorous, is not welcoming. Johannes is kind yet distant, always locked in his study or at his warehouse office – leaving Nella alone with his sister, the sharp-tongued and forbidding Marin. But Nella’s world changes when Johannes presents her with an extraordinary wedding gift: a cabinet-sized replica of their home. To furnish her gift, Nella engages the services of a miniaturist – an elusive and enigmatic artist whose tiny creations mirror their real-life counterparts in eerie and unexpected ways…

The House of Fortune – Amsterdam in the year 1705. It is Thea Brandt’s eighteenth birthday. She is ready to welcome adulthood with open arms, but life at home is increasingly difficult. Her father Otto and her Aunt Nella argue endlessly over their financial fate, selling off furniture in a desperate attempt to hold on to the family home. As catastrophe threatens to engulf the household, Thea seeks refuge in Amsterdam’s playhouses. In the backrooms of her favorite theater, Thea can spend a few precious minutes with her secret lover, Walter, the chief set-painter. Aunt Nella believes the solution to all Thea’s problems is to find her a husband who will guarantee her future. An unexpected invitation to Amsterdam’s most exclusive ball seems like a golden opportunity. But when Thea finds, on her doorstep, a parcel containing a miniature figure of Walter, it becomes clear that someone out there has another fate in mind for the family . . .

Jessie Burton’s Standalone Novels

  1. The Muse (2016)
  2. The Restless Girls (2018)
  3. The Confession (2019)
  4. Medusa (2021)

For more information about the rest of Jessie Burton’s books, you’ll find below the official synopsis for all the books:

The Muse – England, 1967. Odelle Bastien is a Caribbean émigré trying to make her way in London. When she starts working at the prestigious Skelton Institute of Art, she discovers a painting rumored to be the work of Isaac Robles, a young artist of immense talent and vision whose mysterious death has confounded the art world for decades. Spain, 1936. Olive Schloss, the daughter of a Viennese Jewish art dealer and an English heiress, follows her parents to Arazuelo, a poor, restless village on the southern coast. She grows close to Teresa, a young housekeeper, and Teresa’s half-brother, Isaac Robles, an idealistic and ambitious painter newly returned from the Barcelona salons. A dilettante buoyed by the revolutionary fervor that will soon erupt into civil war, Isaac dreams of being a painter as famous as his countryman Picasso.

The Restless Girls – For her twelve daughters, Queen Laurelia’s death in a motor car accident is a disaster beyond losing a mother. Their father, King Alberto, cannot bear the idea of the princesses ever being in danger and decides his daughters must be kept safe at all costs. Those costs include their lessons, their possessions and, most importantly, their freedom. But the eldest, Princess Frida, will not bend to his will without a fight and she still has one possession her father can’t take: the power of her imagination. And so, with little but wits and ingenuity to rely on, Frida and her sisters begin their fight to be allowed to live.

The Confession – When Elise Morceau meets the writer Constance Holden, she quickly falls under her spell. Connie is sophisticated, bold and alluring – everything Elise feels she is not. She follows Connie to LA, but in this city of strange dreams and razzle-dazzle, Elise feels even more out of her depth and makes an impulsive decision that will change her life forever. Three decades later, Rose Simmons is trying to uncover the story of her mother, who disappeared when she was a baby. Having learned that the last person to see her was a now reclusive novelist, Rose finds herself at the door of Constance Holden’s house in search of a confession…

Medusa – Exiled to a far-flung island by the whims of the gods, Medusa has little company except for the snakes that adorn her head instead of hair. But when a charmed, beautiful boy called Perseus arrives on the island, her lonely existence is disrupted by the force of a supernova, unleashing desire, love, and betrayal…

What should you read if you like Jessie Burton’s novels?

If you like reading Jessie Burton’s stories, you may be interested in “The Essex Serpent” by Sarah Perry, “The Secret History” by Donna Tartt, “The Shadow of the Wind” by Carlos Ruiz Zafón, “The Night Circus” by Erin Morgenstern…

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *