Grant County Books in Order: How to read Karin Slaughter’s series?

Disclaimer: As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. Thanks!

By the writer of the Will Trent book series.

What is the Grant County series about?

Written by American crime writer Karin Slaughter, Grant County is a thriller series set in the fictional town of Heartsdale, Georgia, (in the fictional Grant County).

The narrative takes place from the perspective of three main characters: Sara Linton, the town’s pediatrician, and part-time coroner; her ex-husband, Jeffrey Tolliver, who is chief of police; and his subordinate, Detective Lena Adams.

Grant County Books in Order

Grant County Books in Order:

Each book in the Grant County series is offering a complete mission, but the lives of the different characters evolve from one book to the other. It’s better to read them in order.

  1. Blindsighted (2001)
  2. Kisscut (2002)
  3. A Faint Cold Fear (2003)
  4. Indelible (2004)
  5. Faithless (2005)
  6. Beyond Reach (aka Skin Privilege, 2007)
  7. Genesis (aka Undone, 2009)

For more information about the books in the Grant County series, you’ll find below the official synopsis for all the books:

Blindsighted – A sadistic rapist turned killer is terrorizing Grant County, and the chief of police, Sara’s ex-husband Jeffrey Tolliver, must find him. But he’s not alone. Lena Adams wants to see justice done, since her sister was the first victim. Sara, too, cannot escape the terror. A secret from her past could hold the key to finding the killer-unless he finds her first.

Kisscut – Saturday night dates at the skating rink have been a tradition in the small southern town of Heartsdale for as long as anyone can remember, but when a teenage quarrel explodes into a deadly shoot-out, Sara Linton-the town’s pediatrician and medical examiner-finds herself entangled in a terrible tragedy. Then a young girl is abducted, and it becomes clear that the first death is linked to an even more brutal crime, one far more shocking than anyone could have imagined.

A Faint Cold Fear – Sara Linton is called out to an apparent suicide on the local college campus. The mutilated body provides little in the way of clues but for Sara and police chief Jeffrey Tolliver, things don’t add up. Two more suspicious suicides follow, and a young woman is brutally attacked. And as Jeffrey pursues the sadistic killer, he discovers that ex-police detective Lena Adams may be in possession of crucial information. But Lena seems to be barely capable of protecting herself, let alone saving the next victim.

Indelible – Two armed men enter the police station and open fire. When the shooting stops, an officer is dead, Police Chief Jeffrey Tolliver is seriously wounded, and the survivors are held hostage. In a tense standoff that could erupt at any moment into more bloodletting, Sara must search for answers when another brutal, shocking crime shattered their small-town world. Because the sins of the past have caught up with Sara and Jeffrey… with a vengeance.

Faithless – A walk in the woods takes a sinister turn for police chief Jeffrey Tolliver and medical examiner Sara Linton when they stumble across the body of a young girl. Detective Lena Adams, talented but increasingly troubled, is called in from vacation to help with the investigation – and the trail soon lead to the neighboring county, an isolated community, and a terrible secret…

Beyond Reach/Skin Privilege – Detective Lena Adams is accused of a vicious murder. A hundred miles away, Police Chief Jeffrey Tolliver learns that his young detective has been arrested. And Jeffrey’s wife, medical examiner Sara Linton, is fighting a heartbreaking malpractice suit, is thrust into the center of a bizarre and murderous case.

Undone/Genesis – Third book in the Will Trent series, the novel is a sort of follow-up to Beyond Reach, as you reconnect with Dr. Sara Linton after the explosive ending.

What should you read if you like Karin Slaugher’s Grant County novels?

If you like reading Karin Slaughter’s Grant County books, you may be interested in The Coroner series (aka the Jenny Cooper series), Lisa Gardner, Tess Gerritsen, Mo Hayder, Ruth Ware

Similar Posts


  1. I cried at the end of skin privilege. What will happen to Sara now. And what about Tess. Is there a follow up. I know they are not real people but I keep thing about poor SarzaJust love Karin’s books.

    1. After Skin Privilege, you can read the book Undone (also published under the title Genesis), third in the Will Trent series by Karin Slaughter. It serves as a follow-up as you reconnect with Sara. She’s also present in the fourth Will Trent book, Broken.

  2. I have loved Karin Slaughter for a very long time. With each book, I say it was the best. Then I move on to another one.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *