Lately, Marvel just jumps from one event to another big crossover and so on. In fact, there soon will be a new big earthquake in the Marvel Universe with Secret Empire. Before that, there were the Civil War II and – in the spiderverse – The Clone Conspiracy that just concluded. And of course, Inhumans Vs X-Men.

Like with the spidey one, this event doesn’t affect all of the Marvel Universe, just the X-Men and the Inhumans.

What is Inhumans Vs X-Men about?

Everything started when Marvel decided that the X-Men were not as welcome in their universe as they once were. Mostly, the idea was to promote the Inhumans into a X-Men shape place in the universe. The children of the Atom were not in the Marvel Studio roster after all, but the Inhumans will be soon (a fact that is not true anymore). Well, it was a bad idea and the time to change the status quo once more has come.


This time, the Inhumans had to enter in a war with the mutants. In the end, the Inhumans will come back to what they were from the start and the X-Men Universe will reboot in an attempt to make it good again. After all those years of mediocre at best adventures, there is certainly work to do. Let’s hope it will work. For now, it’s time to read some Inhumans Vs X-Men.

The story begins with the Inhumans’ power-granting Terrigen mists threatening the lives of every mutant on the planet, the X-Men have no choice but to declare war in order to save their future.

Inhumans Vs X-Men Reading Order by issues

  1. Death of X — It’s a 4-part miniseries set a few months before the events. It’s roughly an introduction. It’s optional, but it’s a way to start if you are not familiar with this universe.Inhumans Vs X-Men Reading Order
  2. Inhumans Vs X-Men #0
  3. Inhumans Vs X-Men #1
  4. Uncanny X-Men #16
  5. Extraordinary X-Men #17
  6. Inhumans Vs X-Men #2
  7. Uncanny X-Men #17
  8. Uncanny Inhumans #18
  9. Deadpool & The Mercs For Money #7Inhumans Vs X-Men Reading Order
  10. All-New X-Men #17
  11. Inhumans Vs X-Men #3
  12. Extraordinary X-Men #18
  13. Deadpool and the Mercs For Money #8
  14. All-New X-Men #18
  15. Inhumans Vs X-Men #4
  16. Uncanny Inhumans #19
  17. Uncanny X-Men #18 Inhumans Vs X-Men Reading Order tpb
  18. Inhumans Vs X-Men #5
  19. Extraordinary X-Men #19
  20. Inhumans Vs X-Men #6
  21. Uncanny Inhumans #20 
  22. Inhumans Prime #1
  23. X-Men Prime #1

Inhumans Vs X-Men Reading Order by TPBs

Obviously, if you can’t find the issues independently, there’s always the TPBS. Not the best solution here, because Marvel didn’t collect all the issues in an omnibus, but it’s still an economical way to find the different parts of the story. That said, as of today, most of these books a not available yet.

Inhumans Vs X-Men Reading Order edition Inhumans Vs X-Men Reading Order tpb edition

  1. Death of X — Like I said earlier, it’s the miniseries that mainly set the stage for the events.
  2. Inhumans Vs. X-Men — The main story, contains the 6 issues.

  1. Extraordinary X-Men Vol. 4: IvX – Contains Extraordinary X-Men issues #17 to #20.
  2. All-New X-Men: Inevitable Vol. 4: IvX – Contains All-New X-Men issues #17 to #20
  3. Uncanny X-Men: Superior Vol. 4: IvXContains Uncanny X-Men issues #16 to #19


Did I make a mistake? Did I forget something? To help me to complete this reading guide, leave a comment!