Skip to content

J.K. Rowling Books in Order (Harry Potter, Cormoran Strike, The Ickabog)

  • Carole 
J.K. Rowling - Books in Order

Last Updated 6 days ago.All of the Books!

Who is J.K. Rowling?

Born July, 31 1965, in Yate, Gloucestershire, England, Joanne Rowling is a British author, film producer, television producer, and screenwriter best known for writing the Harry Potter fantasy series. Before becoming a writer, J.K. Rowling has been a researcher and bilingual secretary for Amnesty International, worked at the Chamber of Commerce, and as an English teacher in Portugal.

She found success, fame, and money with a little wizard boy named Harry Potter, written under the pen name J.K. Rowling. The series has won multiple awards and sold more than 500 million copies. It is now one of the biggest franchises ever, with movies, games, stage production, spin-off, and more. Rowling has since then written several books for adult readers: The Casual Vacancy (2012) and—under the pseudonym Robert Galbraith—the crime fiction Cormoran Strike series.

J.K. Rowling Books in Order:

I. Harry Potter series

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone - JK Rowling Books in OrderOn his tenth birthday, Harry learns that he is a wizard, and joins Hogwarts where he meets Ron Weasley and Hermione Granger. Harry Potter is ready to live dangerous adventures with his two best friends to fight evil and He-Who-Must-Not-Be-Named.

For more details, go to the Harry Potter reading order.

  1. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone (or Philosopher’s Stone)
  2. Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets
  3. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban 
  4. Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
  5. Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix
  6. Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince
  7. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

Related Works to Harry Potter

  1. Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them (supplement to the Harry Potter series)
  2. Quidditch Through the Ages (supplement to the Harry Potter series)
  3. The Tales of Beedle the Bard (supplement to the Harry Potter series)
  4. Harry Potter and the Cursed Child (Harry Potter Sequel, Play
  5. Short Stories from Hogwarts of Power, Politics and Pesky Poltergeists
  6. Short Stories from Hogwarts of Heroism, Hardship and Dangerous Hobbies
  7. Hogwarts: An Incomplete and Unreliable Guide
  8. Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them: The Original Screenplay (prequel to the Harry Potter series, original screenplay)
  9. Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald — The Original Screenplay (prequel to the Harry Potter series, original screenplay)

II. Cormoran Strike (as Robert Galbraith)

The Cuckoo's Calling - JK Rowling Books in OrderCormoran Strike is about a private detective and his assistant Robin Ellacott.

For more details, go to the Cormoran Strike reading order.

  1. The Cuckoo’s Calling
  2. The Silkworm
  3. Career of Evil
  4. Lethal White
  5. Troubled Blood
  6. The Ink Black Heart

III. Stand-alone books

The Ickabog JK Rowling Reading Order The Casual Vacancy JK Rowling Books in Order

  • The IckabogChildren book. The kingdom of Cornucopia was once the happiest in the world. Everything was perfect – except for the misty Marshlands to the north which, according to legend, were home to the monstrous Ickabog. Could a myth unseat a beloved king? Could a myth bring a once happy country to its knees? Could a myth thrust two children into an adventure they didn’t ask for and never expected?
  • The Casual Vacancy – When Barry Fairbrother dies in his early forties, the town of Pagford is left in shock. Pagford is, seemingly, an English idyll, with a cobbled market square and an ancient abbey, but what lies behind the pretty façade is a town at war. And the empty seat left by Barry on the parish council soon becomes the catalyst for the biggest war the town has yet seen. Who will triumph in an election fraught with passion, duplicity, and unexpected revelations?

IV. Non-fiction

Very Good Lives JK Rowling Books in Order

Very Good Lives: The Fringe Benefits of Failure and the Importance of Imagination – J.K. Rowling commencement speech at Harvard University delivered in 2008 in book form.

If you like Harry Potter, you may also want to see our Percy Jackson reading order or our guide to Diana Wynne Jones’ Chrestomanci series. Don’t hesitate to follow us on Twitter or Facebook to discover more book series.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.