Last Updated on

There’s no need for a Revival Reading Order, but before this comic book series, Tim Seeley wrote Hack/Slash and that one really needs one. So, let’s go.

What’s Hack/Slash?

First things first, an introduction. Hack/Slash is a horror/action comic book created by writer and sometime penciller Tim Seeley and published by Image Comics.

Hack/Slash is about Cassie Hack who is the lone survivor of an attack by a monster or, if you prefer, a slasher. Hunted, she became the hunter and the world with Vlad, her enigmatic partner and friend, Vlad. Together, they hunt down slashers.

Hack/Slash Reading Order:

There are multiple volumes of Hack/Slash, crossovers and editions. Everything began in 2004 with one-shots and the first ongoing series started in 2007 at Devil’s Due Publishing before going to Image Comics.

I. Hack/Slash one-shots and Limited Series

  1. Hack/Slash: First Cut – This one collects the introduction Euthanized (contains a 4-page origin for Cassie), Girls Gone Dead and Comic Book Carnage (with a murderer going after Steve Niles, Scottie Young, and Robert Kirkman).
  2. Hack/Slash: Death By Sequel – This one collects The Land of Lost Toys (contains a 4-page origin for Vlad), Trailers, Slice Hard Prequel, and Slice Hard.

II. Hack/Slash Volume 1

  1. Hack/Slash: Friday the 31st – Collects Hack/Slash Vs. Chucky, a story taking place after the film Seed of Chucky that serves as a sequel to Girls Gone Dead, and Hack/Slash #1–4, the beginning of the first ongoing series.
  2. Hack/Slash: Revenge of the Return – Collects Hack/Slash #5–10
  3. Hack/Slash: Reanimation Games – Collects Hack/Slash #11–17, and Hack/Slash Annual (this one going between issues #11 and #12).

  1. Hack/Slash: In Revenge and In Love – Collects Hack/Slash #18–23 and the mini-series Hack/Slash: Entry Wound.
  2. Hack/Slash: New Blood Old Wounds – Collects Hack/Slash #24–28 and Vlad and Cassie vs. Bloody Mary
  3. Hack/Slash: Super Sidekick Sleepover Slaughter – Collects Hack/Slash #29–32, and Hackoween.

Interlude: Hack/Slash: My First Maniac – Collects the four-issue miniseries My First Maniac, the first to be published by Image. It’s a prequel set during Cassie’s teenage years, showing her life directly after the second death of her mother, and before she met Vlad. You can read it earlier if you want to.

III. Hack/Slash Volume 2

  1. Hack/Slash: Torture Prone – Collects Hack/Slash Annual #2 and Hack/Slash Vol. 2 #1–4.
  2. Hack/Slash: Dead Celebrities – Collects Hack/Slash Vol.2 #5–8 and the Annual 3: HATCHET/SLASH.
  3. Hack/Slash: Marry, F**k, Kill – Collects Hack/Slash Volume 2 #9–15.

  1. Hack/Slash: Dark Sides – Collects Hack/Slash Volume 2 #16–19 and the mini Hack/Slash vs. Mercy Sparx.
  2. Hack/Slash: Final – Collects Hack/Slash Volume 2 #20–25.

IV. Hack/Slash Volume 3

In July 2014, Image started the publication of a new five-issue miniseries, but Tim Seeley did not work on it. It was written by Michael Moreci and Steve Seeley.

  1. Hack/Slash: Son of Samhain

V. Hack/Slash Volume 4: Resurrection

Hack/Slash is back, but it’s not written by Tim Seeley anymore, it’s Tini Howard.

Cassie Hack has been living off the grid, but when a new monstrous threat arises to torment the kids at Camp Indigo River, it’s time for Cassie to pick up the baseball bat once again!

  1. Hack/Slash Resurrection Vol. 1 – Collects Hack/Slash Resurrection #1-6.
  2. Hack/Slash: Resurrection Vol. 2: Blood Simple – Collects Hack/Slash Resurrection #7-12.

VI. Other Hack/Slash crossovers

  1. Hack/Slash/Eva: Monster’s Ball –Published by Dynamite Comics, this 4-part mini-series written by Brandon Jerwa brings Eva, a time-lost warrior who believes that God wants her to rid our world of the foul things that lurk in the shadows, and Cassie Hack together. When a mysterious figure brings them together, the whole world’s going to be reminded that Hell hath no fury like two women on a mission in a city full of monsters!
  2. Army of Darkness Vs. Hack/Slash – Another Dynamite Comics crossover and, as the title suggests, it’s a six-part crossover featuring Ash Williams of the Evil Dead series.
  3. Nailbiter/Hack/Slash – Tim Seeley is back for a one-shot crossover with the Nailbiter.


  1. Hack/Slash vs. Vampirella –Another Dynamite Comics crossover written by Tim Seeley. This one teamed up Cassie and Vlad with Vampirella in order to stop the Blood Queen.
  2. Hack/Slash vs. Chaos – Another Dynamite Comics crossover written by Tim Seeley. Cassie and Vlad are going to have to team up with megadeath dispenser Evil Ernie to stop the slaughter, putting them on a path that appears to lead through Chastity, the Chosen, and Purgatori!

The Omnibus Edition

If you’re not into the TPBs, you can also go into the omnibuses which is the easiest way to read the series tbh.

  1. Hack/Slash Omnibus Volume 1 – Collects Euthanized, Girls Gone Dead, Comic Book Carnage, Hack/Slash Vs. Evil Ernie, The Land of Lost Toys #1–3, Trailers, Slashing Through the Snow (previously unpublished), Slice Hard Prequel and Slice Hard, Hack/Slash Vs. Chucky.
  2. Hack/Slash Omnibus Volume 2 – Collects Hack/Slash #1–17 and the first Annual.
  3. Hack/Slash Omnibus Volume 3 – Collects Hack/Slash #18-32, Hack/Slash: Entry Wound, HACKoween and Living Corpse Annual.

  1. Hack/Slash Omnibus Volume 4 – Collects Hack/Slash Vol.2 #1-11, Annuals 2-3 , Zombies VS. Cheerleaders and the 2011 Holiday Special.
  2. Hack/Slash Omnibus Volume 5 – Collects Hack/Slash Vol.2 #12-25 and the mini Hack/Slash vs. Mercy Sparx.
  3. Hack/Slash Omnibus Volume 6 – Collects Hack/Slash: Son of Samhain #1-5 and Hack/Slash: Resurrection #1-12.